We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sherry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Exceptional and beautiful, an historic hotel that oozes class. Staff is gracious and attentive.
Location is across from Central Park South. Many residences are owned and lived in, so the hotel has a very intimate feel. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EugenieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 725 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Great lobby and history right off the park in front of plaza hotel. This is also a residence and private feel rock star big room great value. This will be a staple for me and love the staff refined and friendly with historical knowledge of the hotel . Stay here if you want a low key gem In the middle of the city off the park

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Sherry-Netherland in a double room with two queen size beds. Nice large room with ample space for 3 people's luggage. Contents of fridge and bathroom cabinet were replaced on a daily basis at no extra cost. We were greeted by fresh flowers and chocolate in room on arrival. Room very clean, decor pleasant. The decoration of the lobby and lifts is stunning. As this hotel is mainly for private apartments with less than 50% of the rooms being used as a hotel, it was very quiet. Did not hear the 'neighbours'.
Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. Special mention should go to Tammy - thank you for making our stay so pleasant!
The Nettles

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank The N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Flawless. Perfect location, great rooms and very courteous/helpful staff. Some nice touches (Pete bringing Anni a NY bear) really made this for the children also. Made to feel like it was our NY 'home from home' ... we would love to come back when next in this incredible city. We loved Gino's diner for breakfast around the corner also.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MoorhouseFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent service by all staff at The Sherry Netherlands. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed it.
The area at 5 th Avenue and so close to Central park is fantastic,
Really god experience. Next time in NY we will use The Sherry Netherlands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorn Atle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a year since we last stayed at the Sherry it felt like we were coming home. This Olde Worlde elegant and gracious hotel is truly one of the best in New York City and as far as value goes it is unbeatable. The rooms are all different as they are decorated by individual owners but every time we are surprised by the comfort and high standard of quality in every aspect. From the comfort of the beds to the extras supplied in each bathroom. Attention to detail is amazing. The staff are absolutely superb and are there to assist and make sure you have every desired request delivered.
We can honestly say that the Sherry Netherland is the best of the best in the best position on Central Park in New York City. In addition to the pleasure of staying there is the dining experience of the superb Cipriani restaurant which is in the same building and offers room service. Having had the pleasure of a regular breakfast sent up to the room I can only continue raving about the entire Sherry experience.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We weren't planning on spending a 2nd night in the city, but as we were walking by the Sherry Netherland we decided to stop in and inquire about availability for the next night. Tammy at the front desk was extremely welcoming and showed us two suites to choose from. It was an absolutely wonderful experience. So glad we decided to stay. I thought the St. Regis was my favorite place to stay in the city, but no more. I loved "pretending" that our suite was our apartment in the city. A girl can dream . . .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SeaColonySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $358 - $954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing