We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, cannot wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #298 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was concerned after reading some reviews but decided to book anyway. I only spent one night on this trip but such a favorable impression was made that I will return. My room was on the 16th floor. The street noise was heard only once about mid day. I was near the elevators and never heard any noise.

Linens were comfortable, clean, and the work station in the room was plenty big. My room was very small, but I had emailed and told them I needed an early check in and would exchange a king room for a smaller one if I could get in earlier. My favorite part of this stay was the service. I did not meet one employee who did not speak with a friendly voice. Upon check in Nicole was fantastic. My room was ready at 2pm and while it was small, it was very clean, very well stocked and extremely comfortable.

If there was any sort of complaint it would be the lights in the bathroom are not quiet adequate, and there is nowhere to place insulin. I had to keep getting ice and that is a bother. There is a well stocked mini bar and fidge, but no where to place insulin I usually ask for a mini fridge but had forgotten to this time.

Food at the restaurant was very good and a fairly decent price, for New York. Doorman was always right on top of things with directions and taxis ready for me to enter. Service throughout the hotel was extremely good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallmoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

smallmoon2,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our staff truly cares for our guests and it is great to see that shine through. There is nothing we love to hear more, we are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,613 - 6,619 of 8,741 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location location location, never been more true than at this easily accessible Times Square hotel. Walking distance to good restaurants and the theaters. Staff was great and service was friendly. Subway stop outside the entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

buster015,

Thank you for the positive feedback. Our location truly is one of the best, as you said, just a short walk to so many attractions and transit routes. We are glad our service met your needs and expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Desk staff are overwhelmed. Don't try to check in before 3 unless you are up for some abuse. Rooms are very small but clean. This hotel is actually several blocks from Times Square. They are short blocks so it is still convenient but not crazy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meg1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Mg1496,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for any unpleasant experiences you had with us. Here we strive for helpful and friendly service and we hope you will give us another chance to show you that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here in October and used Sheraton points to get an upgraded room. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is very friendly. The location of the hotel is very nice also, it's only a couple blocks from Central Park and 5th avenue, and also a very short walk to the theatre district. We never had to take a cab anywhere.
My only complaint was that this building houses a major conference center so there was alot of people traffic at every time of the day in the lobby and all over the first floor.
Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Geoff Y,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Guest satisfaction is always our number one goal and we love to see that we have succeeded. We hope to welcome you back to NYC again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What can you say about the location? It's in Times Square. You can walk and get to almost anywhere for dining, shows, shopping, etc. The hotel itself is pretty average from top to bottom. Check in was smooth and the staff was curteous. The room was clean but the overall appearance of the room was not what one expects from Sheraton. Small as most hotel rooms in NYC are so no surprise there. A little TLC would help this hotel immensly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

AlexanderDelarge,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that our location added convenience to your stay. We are excited to let you know that since your last stay all of our guest rooms have been completely renovated and we hope you will return to see our new product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The location is great, but the rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms are the size of a small closet. The hotel charges for everything, including a $10 fee to hold bags before or after check in.

The hotel, however, is clean and the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same small size. I have been on the executive floor and on other floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Arthur211,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that our cleanliness and service met your needs and expectations during your time with us. On behalf of our team we hope you will return for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staying for a long weekend and found this hotel to be perfect, very clean and very well maintained and upgraded. Upon check in we were taken care of by one of the best Hotel employes I have ever had the pleasure of having help me. Her name was Joy and she was great in making sure we got the room we needed after an internet reservation third party that was messed up. She also made sure we had a little extras to make our stay great. Our room was big and clean and over all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who had to stay midtown

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ant2272727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

ant2272727,

There is nothing better than amazing feedback like yours! Joy is a true shining star on our team and we are so lucky to have her. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 473 in New York City
2,929 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#137 of 473 in New York City
5,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#173 of 473 in New York City
5,646 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $187 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. Located just steps from the Theater District, our hotel in NYC sits between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing