We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Sherry-Netherland is the finest hotel that I have stayed in, whether in NYC or elsewhere. The location is perfect. There are complementary drinks and coffee makers. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are wonderful. The staff is incredibly courteous and make you feel like a long-term resident. It's a little embarrassing to be treated like royalty if you're not used to such treatment! The only negative thing about my stay was that I got a bad case of contact dermatitis after taking a long bath in the tub after it was sprayed with Scrubbing Bubbles (or some other horrible cleaner) by the cleaning lady. Never use a strange bathtub without rinsing first!

Room Tip: Rinse the tub before bathing. Interior rooms are dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
182
263
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Another, better world. I've heard of the Sherry before this, but never felt inclined to stay there on purely business trips. My wife and one of my adult children joined me on this trip, however, and so I opted for something with a high rating. The highest. And it was wonderful. Got in very, very late, and as we were hungry from traveling all day, the front desk got us started right with a pizza delivered at 1:00 a.m. Where else can this happen? The staff, rooms, beds, many many available TV channels and free wifi made for an experience I am now committed to repeat on my return to New York. Best stay of many. Thanks!

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Morriosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

The first thing that greets you is the incredible ceiling which has recently been restored. Then you meet the staff who are simply the epitome of excellence in service. They remember your name and preferences, and make you feel like you are coming home.

The staff noticed it was my birthday and sent up a bottle of champaign and a card - so very thoughtful! And of course the famous Sherry-Netherlands chocolates were delicious.

Our suite was spacious with a lovely living room, master suite, and a large bathroom covered in mirrors. Everything was bright, clean and beautiful - no small feat for a heritage hotel. Fresh flowers in the living room and in the bathroom were a lovely added touch.

We have found our spot for our next NYC getaways - I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were in a King Suite with a view. It was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeanutFreeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Labor day weekend...Town full of tourists (like myself, even though I more consider myself a home comer). Location at the SE corner of Central Park excellent for running..BUT the no view Junior suite is a marvel, a gem, a paradise...spacious, well kept and QUIET. Dead Quiet. Such a gem, such a treasure after all those years in NYC. I needed to find this piece of tranquility at the corner of the park. Food at associated Harry Cipriani good (20% discount makes the exaggerated prices tolerable), getting the daily menu to the room instead of your standard burger/club sandwich room service fare definitely a boon if you don't feel like heading out on a rainy night.
Service excellent, beats the Loews around the corner by far (where there are more and more modern amenities). the SN is hard to beat for old school style and attentiveness (remember that that goes both ways....)

Room Tip: see above....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LarsFreisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent a week here with our 15 year old daughter. Whilst it has a breathtaking classic appearance it still became ' Home'. Mostly thanks to the excellent quality of the staff. Our accomadation was a spacious suite with 2 bathrooms and ample independant space for all of us.
The linen is lovely quality. Not necessary to us to have daily change of towels. The bathroom products were good quality and replenished daily. Drinks and details were generous.
This has to be my favourite hotel ever. The staff are above excellent with a perfect balance of friendliness and efficiency. Situated opposite central park makes it perfect for shopping and adventures.

Room Tip: Our courtyard suite was quiet, luxurious and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJSABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

The Sherry-Netherland offers something quite unique in New York. The staff are without exception delightful. Our room offered that rare commodity that is space though the bathroom is compact in 1415. That staff man the elevators is a delight, they soon recognise you on your return and thus in addition to friendly service they must be a good security.

Location is ideal for the sights in Manhattan. We only needed to use the subway twice in a week. Once to get to The Cloisters at the top of the island and again when we took the Staten Island ferry from the southern tip.

The coffee/tea making facilities in the room are good and soft drinks are included should you wish those. Lovely choclates on arrival, no biscuits though and the television has hundreds of channels yet only local or CNN news.

Décor in the common areas is a delight and the room well furnished and equipped.

We'll review the Harry Cipriani restaurant separately but suffice it to say it was the one place in New York where we ate both breakfast and dinner on more than one occasion

Room Tip: We chose an internal room and benefited from absolute quiet at night other than the whir of the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great hotel in the city that never sleeps. Perfectly situated on 5th Avenue in front of Central Parc. Walking distance of the big museums, time square and theater disctrict. The hotel gives you a good feeling of the splendor and grandeur of the Thirties. Nicely decorated big rooms. We took a third bed for my 12 year old daughter. Kind and helpfull staff, always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Fantastic week!

Room Tip: inside room is quiet but have no outside view. In a hectic New York an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing