We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I have been to midtown Manhattan many times and have stayed in a variety of hotels. This place has been the best. Nice, quiet hotel near Central Park...not noisy like the hotels near Times Square. Never had to wait for an elevator. The place has white gloved elevator operators! Rooms are nice and big and super clean. Right across the street from the Plaza if you are in the mood for some drinks. Within walking distance of everything. Will stay here again...just loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danesthesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 719 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Took my wife to NYC for her 50th b-day. The hotel is beautiful inside and the decor in rooms etc. made us feel as if we went back in time to the early 1900's but with modern amenities. Very ornate lobby and elevators (real live elevator operators) Great location at Central Park and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Time Square and Broadway shows. We have stayed near Time Square in the past but wanted something less crazy and this place met our expectations. Also a short walk to Metropolitan Museum and You can pick up hop on hop off sightseeing buses, take carriage ride a block away from hotel. So for us it was convenient near attractions and less hectic than other parts of the city. We got a great price break and paid for three nights and got third for free. It is hard to find an inexpensive luxury hotel in this area. This hotel also has upscale residences in it.

Room Tip: Look for package deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ddrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Sherry-Netherland is most definitely a very unique and exceptional hotel. While I was staying there, I felt as if I were staying in an elegant pre-war Fifth Avenue co-op apartment. The old-world elegance and the attention to the details of hospitality (a hand-written welcome note from the manager, fresh flowers, a box of lovely chocolates, gratis beverages in the refrigerator, and white-gloved elevator operators) make The Sherry-Netherland a breath of fresh air in today's cookie-cutter world of sameness and mediocrity. The Sherry-Netherland is heads and shoulders above its competition! Kudos to the exceptional staff---especially Renee and Russell. I look forword to my next stay at The Sherry!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Rooms were large and beautifully decorated!! Staff was helpful & friendly. Very comfortable bed!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. We have stayed here a few times now and we really don't ever want to stay anywhere else when we visit NYC. We have stayed in suites and rooms and even the rooms are very large. You can't beat a suite! No two are the same and they are all HUGE! The hotel is very quiet. We hardly ever see another person and we definitely don't hear a thing. The staff go out of there way to greet you and make sure that you have everything that you need. I can't imagine a nicer hotel in NYC. I HIGHLY recommend the Sherry Netherland!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlymanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Location is perfect, but not all the rooms are fine. The first day we were on a room on the 3rd floor with an ugly interior view, no hot water, and they were not able to change the room till the next day,we had an interior regular view on the 10th floor, and everything was ok, nice amenities and free soft drinks on the fridge. Bad wi fi signal on both rooms.
Jummeirah essex house is a much better option with same location and very similar prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I just want to say that the staff was very helpful in getting my family an early check-in for a local wedding. Kelly was particularly helpful and I want to thank her very much!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
565 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $361 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing