We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break craziness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #287 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel March 9 -13, 2013 and you can't hardly ask for a better location but the hotel was completely full and it could take 10-15 minutes to get up or down the elevators! The lobby was always full of people and luggage with no where to sit. The rooms were nice and clean but we didn't have hot water from 10:00 pm until 6:00 am because of some time of maintenance issue which was very inconvenient. You are paying for the location but you are paying dearly and I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pworfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Pworfe,

Thank you for sharing your experience. First and foremost we do apologize for the busy lobby and hot water shut down. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and would love another chance to show you a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,287 - 6,293 of 8,395 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel for an overnight stay in NY whilst traveling on business.
Booked based on its location and it did not disappoint!
As many reviews here say, it's minutes from Central Park and minutes from Times Square! Perfect.
Checking in was quick and easy and so was check out.
Room was excellent, very clean and had the biggest and most comfortable bed and pillows ever!! I can't remember last time I had such a great sleep in a hotel.
Bathroom was not big, but had everything!
My suggestion for improvement would be having iPod/ iPhone docking station in rooms.
Had enjoy my one night here and if ever I return to NY, I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

DJG1983,

Thank you for the great review! It is great to hear that everything from your arrival to your departure went well. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In my younger years I went to New York at least 2 times a year and always stayed at this hotel mainly for the location; at that time safety was a concern. I could walk to my favorite museums; Moma, Whitney, Metropolitan and even the Frick. Lots of options for eating and central park is a short walk away. The hotel is still a good choice and with the refurbishment it's even better. We managed to get the hotel at a reasonable cost (by New York standards) by booking a package deal. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpfull overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

M D,

There is nothing we enjoy more than hearing that our guests had a great experience! It is wonderful to hear that you still come back to stay with us after all these years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State building, Grand Central station, the Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and most theaters on Broadway. A couple of subway stations are very close, making all other destinations easily reachable. Our room was clean and confortable, not noisy despite the central location. Free wifi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

annina_q,

Thank you for writing us a review. Our location is truly one of the best, right in the heart of midtown. We are glad our location added convenience to your stay and our facilities met your needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The hotel is just north of Times Square, and just south of Central Park. There are subway stations within (2) blocks East or West of the hotel. It has been newly re-modeled. The room was good size for NYC. The water pressure in the room could have been a bit stronger..

The staff from check-in to advice on sights, and subways was excellent. All we encountered were helpful and friendly. The next time we are in NYC we will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 24th floor. The higher you go the less you will hear the hustle and bustle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

johnsinead,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that our central located made your time in NYC more convenient. Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to passing them on to our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

House keeping was awful. Tooth Paste on the sink when we arrived. Rotten fruit in our room. Changed the sheets and put ones on that had a hole it. Good location but not worth staying at again. Talked to service manager. They said they would address it. Never heard from them again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nlprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located only five minutes from Times Square and Central park. The museum of modern art (Moma) is only two minutes away. The New York museum of Art and many other museums on Museum Mile are less than an hour walk through or alongside Central park. There is a subway on the corner that takes you to Penn station (for Newark AIrport) or Jamaica (for JFK).

The rooms and facilities were excellent but expensive. There were uniformed staff everywhere. My room was rather small and only had a shower room, but it was not crampted. The room was well decorated with a large well padded bed and an easy to use free starbucks branded coffee making filter machine in the corner. There were a minibar and sweet drawer but I did not use them. Even on the 20th floor the street noise at night was quite loud, but using the two blinds you can reduce this substanially. I expect the higher up rooms had less street noise.

I stayed at the hotel for a conference and got a reduced US Government rate of $240 per day (including taxes of ~$36) with free internet through the conference. The wifi internet was $14.95 per day without any packages for longer periods, I had to accept the charge and it was removed at checkout. The internet was fast enough for streaming short videos and running an encrypted VPN connection, but I did not try HD video streaming. I understand the conference got a good rate (and the free internet) as the hotel is being renovated and thus were willing to give a substancial discount. I was invited to the presidential suit high up on the hotel one evening for a little get together of conference organisers and the view over NYC was amazing. The room was 10m by 10m with two floors, including bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen, a whole house as a single hotel room with a 84" flat screen TV! I undertand this room can cost $10,000 per night!

The Hudson's Market restaurant had a wonderful breakfast buffet, well worth a try, but was expensive at $35 per person (including a $5 tip)! The staff were always nearby if you needed a top up of coffee or juice. The coffee space/bar/internet hub had excellent sandwiches and salads for lunch but at $12 with a coke, including the 15% reduction for conference attendees, this was rather expensive.

There are many nearby restaurants. I tried Rosie O'Gradies and Heartland Brewery, both were excellent. I especially recommend the sesame crusted tuna at Heartland. The tuna, if ordered rare, is red in the centre with only a cooked region at the edge of the meat but a real food experience (but as recommended by the cute asian waiter don't order this well done or you spoil its flavour).

I found this hotel excellent, even without using the vast fitness room and other facilities. However, expect to pay for the experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Robert M,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and it added convenience to your stay. We are pleased you found our facilities to be excellent and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#131 of 469 in New York City
5,634 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#178 of 469 in New York City
5,447 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#176 of 469 in New York City
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,837 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing