We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the gracious New York hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the end of June at the Sherry and honestly found it to be a wonderful experience the staff are caring and polite The rooms are a little dated but clean and the bathrooms accessories are the best The position is superb . The discount from Cipriani is much appreciated as it is my very favorite restaurant in NYC

Room Tip: The higher up courtyard facing rooms are better than the rooms lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 725 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked this hotel before we knew Don Draper chose this hotel for a liaison on Madmen, but he was right. We enjoyed a gorgeous suite on the 21st floor. This is an outstanding hotel with outstanding staff in an outstanding city. As others have said, we only regret that we have to leave. Thank you to all those we met at the Sherry-Netherland. We hope to return soon. You thought of everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Over the past ten years, we have been staying at the Sherry-Netherland when we visit NYC! We've occasionally tried other hotels but the Sherry is our favorite. The service is world-class from the sidewalk to the suite! Each employee is a professional and goes out of his or her way to make certain the stay is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked five nights and it was a good choice as every thing was proper for me, the room was clean has no problems, the food also was good, my accommodation was includes breakfast. also the location was fine.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank JohnReno307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights at The Sherry-Netherland and the only part that we didn't love was having to leave. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was first rate and our suite was terrific. The location by Central Park, shopping, restaurants, etc. is great. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife, daughter, granddaughter and I spent four nights at this classy and friendly hotel. The location across the street from the southeast corner of Central Park was great and allowed us to explore Central Park like never before. Our room was outstanding and very comfortable. It was basically a 2 bedroom suite with a spacious living area in the center and a bedroom on each side of the living area. Beds were very comfortable and our view of the Park was great. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Three times during our stay we needed assistance with a small matter in our room and someone appeared at our door within 2-3 minutes each time and took care of us. The front desk staff was great, the elevator operators added a nice personal touch and were usually great to chat with. The doormen and bellman were helpful and friendly and we were very pleased. As far as cons, we wished there would have been more simple restaurants close to us, such as pizza and hamburger places, but on our last day we discovered a decent burger place just two blocks east of us. The other con is the price, but the hotel and hotel staff delivered in superior fashion. The hotel entry hallway is impressive and we could not have been happier with our room. Another nice touch were the gift bags left in our room for our granddaughter and for her little brother, who did not make the trip with us. The Godiva chocolates and free drinks in the refrigerator throughout our stay were also nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here 23/05/13 for 10 nights for our honeymoon. It was by far the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in,I have stayed in other NY Hotels,but nothing compares to here.The location was great,the shops of 5th Ave we steps away & Central Park was just over the road.The staff here were great especially George & Larry,on arrival our room had champagne, chocolates and flowers,a lovely touch.The room was spotless & the fridge was stocked up daily,every night there were more chocolates on the pillows & the bed was turned down.The bed was amazing,so comfortable & lovely to get in after a busy day of shopping! I would definatley stay in this hotel again, and recommend to anyone visiting NYC. Will hopefully be returning one day again soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $357 - $955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing