We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sherry Netherland, amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sherry Netherland, amazing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

So I strayed from the Sherry to another hotel on the advice of good friends. When we booked the hotel (The Westin) we needed 2 rooms and booked them over the phone. When we showed up they said they had booked the rooms for Sunday night not tonight a Saturday. What a shock we all had. We had to be at a dinner reservation in 1 hour and a graduation party directly after! So we called the Sherry Netherland and they got us in no problem! Having seen our friends room we were happy for the mix up! Our room was spacious, overlooking Central Park, greeted by our hand written welcome card, fresh flowers and a box of Godiva chocolates...this is standard for their hotel! I just love it! It feels like you get to a dear friends (who happens to be very wealthy and has fabulous taste) and they have gone for the night but leave their place to you...is it the hand written welcome card? I don't know if it is one thing or the culmination of all the fantastic things being exactly the same each and every time...love, love, love it!

Room Tip: Corner suite over looking Central Park and 5th Ave, you may pay extra but so worth it! Get there on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NycHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    66
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
185
275
38
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and fell in love with it. The location is great, our room was fabulous and the service is outstanding. I can't find a single fault. We want to get back to New York again, and I will be staying here for sure.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a view of the park if you can. If not, it's still a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam052_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Sherry Netherland is the Best Hotel and Value in NYC. I have stayed at The Morgan, W, Hilton Ground Zero, Algonquin, Hilton Garden Inn, and no hotel comes close to the class, room size, closet size, amenities, friendliness, and spirit of the Sherry. Having free internet, a workout facility (nice), fresh flowers, chocolates, a daily refresh of sodas, waters and sparkling waters was amazing. Most importantly the bed and linens were soooo comfortable. Location is perfect too. Stay at the Sherry and you will be spoiled for life!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LJHSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A reasonably priced upscale hotel if you book online and don't need a view room. Great location and they don't nickel and dime you for everything. Don't charge for internet or beverages in the refrigerator or use of their business center. Large rooms and nice bathrooms. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Inside room with no street view is less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjfitz130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sherry was a great place to stay during my business trip to New York. New York can be hectic but this place is just a space of relaxation in the vibrant city.
My suite was nice decorated with all the amentities. It has the old style but the same time lovely decorated.
I found the place to stay any time I will be back to New York.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxdert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our most recent stay at the Sherry-Netherland was wonderful, as always. It feels like having our own apartment in the city. The staff couldn't be more friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our suite was newly decorated in a traditionl/art deco style that was comfortable and fun. The location, of course, is perfect, with its entrance on Fifth Avenue and view of Central Park and Bergdorf Goodman. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsah, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Sherry-Netherland Hotel came into my experience by chance. I was coming into town for a meeting and the Sherry was one of the hotels with which they had worked out a special rate. Now, it wasn't incredibly cheap, but it was cheaper than some of the other options, so I went with it. I was going to stay for just one night and I'm pretty flexible having stayed in my fair share of Best Westerns, Motel 6s, and the like.

First impression? Old-fashioned luxury. You feel like you're walking into a private club from early last century... well, except that the old-fashioned private club has fast wifi, flat screen tvs, and free in-room drinks, chocolate, and a Keurig machine for coffees and teas. Okay, but here's the catch, my first experience at the Sherry didn't turn out so well. My bed was crazy hard. And I'm not one to complain. For reference, when my wife was pregnant last year she turned up the firmness on our select comfort bed to the highest setting... I tried it out and had no problem sleeping comfortably. So according to the guys at Select Comfort, one of the top selling beds in the country, I still sleep soundly on the firmest mattress setting they offer. Ok, back to the Sherry. So confused was I about this mattress, that I started taking off the bottom sheet to see what this crazy mattress was! It turns out that the springs on the inside of the mattress were exposed. I wish I had taken a picture of it. Anyways, it felt like two sheets of wood with a thin layer of padding over it. If that wasn't bad enough, there was some sort of crazy sound outside all night long... sounded like the AC unit but I'm not sure. I did not get a great night's sleep.

So when I checked out the following morning, I commented on the bed and the lady at the front desk said she wished I had let them know as each room in the hotel is different and may have different mattresses. That would have been good to know the night before. She also commented on how many people have said they love the mattresses at the Sherry. Well, I think this one slipped by them.

Anyways, I got a comment card the next day and felt obligated to let someone know the sorry state of that bed and about the crazy sound outside. And here's when things started getting better. The managing director wrote me back promptly:

"I am disturbed that you did not have a comfortable stay and offer my sincerest apologies. If we would have known prior to check out we could have offered you a room change. Although I see that you weren’t aware we have individually decorated rooms. Many are different in style and upgraded as we feel necessary every day. In regard to the mattresses in our rooms, as they need to be replaced we are consistent in replacing them with a Sealy Titanium Alloy Plush mattress. It seems to be a favorite to all. We are certainly looking into the mattress in room 1615 as you are the only person that has taken the time to comment. We take our guests comments seriously and we take care of it as best we can. As far as the HVAC noise that is something we cannot control but we are making the necessary repairs to it. We certainly don’t want you to walk away with a bad feeling. Our guests comfort and experience mean a lot to us. So on behalf of all we would like to welcome you back as our guest for one night subject to availability. Please contact me so I can personally make your arrangements."

What a professional message! Boy, was I impressed. So, two nights ago I took the Sherry up on their offer. I arrived, checked in, and was given a room on the third floor. When I walked in I just about dropped all of my bags. It was a HUGE suite. We're talking apartment sized. Living room with dining room table, big screen TV, fireplace, couches, a small kitchen, a bedroom with another big screen TV, a huge marble bathroom, walk in closet, and a view of 5th Avenue and the iconic glass-cubed Apple Store. I couldn't believe it. Talk about taking care of your customers! Oh, and it had a really comfortable bed.

What I think is the overall great thing about this whole experience, is that I'm just nobody from the Midwest in my late 20s on a business trip but they treated me like their VIP customer. It's customer service the way it should be, you know? Anyways, they never prompted me to leave a review, by the way. They could have given me the same room as before (hopefully with a new mattress) and I would have been perfectly happy. But they took the time to go the extra mile. Is everything new and state-of-the art? No (although the flat screen was a new Samsung SmartTV). Is the gym filled with the most recent equipment? No (although there's plenty of machines and weights to put together a great workout). Is the customer service top-notch? Absolutely. So there you go... my two cents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reyjames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous review of The Sherry. We are currently planning a renovation of our Fitness Center in the summer, and hope that, by your next visit, you will find it more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 466 in New York City
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing