We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Happy Thanksgiving”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel but not our first trip to New York. The hotel's location is perfect for all sight seeing. We went for the Thanksgiving Parade this time and only had to walk a short distance for a great view. On return there were queues for the lifts but this was to expected as most of the hotel were returning at the same time.We had a room on the 18th floor facing 7th avenue and although you could hear the city traffic, that is part of the experience. The room was compact but very clean. All staff were pleasant and helpful. We did have a little problem with a blocked toilet, but after reporting this to reception, was fixed within the hour. I intend to return to New York in December next year to show my daughter the city for the first time and I will seriously consider returning to the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Cazb62,


Thank you for the great feedback there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the condition of the toilet. Our Director of Engineering takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,369
    2,752
    1,386
    478
    321
See reviews for
2,257
1,877
254
1,513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is one of the BEST hotel we stayed in so far. Rooms are huge, service awesome, close to time square and subway. staff was very good. Rooms are very clean. this is 1st time we stayed at this hotel and will be our all time spot when we visit NYC. again this one we found on Travelocity.. and travelocity picked hotel never let us down

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank param p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Parm P,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing the great city of New York. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time. It is a quick subway ride to everywhere in the city. We are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at this location! Hotel is well run, clean and centrally located to everything in mid town! Would stay here again next time we are in NYC. Staff was courteous & helpful. Restaurant was disappointing would not recommend eating there. There are lots of great restaurants in the area!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello JohnR,

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere. We are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here twice within one week: before and after Thanksgiving. The hotel was very, very busy on the Saturday after TG. The queue to check in was long but once you got to the reservation desk, the people behind the desk were smiling and helpful.

Though it says it is near Times Square, it is not! Times Square is at 42nd Street and this hotel is at 53rd Street. It is an excellent location for restaurants and theatre.

I opted for an Executive floor room. The room was small but nicely furnished. The benefit of the room is the free use of the Executive Lounge which includes breakfast, and the gym.

My only complaint was that they charge you $14.95 a day for Wi-Fi in the room, though it is free in the lobby and in the Executive Lounge. An annoyance that could be avoided, especially in this day and age.

Room Tip: I stayed in two rooms on the 44th Floor: 4433 and 4420. Both are identical. Small but adequately f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBJC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Carolroy,

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff at the Front Desk are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Went for our anniversary had a great time. The room was what I expected from a Sheraton hotel. The staff was great too. Location is great next to the sub way stop and walking distance to Time Square. Will be staying there again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Randyjohnstone,

I am so glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us during your Anniversary. We try our best to go above and beyond and I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing the great city of New York. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time. It is a quick subway ride to everywhere in the city.

I am happy you truly enjoyed the renovated rooms in the hotel. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference and a couple days of leisure in October. It was my 4th time to New York and first time at this hotel.
Positives
Room was well equipped and bathroom had lots of counter space.
Workout room was huge and had separate areas for cardio, weights, stretching.
All staff were extremely attentive and quick. Especially impressed by the concierge desk, even with line ups of guests, you had their direct attention when it was your turn and it was not a rushed conversation. Very helpful with route and walk planning.

Opportunities for improvement:
Bathroom needs a scrubbing from top to bottom, stains on doors and wallpaper, hair on floor.
Not very sound proof, had the worst sleeps ever at a Starwood property, not even a sweet sleeper bed could help. Heard every noise in the hallway and the cracks around the door way let a lot of light in.
Internet access was terrible, so slow in rooms and main areas. Food was so so.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Lizaroo,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the room noise and condition of the bathroom. Our Directors of Housekeeping and Security takes this feedback very seriously and they have been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We look forward to your next visit!



Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesville, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Close to everything, but far enough away from TSQ that the crowds don't make it to the hotel.
The Superior rooms are a bit on the small side for 4 people. I traveled with my wife and our two sons. The room was nicely decorated and have enough accessible power outlets for all our gadgets. The bathroom was a bit on the smallish side, but comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly.

Over Thanksgiving weekend it was extremely crowded, so the Club Lounge for breakfast was just really busy. The view from the lounge is nice, looking down to TSQ and up to Central Park.
The one thing I was not happy regarding service was that the TV was not working. When I called about 11:00PM they offered to send some one to look at it at that time and I declined as my wife and kids were in bed already. I asked to have it fixed the next day and it was never fixed during our whole stay of 5 nights.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Luis T,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the mal function of the television. Our Director of Engineering takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We hope to see you soon!



Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,279 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,948 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,536 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing