We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Opulence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved our stay at the Sherry-Netherland! Great location, lots of great restaurants and the metro is very close. When the lobby restoration is complete in six months, the feel of the hotel will be truly historic. We will definately be coming back!

Room Tip: We had a suite 2107 which was a "city view". It was nice but not high enough to get "...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 707 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a lot of time choosing where to stay in the city, and finally decided on The Sherry Netherland partly because of its mid-pricepoint (not a Holiday Inn, but not as steep as the Mandarin Oriental), but mostly because of the Tripadvisor reviews. I am so happy I did! The rooms are large (very large for NYC) and beautiful, the location is excellent, the views are spectacular, and the staff is absolutely fantastic. Customer service ( and cleanliness) really make or break a stay for me, and the staff here are incredible from the front desk to the special white-gloved elevator man. This hotel is the standard I will hold every other hotel up to from now on, and will only stay here whenever I stay in the city.

Room Tip: I had a free upgrade to suite 1204, and it was perfect. Very spacious, comfy, clean and beautiful vi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Layla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge for our 40th anniversary and stay at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel for an extended weekend. I must say the experience was delightful. The room was elegant and spacious and the staff could not have been more helpful. They even arranged for a complimentary bottle of champagne on account of the special occasion. I will return on our 50th.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpmqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Sherry Netherland countless times over the last five years for work. The location - at 59th and 5th - is obviously great and the hotel is priced pretty reasonably. The rooms are well sized for Manhattan and I love that they have a complimentary mini-bar. The hotel gym is pretty pathetic for a hotel of this ilk -- it is my biggest gripe. The other annoying thing about the hotel is that elevators are always manned by hotel employees which seems like an antiquated novelty that makes me feel very uncomfortable. I often get upgraded to a larger when I stay which is always great and they always greet me with chocolates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We appreciate your kind words about our property. The hotel is a Boutique property and our fitness center is small yet has the ability for a decent work out. We have planned a upgrade of the facility and it will have the most updated equipment, which will be completed by November 8th . We have been complimented on our elevators being manned, many guests feel the sense of being safe when they are here. Since we are a mix of residential apartments and hotel rooms we are very conscious about security. We pride ourselves on our attention to our guests needs, and our staff focuses on providing outstanding service. I am pleased you seem overall to enjoy your stay and we do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Definitely one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to the USA.

The staff were very friendly. They always greeted you warmly, making it feel more like you were coming back home rather than back to your hotel room.

Our toilet overflowed during our stay, after a call to reception they had two staff members there in a matter of minutes to fix and clean it. Couldn't have asked for better.

Fantastic location, easy walks to Times Square, Central Park and anything else you could want.

Would highly recommend the Sherry-Netherland!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel's own motto holds true: as a European (demanding) traveller, we have highly appreciated the discrete, elegant top service of this place. Located at the heart of what makes NYC tick, it is a true pleasure to sejourn here, just like being at home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel is a wonderful experience of old world charm and execleent, friendly service. I always feel welcome and appreciated as a customer. I go to New York City six or seven times a year. My rating of the Sherry has been and continues to be excellent in all categories.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $425 - $1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing