We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location But Service Could Have Been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #290 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crossville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient Location But Service Could Have Been Better”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is convenient to all the things you want to see and do in NYC. There were lots of deli type places nearby where we could eat for very reasonable prices and that was great . We didn't have to bust our budget on meals. For the most part, hotel staff was helpful, but an exception occurred when I waited in line to buy stamps at the front desk. When it was my turn, a group of three women ignored those of us in line and walked right up to the front desk clerk and started talking to her. They were obviously friends. Never so much an apology or howdy to those of us politely waiting our turn. One morning the elevators from the 24th floor to the lobby were not working. We needed to get to the lobby to meet a friend. We waited for over 30 minutes before hotel staff came to take guests stuck on the 24th floor to the service elevator to get down to the lobby. Even when the elevators were working, they were crowded and it was difficult to get up and down during rush hour. People on the lower floors watched the elevators go by and could not get on because they were full.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedLinetoDowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for offering us your review and guidance about your recent visit with us. On behalf of our team we sincerely apologize for the delayed service at our Front Desk and the mal function of the elevators during your stay our Directors of the Front Office and Engineering has been notified. We would love the chance to change your mind about our hotel we would love for you to return so that we can give you the experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    2,845
    1,431
    493
    335
See reviews for
2,346
1,934
270
1,585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Family was in NYC for a graduation last weekend and were booked into the Sheraton by the graduate. It's a typical nicely renovated, large, businessmen's hotel. The problem is that they skimp on staff and nickle and dime you. Check in reminded me of Vegas took 20 minutes (not enough clerks). The wi-fi log in was problematic and I was on hold for five minutes before getting help (not enough operators) The same thing happened when I called to get assistance with a non working TV and a stuffed up toilet. Once I got through however, the staff arrived at my room quickly. My final annoyance came when I needed to check my bags for a few hours. The $3.25 per bag fee, for a service that is complementary at most hostelries seemed chintzy.,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psyduck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service you experienced. That is absolutely not the norm for us and we would love to make things right with you. Please feel free to reach out to me via email at (joseph.giordano@sheraton.com) so that we can look further into your experience.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spend couple nights at this hotel with kids. It is a great, comfortable hotel, centrally located only few blocks from Times Square. The rooms are a small New York size, but manageable. The hotel is very well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

The subway stop is right next to the hotel. The on-and-off double decker tourist bus for touring the City was right across the street.

Try Ray's Pizza for a perfect slice of New York thin crust pizza or the Deli on the side of the hotel from 52nd street. Both are open 24 hours and the food is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review, There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked 3 Clubrooms for 7 nights at the Sheraton New York hotel and I asked for the rooms to be located together as I was travelling with my 84-year-old mother who can get quite confused at times. I followed this request up by email and I was a bit disappointed when I received the standard response stating that they could not guarantee 'special' requests.

When we arrived at the hotel at 2:00 pm after travelling from the UK, we were very rudely advised check in was 3:00 pm and as we had made a special request, the rooms wouldn’t be available until 3:30 pm. We duly waited until 3:30 and when we went back to the desk to check in, we were then told that they did not have 3 rooms on the same floor and if I wanted that then it was unlikely that the rooms would be ready before 6:00 pm.

At that point I had experienced 2 very rude staff at the front of desk and I asked to speak to the manager. The manager however was even worse than the previous staff. I was very rudely advised that I would have to compromise; there was no apology for the late check in and the bad service that I had experienced.

We however were eventually allocated 3 rooms on the same floor, with 2 rooms next to each other and the 3rd room was at the other end of the corridor, but we weren’t too bothered, it was important that we had at least 2 rooms together.

We had booked the Club Rooms, these rooms were supposed to have towelling dressing gowns, complimentary water in the rooms and access to the club lounge where breakfast and nightly hors d’oeuvres were served. None of the 3 rooms had complimentary water or towelling dressing gowns, if 1 room did not have these facilities then this would be an oversight, 2 rooms without these facilities would be careless housekeeping, 3 rooms however suggests false advertising, clearly unless you phone up and complain that these items are not available you will not receive the towelling gown and complimentary water.

The nightly hors d’oeuvres was the same each night, cheese, crackers, crudities & dip. Breakfast was a lottery, there were simply too many people for the size of the lounge and we had to end up taking breakfast back to our rooms.

Whilst the hotel was very nice and the rooms were an excellent size compared to other New York hotels that I have stayed in, the front of desk staff need training in customer service, the staff that I dealt with clearly found it quite tiresome having to deal with customers and this was re-iterated by the front of desk manager. I have stayed at the Novotel in Times Square and this hotel was far superior and considerately less expensive. The Sheraton was extremely overpriced for the service that I experienced.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra for the club rooms, the club is too small for the number of rooms and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBB015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service you experienced. That is absolutely not the norm for us and we would love to make things right with you. Please feel free to reach out to me via email at (joseph.giordano@sheraton.com) so that we can look further into your experience.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sheraton,TS for 2 nights.the location is central,4 mins walk to Times Square and the price is very good around 280$.clean rooms,very friendly staff and overall a perfect hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rikz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I read the reviews before staying at this hotel and I must say everyone has an opinion for sure. There were bad reviews and just didn't experience that. The staff was helpful and room was modern and cozy. I had a great view from the 42nd floor as well. The location is excellent and is in walking distance to a lot of places and close to the subway. This is a busy hotel so it was a hustling most of the time. I would definitely stay here again based on my personal experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to New York City!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After more than a 30 hour flight, we arrived at the Hotel on a rainy day and were completely exhausted. At the Front Desk we were welcome by a young girl, Stephanie Bodle. She impressed us a lot. She was very friendly, polite and professional. She also seemed like she knew her way around even though we found out that she just moved to New York a couple of weeks ago. We were very pleased to have her do our check in.
We would also like to thank housekeeping for their attentiveness. Great job! Thank you!

Kind regards

Mariana Boneva
St. Regis Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is so wonderful to hear that Stephanie was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Come back soon!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,412 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#176 of 468 in New York City
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,130 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#180 of 468 in New York City
7,839 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing