We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Classy with an excellent staff....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy with an excellent staff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a lot of time choosing where to stay in the city, and finally decided on The Sherry Netherland partly because of its mid-pricepoint (not a Holiday Inn, but not as steep as the Mandarin Oriental), but mostly because of the Tripadvisor reviews. I am so happy I did! The rooms are large (very large for NYC) and beautiful, the location is excellent, the views are spectacular, and the staff is absolutely fantastic. Customer service ( and cleanliness) really make or break a stay for me, and the staff here are incredible from the front desk to the special white-gloved elevator man. This hotel is the standard I will hold every other hotel up to from now on, and will only stay here whenever I stay in the city.

Room Tip: I had a free upgrade to suite 1204, and it was perfect. Very spacious, comfy, clean and beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Layla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
152
228
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge for our 40th anniversary and stay at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel for an extended weekend. I must say the experience was delightful. The room was elegant and spacious and the staff could not have been more helpful. They even arranged for a complimentary bottle of champagne on account of the special occasion. I will return on our 50th.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpmqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Sherry Netherland countless times over the last five years for work. The location - at 59th and 5th - is obviously great and the hotel is priced pretty reasonably. The rooms are well sized for Manhattan and I love that they have a complimentary mini-bar. The hotel gym is pretty pathetic for a hotel of this ilk -- it is my biggest gripe. The other annoying thing about the hotel is that elevators are always manned by hotel employees which seems like an antiquated novelty that makes me feel very uncomfortable. I often get upgraded to a larger when I stay which is always great and they always greet me with chocolates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our property. The hotel is a Boutique property and our fitness center is small yet has the ability for a decent work out. We have planned a upgrade of the facility and it will have the most updated equipment, which will be completed by November 8th . We have been complimented on our elevators being manned, many guests feel the sense of being safe when they are here. Since we are a mix of residential apartments and hotel rooms we are very conscious about security. We pride ourselves on our attention to our guests needs, and our staff focuses on providing outstanding service. I am pleased you seem overall to enjoy your stay and we do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Definitely one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to the USA.

The staff were very friendly. They always greeted you warmly, making it feel more like you were coming back home rather than back to your hotel room.

Our toilet overflowed during our stay, after a call to reception they had two staff members there in a matter of minutes to fix and clean it. Couldn't have asked for better.

Fantastic location, easy walks to Times Square, Central Park and anything else you could want.

Would highly recommend the Sherry-Netherland!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel's own motto holds true: as a European (demanding) traveller, we have highly appreciated the discrete, elegant top service of this place. Located at the heart of what makes NYC tick, it is a true pleasure to sejourn here, just like being at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel is a wonderful experience of old world charm and execleent, friendly service. I always feel welcome and appreciated as a customer. I go to New York City six or seven times a year. My rating of the Sherry has been and continues to be excellent in all categories.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

it was really nice to stay here, the location, the beautiful and quaint rooms, the professionalism of the staff, the breakfast and the services offered make this place a must to stay in NY
congratulations!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BadPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,873 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing