We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effective staff, unfazed by Hurricane Sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #288 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stay there included Hurricane Sandy and the staff was impressive under tough circumstances. Knowledgeable and responsive pros who took time to take care of big and small problems. The place was packed and the situation was stressful for staff and guests. But their team did a fine job.

I generally prefer a smaller hotel with some personality, but this was chosen by work. As you'd expect from a giant hotel in a giant chain, it's generic. But it's not unstylish - rooms are comfortable and slickly appointed, with excellent beds and nice products in the bathrooms.

The fridge is one of those ridiculous contraptions that automatically charge you if you nudge a bottle or snack from its resting place. A stern warning is plastered on it not to put any outside items in it. Why hotels install these things is beyond me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

xeno111,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We can't tell you how much we appreciate your positive feedback. Hurricane Sandy was a scary and stressful time for New York and we made it through. Despite the chaos our staff did everything they could to make our guests comfortable and its wonderful to see the effort paid off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,444 - 6,450 of 8,244 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staff member Akada Philip did an amazing job in helping find the right room for my stay. We are here for the Macy's Day Parade and will be caring for over 200 band members from our university. She was quick, patient,cheerful,helpful and most accomodating in my room selection. I will complete my stay on Sunday, and I know this stay will be great because Akada set the tone for my weekend. Thanks Akada!
By the way the buffet breakfast was awesome!

Room Tip: I will write a review at the end of my stay on Sunday. Can't rate the sleep quality because I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

millebp,

Thank you for the review. We very much appreciate your kind words regarding Akada. Akada is an all star on our team and we are lucky to have her. We look forward to passing on the message to her and the rest of our front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Upon going back to Brazil, we stopped by New York City and stayed ay the above hotel.
The rooms were big, great and so was the views. The rooms were very clean and we stayed on the 11th floor. They changed the towels daily and so much for the linen of the bed.
The breakfast for $23.00 was just fabulous . Anything you wanted was on the buffet, it was just splendid. If you had this type of Breakfast, you probably would skip lunch.
In any event, you also had TV and wireless amenities. The Fitness room was excellent and they had everything a sporting academy would have. The swimming pool was also very good.
This hotel was 6 blocks away from Broadway and 8 blocks away from Columbus Circle, so everyhing was done by foot.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and sunnyt. No A/C noise whatsoever. Whether in a double room or suite or C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

antaki,

Thank you for the great review. This type of positive feedback is what we strive for. It is great that our guest rooms and cleanliness met your expectations. We look forward to passing on your kind words to our food and beverage department, our breakfast buffet really has some great offerings! We hope to welcome you back upon your return to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Love this hotel for its location, staff, rooms - hotel was renovated recently - beautifully appointed rooms - gym is great - like most chains they charge for WIFI but when I go to NYC I don't bring my PC unless I'm there for work - I'm usually there to have a great time with friends and I travel there quite often. I have stayed here many times. If you're looking to stay in Midtown the Sheraton is a great option!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan_luongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

susan_luongo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that our staff and guest rooms exceeded your expectations, that is something we love to know. Since our renovation our guest rooms have a great new look and feel and it is important that our guests like the upgrade as much as we do! We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As you'd expect for a midtown Manhattan business hotel the Sheraton is short on personality. Its function is not to charm but to accomodate and it does so just fine. Rooms are updated and comfortable however they do lack for space (at least mine did). Front-of-house staff were very helpful and welcoming while back-of-house were more gruff. But again you're likely not there to lounge in the lobby or lay around your room. The hotel's location is excellent. Easy walk to Central Park, Times Square, Fifth Ave shopping, etc. The hotel sits atop a subway stop and another is just a block away on 7th avenue. If you're doing alot of Broadway shows it's great to be able to make a quick trip back to your room, shower and change and then just walk 5-10 mins to the theater. The hotel is nothing spectacular but delivers all that it promises.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThereYouGoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

RunBoston4X,

Thank you for the review. Our central location is a great asset to us and our guests, being close to so many key parts of NYC makes it an idea hotel for business or pleasure. We are glad to hear our location added convenience to your stay and we hope you chose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton during the big storm when we lost power. The room was great, nice, clean and quiet. It was also a great location and you can walk everywhere which is a big plus. It was great staying there, we walked to work and it was easy to take the kids out for meals. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on top floors away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosaferNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

mosaferNY,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to hear that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations. Our central location is ideal for any traveler, right in the heart of midtown and close to so many transit routes. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Only stay at this Sheraton if you like outstanding service and an impeccably clean room. From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly and offered friendly and helpful service. The location is safe and we always felt secure.

After a long day of travel with missed connections that took us to four different cities with our luggage possibly in Guam, we met Edwin at the front desk. He was patient and gave us extra time to ensure we were happy. He hooked us up with overnight kits to make up for our lost luggage and gave us a great tutorial on the subway system. Honestly, everything about the the hotel and the staff met or exceeded our expectations.

The location is fantastic with a subway station just outside the front door. It is within Walking distance to Times Square, the theater district and so much more. The rooms are expectedly small, but ask for a corner room with a Murphy bed. They are a little bigger with a bigger bathroom and a better view too.

The price is very much inline with NYC hotels and you get what you pay for.

Stay here and leave the details to the staff. You will be glad you did.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CaptainTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

CaptainTravelMan,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our number one goal is to have satisfied guests and we couldn't be happier that you feel same and comfortable at our hotel. There is nothing better than hearing that we exceeded your expectations and we look hope you come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#132 of 469 in New York City
5,524 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#181 of 469 in New York City
5,366 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,141 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $211 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing