We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #290 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel in the last 2 years. Both times have been GREAT! The reason why i was rating it ALMOST perfect is solely based on the housekeeping staff noise level in the morning. They would park their carts outside our suite and it was loud, I felt like they were in my room. However, i did realize that I did not have have my do not disturb sign on the door, so it could be partially my fault. There are many great things about this hotel. LOCATION< LOCATION< LOCATION! Did I mention location??? perfect. Walking distance to Central park, Rockefeller Center, Madison Ave.,Times Square, Theater District, Radio City and more. But, if you are looking to travel up or downtown, you have the subway just outside the hotel door. If you have been to NYC before, you will know that walking and the Subway are the best ways to get around and avoid paying for a taxi just to sit in traffic.
I felt like the rates were fair, even pretty good for NY and the time we were there. Staff was friendly and efficient. They offer a bag storage for $3.75 per article, which comes in handy if you are flying out late and still want to explore the city after checkout. If you upgrade to the concierge level, you will snacks at happy hour (fresh veggies, dips, cheese and crackers, soft drinks, etc and a cash bar),a fabulous continental breakfast and an AMAZING view of Times Square, the Hudson River and Central Park. It is well worth the upgrade. Rooms were clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Perhaps call the hotel to ask where the Housecleaning parks their carts in the morning, and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaretwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Margaretwg,

There is nothing we love more than returning guests! We are so happy to hear that both your experiences with us were great and we look forward to your return. Thank you for your continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,939
    2,360
    1,193
    415
    269
See reviews for
1,852
1,618
220
1,206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great time here.
The hotel was very close to broadway and Time Square.
The lobby is nice.
The Service is good.
Room service is great.
Very clean hotel.
The beds are comfortable.
The pillows and bed spreads are super good.
Fresh towels daily.
Awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
psillywilly,

There is nothing we like to hear more than our guests having an awesome experience! It is great that our guest rooms and facilities exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed our room service offerings! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I only stayed one night. We dropped our bags early in the morning and stopped by the concierge desk to ask for some tips. The concierge desk is not an asset here. They were not helpful with directions, did not have ANY tips about restaurants near Rockefeller Center. The general impression we got from her was that we were wasting her time. The room was clean and the front desk was pleasant. It was a drag to have to pay to have our luggage stored the day of checkout while we finished exploring the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redmoose31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Redmoose31,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. First and foremost we would like to apologize for your negative experience with our concierge. We can assure you that is not the type of service we strive for and we hope you will come back for another stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My daughters and I went for pre-Christmas trip to NYC and stayed in the Sheraton Times Square where we stayed for one week.. For location in New York you can't beat it, it's so central. You're within easy walking distance of Times Square - about 3 minutes walk, 5th Avenue - a 10 minute walk, and the Rockefeller center, Broadway, Bryant and central parks were all within minutes walking distance. We only took a taxi twice while during our stay as there was a subway station on the corner of the hotel and the E train brought us to most of the places we wanted to visit, or we were close enough to walk.

I would highly recommend this hotel.. in the lobby, which was buzzing at all times, there was free wifi, computers and a free printer for booking tickets or printing off airline passes etc. It's not really suitable for a quiet romantic break away, but then again - I wouldn't say NYC is either!

We had a couple of minor issues with the room on our arrival that were sorted out almost immediately and followed up with a courtesy phone call from the manager to ensure everything was ok. All in all.. a great experience and a fantastic base for a trip to NYC no matter how long your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
TravelLightThisTime,

Thank you for the recommendation! As you said, our location is central to so much, many places are either a short walk or subway ride away. We love to hear that our location made your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've just returned from a 5 night stay on the 32nd floor at this hotel. Its location is truly amazing, just a few blocks north of Times Square, and it is huge. Everywhere in the hotel is always frantically busy with people from all over the world. The staff are cheerful, friendly, helpful and often multi-lingual. If you hate heights and dodgy elevators, be sure to request a room on the lower floors!
The rooms are on the small side but they have wonderfully comfortable beds and have been recently refurbished so they have a modern urban feel. There are plenty of options for eating close to the hotel but some trade on their famous names and are ridiculously expensive.
There is a subway station outside the hotel, Central Park and the shops of 5th Avenue are within easy walking distance, which is useful in the extreme cold and snow of a New York winter. It's a great place for being in the centre of things in the city that never sleeps.
Tip: use the free WiFi in the lobby

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeypot54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Honeypot54321,

Thank you for the great review. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleepers are always a big hit for how comfy they are! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to passing on the message to our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

After extensive searching for a hotel within the confines of Times Square for New Years Eve (since they block off the roads at a certain point), I am disheartened with my experience. I called the hotel and SPECIFICALLY asked if this hotel would have views of the ball drop. I was told by a hotel representative that the hotel was right on 7th Avenue and you can see the ball perfectly, and they even have a blocked off section in front of the hotel for guests to view it. WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED WAS the hotel CLOSED OFF the main entrance on 7th Avenue and its patrons only had in and out access to go through the side street, which was corridored off by a police officer that would not let you go ANYWHERE. We were literally stuck on a side road with zero visibility of ANYTHING Times Square-related. I spoke to the Hotel Manager Shaun Cassidy who said he understood my frustrations but said could do nothing since the NYPD said no one was allowed on the 7th Avenue side. Then as my children and I were trying to see anything from the inside of the hotel, a restaurant window gave us a view of the 7th Avenue entrance only, with hotel employees enjoying the view and smoking cigarettes, having a great time. Completely disgusted, and I'm glad THEY, at least, got to enjoy the ball drop. They could have been honest when I called, as there are several comparably priced hotels in the area that allowed their patrons to enjoy the festivites. Completely ruined what was supposed to be an amazing, memorable event. No family should leave a hotel so sad! Waste of a lot of money...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DinaMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
DinaMichele,

Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our team we apologize for your unpleasant experience with us. In past years we have always blocked off an area in the front of our hotel for guests to view the ball drop but this year the NYPD did not allow that. We want to clear this up so that you do not feel misinformed in any way, our staff was under the impression that as always guests would be allowed out front of the hotel. We sincerely apologize that this had a negative impact on your New Year's Eve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I needed some help on the mayhem that was New Year's Eve, when Warren assisted me. He was so respectful of my concerns and aided my friends and I in the most professional manner. He exemplified what it meant to be in guest services, listening well to our needs and going well beyond what was expected of him. With this example of compassion, Warren truely made an impression on how wonderful it is to meet someone who genuinely cares about your well being.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Valerie A,

Thank you for the wonderful review. Warren is a shining star on our team and we are lucky to have him, he is a great example of the type of service we strive for. Our staff truly does care for our guests and we love to see it show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#195 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,568 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#323 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#273 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing