We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NY city trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kasterlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NY city trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved our stay at the Sherry Netherland. Top location, with top-service. From reservation until leaving, top !

We booked 2 double rooms with an interconnecting door. We slept very well, the rooms were kept very clean ! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Discuss all options with the reception-desk. We wanted 2 rooms side-by-side with an interconnecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    58
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
165
241
34
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We recently had a couple visit us from Salerno Italy in our home in South Jersey and they wanted to spend 4 days in New York. My wife and I had stayed at the Sherry Netherland in 2000 and loved it so we recommended it. One of the challenges was they spoke almost only Italian with a few English phrases. I knew the Sherry Netherland had a phenomenal Italian restaurant in Cipriani's and hopefully they could help direct Gisuppi and Concetta around the city. To say we were awed by the service they extended to this couple is an understatement. After check in, a member of the staff who is fluent in Italian, went to the room and explained the amenities, what was free and what would be charged to the room if used.
During their stay the staff was always there to help guide them to all of the best sites around the city and helped them with setting up transportation. They loved everything about the Sherry: location, decor, their room, Cipriani's, super friendly and gracious staff. They added a bit more English to their vocabulary. "The Sherry is beautiful". This family from South Jersey sends a heart-felt "grazie mille" to The Sherry Netherland Staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Njpatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nothing can compare to staying at "The Sherry". I always request a 1 bedroom suite with a view and I'm never disappointed. This last visit was no exception. The rooms are always like staying at a relatives apartment in NYC while they're out of town. Nice entry way, fully equipped kitchen so you can stock up on the basics, I didn't cook but the microwave was there if I needed to.

The main room was a full size dining room and dining room table that looked to seat 8 or more. Crystal chandeliers and floor lamp chandeliers complimented the elegant layout. The comfortable couch suitable for 4 adults comfortably looked out toward 5th avenue and provided a nice view.

The bedroom was nicely appointed complete with enormous walk 'through' closet, as in walk in one door and walk out of another if you wanted. Plenty of space for 1 person and definitely enough space for 2. The bed was extremely comfortable and turn down was a nice touch after a long day roaming the city that never sleeps. The bathroom's are nicely appointed as well, tons of space and the toiletries are top notch.

What sets The Sherry apart from any other Luxury 'Residence' type of hotel is its staff. From the friendly and welcoming door staff who never fail to nod, smile or say "Welcome home", you feel like you're at home. Front desk is always helpful with any needs, you won't have any complaints on your room of course but it's always a nice chat for what's new and happening in the city.

Last but not least...location. You're staying on the corner of Central park diagonal to The Plaza and you're steps away from one of the more gorgeous parks any city has to offer. Further up the East Side and you're in the heart of all the Museums, swing over to Madison or any of the avenues for a stroll back and you'll have some of the worlds best shopping at your feet.

The Sherry, the accommodations can't be beat, the service is excellent and everything else is just icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Park View room, they have the best views and they're the best Suites in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robertz120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from a terrific from NYC. We treated ourselves to the Sherry and it did not disappoint. There are so many reasons why we loved the hotel but we do not want to repeat what the other reviewers have already described so well: the location is absolutely fantastic, the attention from the staff is very welcoming and we especially loved the attention to the detail - fresh flowers, Godiva chocolates, a personalized welcome note... and so much more. We loved it all and we will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura64Der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We picked this hotel largely for its #1 review on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.
My wife and I had a weekend stay and it seemed as if were the only people in the hotel, we never saw anyone else in the elevator or the hallways.

First the hotel is beautiful.. Old world, clean, the elevators have the most beautiful paintings said to be from a Vanderbilt mansion. Our room was a single and it was good sized especially for NYC. Our room had a safe and the refrigerator was stocked with soda and water which the bellman said would be replenished free of charge and they were. We felt very safe there and it was quiet at night.

The entire staff was friendly and professional, from the front desk, bellmen and the elevator operators. It was a classy operation. Chocolates in your room and turn down service, what's not too like? Complimentary lemon cookies with coffee is a nice, delicious touch. Everyone was helpful with tips on places to eat and sights to see.

The Cipriani restaurant on the first floor is a trip, great people watching. Way overpriced, seemed to be rich people looking to make to make the scene. Some odd pairings. The staff however was again excellent, Pouring Bellinis ( champagne and white peach juice) freely and dessert after dessert. Overall fun as after two Bellinis you can't take anything too seriously.

Last the location was excellent. Directly across from Central Park and on Fifth Ave close to shopping.

The Sherry is not cheap, but we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

What can I say. This place is perfect.

1) You can't beat the location. Its across the street from Central Park and the NRQ trains.
2) All employees were helpful and courteous. If we needed directions, advice on local dining, reservations, or room service they did not disappoint. Also their advice for a great cup of coffee or some of the most satisfying sushi was well appreciated.
3) The history of the hotel is intriguing. You're transported to a lush way of living once you walk into the lobby. Amazing architecture, historical art, and details that make the eyes wander.
4) The rooms are regal. Extremely comfortable with a lush feel. Just amazing charm. More charm than any other hotel I ever stayed at. Very impressive.
5) Just a great place to enjoy. It has so much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This review is long overdue. The two of us wanted a special and romantic place to stay for New Years Eve. We could not have picked a better hotel. The location is perfect and we walked across the street to Central Park to see the fireworks.

All members of the concierge gave us exceptional attention and made us feel as if we were the only guests. We became quite comfortable coming back each day to friendly faces and an inviting room after a busy NY day.

The rooms are beautiful and full of wonderful details. The little box of chocolate in our room reminds us of such an amazing experience, we are using it as the box to hold our rings at our wedding rings this August!

I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

Room Tip: Even if your outside view is simple, turn around an enjoy how gorgeous the rooms are inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,023 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,608 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,184 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing