We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation makes this one of the top Starwood hotels in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Renovation makes this one of the top Starwood hotels in Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

$150M renovation is materially felt, if you're lucky to get an updated room. Speedy, friendly, and professional Starwood Platinum/Gold preferred check-in. Club lounge serves great wines (cost not included) by the glass and stunning views uptown and downtown. Overall, clean and centrally located mega-hotel and far better option for Starwood loyalists that need to keep budget under control.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank knak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Knak,

I am very lifted by your review and very glad to hear how you enjoyed the great views and comfort of our Club Lounge. Your kind words regarding the quick check in and friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere.

Thank you and please ensure you do visit us again and spread the happiness!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    2,686
    1,364
    474
    314
See reviews for
2,207
1,828
247
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volta Redonda
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean 4 star hotel, great location, walking distance to almosta anywere, few blocks to Broadway and central park. The room size and the price are good for Manhatan standards. Friendly and helpfull team. Beside the frigobar we ask for a refrigerator for our kids drinks and snacks and we got for free.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robhelp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Robhelp24,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team
I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York. We look forward to your next visit!

.Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This located within easy walking distance to times square ,Rockefeller plaza or Central park. Subway stop just a few blocks. Lady at the desk at check in, was really friendly. Not what a first timer to NYC was expecting. Got this on a priceline express deal for a really good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danc219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Danc219

Thank you for sharing the very helpful and quick service you experienced during your check in, there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Ashby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was fantastic, staff great and room very comfortable. My husband and I stayed here for 40th birthday celebrations. The hotel is in a fantastic position within NYC. It's on Times Sq, but just far enough away. We stayed on the 45th floor, so we didn't hear any noise. The views were fantastic. We also had access to the club lounge, which was great. Room was very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the less noise can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us. We try our best to go above and beyond and I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing the great city of New York. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time. It is a quick subway ride to everywhere in the city.

I am happy you truly enjoyed the spacious renovated rooms and great views of New York City from the hotel. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team. We look forward to your next visit!



Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent two days and two nights here. The staff made it feel like a small town hotel with great care and service. Very friendly and professional people. The location was perfect for us to walk to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firemac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York. We look forward to your next visit!

.Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I went with a group to New York. It was me and 198 more kids that went. I can understand how keeping track of a hundred kids can be tough, but the Sheraton Hotel might not be the best place to do the job. First I will start with the good. The Starbucks was more than awesome in the lobby. The man who makes the drinks was friendly, funny, and talked to all the customers whether they wanted it or not. He was amazing and I think he should be promoted. The rooms were nice, but small. But they were small because it was a business suite like room and we didn't care cause we were gone most of the time. Plus, it was easier to get to all the action like Times Square, and etc. Now the bad. The maintenance was slow and very inattentive. The staff desk wouldn't do anything when we called and they just stopped answering overall. The staff was also not very nice to the fact they were housing teenagers. But overall, the hotel was nice and what it had in location and time, made up for its lousy service.

Room Tip: Views are not that grand so don't choose a room based off that
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberboo61997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Amberboo61997,

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Great Shopping it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with our Front Desk service. Our Director of the Front Office takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. On behalf of our team we hope you will return and give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton because of its location. It's really close to Times Square and the theatre district. The rooms are small, but then again it's NYC. The service is great, very friendly staff both on check in and conciere. I was on the 7th floor and could hear a lot of street noise from below. So suggest that you request a higher floor. Still you hear doors slamming in other rooms as people come and go. Rooms are clean and the accessories are updated (tv, beds couch), but the overall hotel bathrooms, walls could use a remake. They do have a nice attached fitness center. And if you a preferred member you can get free wi-fi. Overall, I liked the hotel for the location and service, but if you are looking for a spacious updated room, you will need to look elsewhere, but then again it's NYC, who spends much time in their rooms:-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Theaters it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York. We look forward to your next visit!

.Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,172 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,876 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing