We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #290 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed with friends for a week here to discover the whole of "New York", first timer in the big apple. Overall a really good hotel, the location is great with a subway station on the same corner of the block. The rooms are actually a good size although the bathroom is fairly small/tight but we weren't there to stay in the room! Very clean, decent sized tv (didn't use it much), although we were out by 9-10 most days just watch out housekeeping come round very early (ie from 7) so put your do not disturb sign on the door before going to sleep. Maybe it was just me but the room doors seem to slam shut very loudly.

Times Square is a easy 5 minute walk "downtown", couldn't be any easier/closer without having a lot of tourists getting in your way. Central park is 5-10 minute walk "uptown" which is also worth noting as its a really place to go and check out. Remember to pack your running shoes. A lot of comments on a busy lobby... not that bad and not very important in our eyes as its a busy hotel.

The only negative things (not the biggest of things) were no free wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby), bar prices were steep but we drank at the many local bars within a block or two from the hotel, our safe played up but fixed itself by the final day, luckily we used the other room in the party. The lifts can be slow in peak periods.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and if the price is ok would stay here again if heading to New York.

Apart from the hotel I would highly recommend you get a unlimited metrocard (we got a 7 day pass) and get yourself over to the highliner, meat packing district, Brooklyn, Staten Island (free ferry), Roosevelt island, DUMBO, Noho, Soho, West village, Yankee Stadium etc. Such a great city by both day and night!

Room Tip: High as possible. Floors above 21st floor have more lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theenglishorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us while visiting New York City! We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    2,905
    1,455
    509
    349
See reviews for
2,415
1,959
281
1,629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On a recent trip to NYC, I had the pleasure of being assisted by not one but two employees at check in. I was first assisted by Melody and subsequently by Edwin. In one simple word OUTSTANDING. They both went the extra mile. Apparently Melody was somewhat new to the registration desk and rather than just say NO, she asked her collegue Edwin for assistance. Check in was a breeze and Edwin got us the room we wanted! What a pleasure. I told them both that if a person could take time to complain that i lived by the mantra that good should be voiced equally. Great job guys, i look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give up a review and for acknowledging how enjoyable you’re check in experience was with us! Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to New York City!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tried to book this property on a highly publicized, discounted rate through their website. I selected the rate, hit reserve and it kept coming back with "you've been on this page too long, try your reservation again". So I call reservations, they say over and over again "that rate isn't in my system" call the hotel. Call the hotel, reservation staff is gone until Monday (well rate will be gone but I digress). Call customer service, same exact words as res staff. I offer to do a screen capture, and send the specific url. They refuse to look at it or notify their web team. I'm not done yet. By now I'm amazed at how indifferent they are to actually looking into it. Then I get a customer service person through social media who looks like they may help. Oh no, they've asked me to clear my cache - yes, did that. Then ask me to e-mail the url. I do so and they tell me it is for the wrong dates. Well yes it is! Because every time I hit reserve, it bounced me back to their default dates. You wanna know what their resolution was? Go find a AAA discount and get back to me. Not only will I go find a AAA rate but I'll book it with another hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethKSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service you experienced. That is absolutely not the norm for us and we would love to make things right with you. Please feel free to reach out to me via email at (joseph.giordano@sheraton.com) so that we can look further into your experience.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Times Square. Really tired when arrived with kids and receptionst called JOY went the extra mile to help us and although we arrived early managed to get our room .
Well done , made us feel welcome.

Not sure hotel should charge to store luggage when booking out - seems a poor way to treat customers given how expensive the hotel is.

avoid the breakfast area - well overpriced and poor quality. Waiters seem disinterested suggest you find a local diner .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 311jamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is so wonderful to hear that Joy was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through. On behalf of our team we sincerely apologize for the breakfast experience during your stay our Director of the Food and Beverage has been notified. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great location, but that's the only thing that stands out. Room was nice...your usual, run of the mill room. Eat at Fluffy's Bakery around the corner and skip Carnegie Deli. We didn't have a bad experience there at all....actually checked in a couple hours early, which was nice. The price was a little steep, I thought, especially for a room that didn't stand out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifera64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights, once again traveling solo... Loved the experience, especially in the morning the lounge smells like freshly brewed coffee (love the smell) however the rooms were kind of small. During my stay I booked a trip to the Woodbury commons, once against very convenient, the bus stop was right next to the hotel, and I also booked a broadway show at the concierge, excellent service, one of the workers actually give me different suggests and guided me through to help me pick the show that would interest me the most. Overall it was a fantastic experience

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinanako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!



Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked the Sheraton for its location which is great - not just for Times Square - even if its chaotic and busy! We only had 4 days and this was ideal. Standard Sheraton Hotel, functional but also very clean and generally well maintained, housekeeping gave prompt assistance with broken lamp. Experience though made perfect by fantastic Concierges, Michael and Anthony. They were both outstandingly helpful and informative for every question we had -- it almost became a challenge! Reminds the traveller what a big difference the staff the staff can make to the holiday. Thanks to their advice, we ate great food, travelled easily by subway or on foot, and got straight to sight-seeing destinations without wasting precious time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is so wonderful to hear that Michael and Anthony were able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! We look forward to your next visit!




Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,484 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,324 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,227 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 466 in New York City
8,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing