We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #288 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights in December. This hotel is in a great location...easy walk to Times Square, Rockafeller Center, and Central Park. Rooms were on the small side, but as expected for NYC. Rooms were clean and modern. We had a little trouble with our room keys not working, but the front desk re-coded for us. The free wi-fi in the lobby was convenient, and the staff was very helpful. This was a very busy weekend in New York, and a lot of stores had lineups to get in. We weren't able to get tickets for the 9/11 Memorial. I do recommend that you order tickets online before you arrive/

Room Tip: High room will give you the best view, but you'll have to be patient waiting for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Christine2384,

We couldn't have said it better ourselves, our central location is ideal for any type of traveler. It is great that you were able to utilize the free internet and computer access in our Link Cafe. Our team is happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,368 - 6,374 of 8,244 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Was visiting NYC for business trip. Arriving at midnight, I was greeted with warm welcome from hotel staff and due to the extended wait (there was only one receptionist at the time), they decided to give me a room upgrade. With the hotel right next to Times Square; food and practically everything is available within walking distance. Given it's location, I would definitely stay at Sheraton again next time on future personal or business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

layda7,

Thank you for writing us a review. We are so glad to hear that despite the wait, you were treated with care and upgraded to a nicer room. Our location is central to so many sites and attractions along with businesses and the theater district. We love to hear that you will stay with us again, we hope its soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I got a great price on this hotel through priceline. I had never used priceline before but I could choose and area that I really liked so I decided to try it. As a first timer to NYC the location was perfect and close to a lot of things we wanted to see. With the king bed and small sofa there wasn't a lot of wlaking room but I think that's NY for you. The hotel stayed very busy but I guess that's to be expected given the proximity to Times Square. Overall, great stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Laura M,

A great stay is all we can ask for! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are so glad to be part of your first NYC experience! We are happy that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for thanksgiving. Yes very busy and the lobby is huge. To clear a point - they do not have a starbucks in the lobby - the bar in the lobby sells starbucks but only by day not in the evening. We didn't have to line up for ages to check in - I think it took all of 5 minutes. We were on the 37th Floor - great views of Central Park in the distance and quiet. Everything modern and clean. We had a double room which was cleaned/beds made daily. We didn't use any of the hotels other facilities so cannot comment. There were two sets of lifts - one set going to the lower floors and one set going to the higher floors which helped as they were always busy and constantly in use (worse I assume as it was thanksgiving and we had alot of people there that had been in the parade) I have no complaints at all and would definitely go again as it is minutes from everything.

Room Tip: We paid slightly more for a higher room - for us the views were better, we wanted to be higher and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

lakes,

There is nothing better than hearing that our guests had no complaints! Our hotel can definitely become very busy during the holidays and we love being in the middle of it all! We are glad to hear that you will return and hope that its soon! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was staying for 5 days on business. While my reservation was OK, I had colleagues arriving at 8:00pm from Australia and France with confirmed reservations only to find that no rooms were available. I know this is Christmas time with many tourists but there is no excuse. The hotel moved them for a night to a nearby hotel but that was little consolation for people who had been traveling more than 24 hours.

My own room was acceptable but a little tired.

Services in the Executive Lounge on the 44th floor were pretty basic.

Bed was fine but pillows very soft

As many have said great location but this is a huge hotel with large number of tourists staying when I was there

Room Tip: It's a toss up. Do you want a view down Times Square? Are you willing to accept occasional siren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

JimS48,

Thank you for sharing your experience. The holidays are a very busy time in NYC and unfortunately that can affect hotels more than anything. The delay in available rooms is absolutely not the norm for us but a rate occurrence due to sheer volume of guests. We hope you will return for another stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Came to NYC for business but wanted to see some of the sights since visiting during holiday season. This hotel was recommended by a former NYC resident as a great location for seeing many of of Manhattan's attractions - many within walking distance. I was concerned about street noise and sleeping once I saw just how close it was to Times Square so upon arrival I asked to be moved to a higher floor - and I was - that was a good move. Rooms are small - but I expected that in NYC, but were clean and hotel staff very friendly but not overbearing. Cabs were easy to get in front of hotel and trip to LaGuardia was not that long. Also easy access to subway. Within easy walking distance of Central Park, the Tree and Skating at Rockefeller Center, Times Square and so much more. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from outside. Elevators are very fast and not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

CMRussell,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our central location. As you said our location is central to so many sites and attractions and we are happy to added convenience to your NYC experience. We love to hear that you will return! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel very clean. Service was good all staff members were nice. Easy to get a cab out front and in time square it is almost impossible. Bathrooms in room are tiny but beds comfy and clean. Lounge is ample. A good place to stay with a great location

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Michael D,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that our guest rooms and cleanliness met your needs and expectations. Our location is one of the best, right in the heart of midtown! We hope to welcome you back to New York soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#132 of 469 in New York City
5,524 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#181 of 469 in New York City
5,366 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,141 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $211 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing