We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Best of Everything!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best of Everything!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Sherry. The accommodations were so wonderful - enormous beautiful room overlooking Central Park and close to the subway and great eating and shopping spots. And the staff was flat out great. It had been a long while since we had been to NYC. They helped us regain our subway prowess, helped with tickets, and they were very accommodating, friendly, and professional. I hope we have an opportunity to stay there again soon!

Room Tip: Even rooms that face the strreet are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRB R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
152
228
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at the Sherry during my last 4-day business trip to NYC. The location was great - right across from the Plaza Hotel, the Apple Store, and a stone's throw to the beautiful shops on Fifth Avenue. When I arrived, I was greeted by a friendly concierge. The elevators are operated by "white-glove elevator attendants", which felt like a little treat every time I went up or down. My room was everything a girl could want on her first business trip to NYC - a dressing room (!!!) with a plush white robe and ample space to hang things, a Keurig coffee maker with unlimited coffee pods, a chandelier, fresh bouquets of flowers, boxes of Godiva chocolates, and a "welcome" card from the hotel manager. Every morning I ordered room service from Cipriani's, the restaurant attached to the hotel. The omlette was delicious, and filling out my breakfast form the night before, and hanging it on my door knob, quickly became a ritual.

One evening the neighbours were making quite a lot of noise, and I called down to the concierge at midnight. Within 10 minutes someone was upstairs to check on the situation, and shortly thereafter things quieted down. Similarly, when I couldn't get the wifi to work, the concierge offered to send up an IT person to help me figure it out. The staff was attentive, and although they had a bit of that brusque NY attitude (different from what Canadians are typically used to), they were extremely helpful. In the evenings, someone would come to turn down the bed, and leave little Godiva chocolate squares throughout the room. They would tidy up the newspapers and clothes in my room, and make sure it looked warm and cozy for when I got home. I loved it, and would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: The view to the courtyard left much to be desired, but cost significantly less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeAbroadHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My sister and I decided to meet in NYC and chose the Sherry for its excellent location. Rooms are vary large, especially for a NY hotel, and nicely decorated. Room service was expensive but excellent quality. The business center is small but adequate. But what really makes the hotel is the service. Everyone was welcoming and accommodating and went out of their way to help, from the front desk people to the elevator operators to the room service guy.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose a courtyard view -- not much of a view but delightfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ont, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sherry with my husband's parents - for my father in law's 80th birthday. Our suite/rooms were amazinginly spacious for NYC, charming, and comfortable. The hotel was clean, quiet, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers more of a "residence" feel than a standard hotel, and the locations is unbeatable - across the street from Central Park, in the heart of Fifth Avenue shopping, and within walking distance to Rockfeller Center and Times Square (if you enjoy walking). We found the hotel quiet and a terrific place to relax in the evening after exploring the city all day and night. We only used the fitness facility once because the weather is perfect for jogs in Central Park instead, but did find it a bit small and outdated compared to other high end hotels. Room service is available at Cipriani downstairs, and we used it for breakfast, which was good - although the breakfast cutoff hours and staff at Cipriani were not ideal - no fault of the Sherry though, as they are not under the same management and operate independently. We loved our stay at the Sherry overall and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaFromWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great staff, best location and old world charm. We love the Sherry! Just across the street from the park and if you are up for walking, a walk to and from the theatre, my husband and I did it and we are in our 50's.We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location location... across the road from central park and walking distance to many attractions, with character and old world charm...thankyou Mr Louis Sherry for founding such a beautiful hotel. Beautiful decor and the rooms are well furbished with antiques and chandeliers. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite...absolutely fabulous. Apartment living in the best locale in town....lounge, dining, kitchen and bedroom with plenty of closet space and a glorious bathroom. Staff were very helpful ...very friendly ....fabulous service. The king room in which we started was also a reasonable size....nice decor with small bathroom...still value for money considering the location ...which is the most outstanding feature and benefit. Central Park to escape to and breathe...with many attractions within near or around the park....strawberry fields, walk trails, the lakes, zoo and gardens plus perimeter shopping and museum mile and much more... subway on the corner....and a fifth avenue address....uptown living at its best. Overall oustanding Sherry Netherland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJW858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Sherry is my home away from home. My business takes me there often, I arrive with chocolates, flowers and a hand written note from the Management. No request is denied, there is a sense of old world service which at most hotels are a thing of the past, well 5 Star Service is alive and well here.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,877 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing