We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #290 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on the last leg of my holiday.
The Sheraton is well located for Times Square, the Theatre district and sightseeing generally in New York.
Staff were very friendly and helpful giving us directions and advice on subways, taxis etc.
Since there were so many restaurants around the hotel we ate in a number of these to get a flavour of NY.
Our bedroom was a reasonable size, well appointed and cleaning staff did an excellent job keeping it clean etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

WeeNell30,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are happy to have been a part of your holiday travels, there is nothing like NYC during the holidays! We appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff, words like yours motivate us to be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,503 - 6,509 of 8,379 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went for the Thanksgiving weekend - perfect spot to get to anything in the city - steps from times square and any subway! Great service and directions. Clean room - very quiet although the lobby was packed!!! Perfect location for everything!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pghlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

pghlawyer,

We are glad you found our location to be perfect for everything during your NYC stay. Our lobby can become very busy during the holidays, there is nothing like the holidays in the Big Apple! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had several events at the Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall, so the Sheraton New York was a great location. The rooms were very nice, but just a bit small. The Front Desk staff were excellent and very helpful. Its a good place to stay if you're going to be in the Times Square/Rockefeller Center area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

mlowder500,

Thank you for the review. It is pleasing to hear that our location and facilities met your needs and expectations during your time with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to passing it on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October and absolutely loved it!

Like all Sheraton's, the Sheraton New York Times Square was fantastic! Being so well located, we felt we were in the best position to see New York for the first time.

The hotel is right above a subway station, so we found ourselves easily being able to come back if we forgot something or just wanted a quick rest during the day. It is also within easy walk distance of Times Square, some great restaurants on 9th Ave, Central Park, shopping on 5th Ave, plus the David Letterman studios which we were lucky enough to get tickets to in the lottery draw.

The wi-fi is only free in the hotel lobby which is unfortunate as it is quite a busy area! Although we would prefer free wi-fi in the room, we were able to make do by using it on our way out / in via the lobby.

Rooms are nice and large with modern furnishings, and the beds are perfect for a great night's sleep after a long day site-seeing!

Overall we would definitely stay here again for a short trip! However now that I feel I know my way around I would probably consider staying closer to less touristy areas e.g. Soho.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

annav88,

Thank you for the great review, we are glad you thought our hotel was fantastic! It is great that you were able to take advantage of our central location and nearby transit stops! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a 1 night stay at this hotel. It was perfectly located for us to walk everywhere. The hotel lobby was busy, especially the bag check, but otherwise we had no problems. Room was big by NYC standards, and beds were very comfortable. Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

jw9691,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There is nothing better than hearing that our guests had absolutely no problems during their time with us. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds get a lot of attention for how comfortable they are! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sheraton was a good place to stay.
Rooms were comfortable but a little small but i guess that's New York.
A bit of noice from the street during night but i guess that's as well New York.
Otherwise everything else was perfect.
As they figured out that we were in NY due to my partners birthday they sent up a complimentary snack of cheeses and two bottles of wine. That's very much apreciated.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wittsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Wittsjo,

Thank you for the great review. Guest satisfaction is always our number one goal and we are so happy to have succeeded. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a package. It is very well located within a short walking distance of many subway lines and not far from Times Square and Central Park. But because of this they are extremely busy. We arrived exhausted at 6pm and our rooms weren't ready. They very kindly sent us off for a free meal in their burger restaurant...but I would have preferred a shower! They seem to do this every night so don't expect your room to be ready even if you arrive well past check-in time. Very good room, but the window was broken and so the room was a little noisy. When we reported it the next day they tried to fix it but couldn't and offered to find us somewhere else. But the hotel was too full to find us anything nearly as good or an upgrade that we were happy to pay for, so we decided not to move. Staff try their best in the hotel, but are so busy that they are limited in what they can do so don't expect to be made to feel special, just enjoy the location.

Room Tip: higher floors have extra fast lift which is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braithwaite422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Braithwaite422,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our central location added to your New York experience. On behalf of our team we do apologize for your broken window and being unable to move you to a different room, the holidays are such a busy time in NYC. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#130 of 469 in New York City
5,620 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#179 of 469 in New York City
5,431 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 469 in New York City
2,711 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#186 of 469 in New York City
8,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $196 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing