We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #298 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a good stay. Room was clean and decent size for NYC. The lobby is a bit crazy but makes for some great people watching. We were waiting for our train in the lobby bar so we could charge our cell phones and watch some football.

We were on the 18th floor and while we could hear doors closing, we didn't hear people in other rooms or the hallways.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patkatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

patkatmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team is always happy to hear that our guests had a pleasant time with us. Our lobby can become very busy with guests but we are glad it did not inconvenience you in any way! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,926 - 6,932 of 8,726 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Shearaton for 4 nights. Our room was on the 39th floor. The room was clean, not huge, but big enough. The shower was good. The bed was comfortable. The lift was fun (so fast and so smooth)

The location is fantastic. Between Central Park and Times Square. All tourist buses are just around the corner as is the subway. Shops are within walking distance.

The hotel is like a "hotel factury" (I guess over 1000 rooms), but a friendly one. The staff was friendly and helpful.

One thing, which I think could be better: The breakfast was very good and had a very good choice, but it was overpriced. The starbucks close to the hotel has the better coffee and cost us a third of the price.

Overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

roosli,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is great to hear that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations during your stay with us. Being such a large hotel we always strive to make guests feel cared for and we love to see that we have succeeded. We hope you will return on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overall the Sheraton offers excellent value for money as the location is brilliant for 5th Avenue, Central Park and Times Square with shows.
The maid service was discreet and very effective in keeping the room clean. the Concierge service varied from helpful to rude. This reflected my experience of New York overall, especially the cabs. No racial sterio types here, creed or colour made no difference, New York is generally very good or very bad!
Whilst there the City invoked an emergency order requiring over night gas mains works, meaning loud drilling between 12:00 pm md 6:00 am! Not the hotels fault , but they offered some recompense in form of points. Could be seen as minimum however not their fault so seems reasonable?

Room Tip: Ask if any street works are occcuring but otherwise get Park side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Peter L,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you found our property of good value. Our central location makes it convenient to travel to just about anywhere in the city! Despite the inconvenience of the drilling noise we are glad that our staff compensated you for the disruption and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

$500 a night, but I can't get $0.02 worth of WD40?

Wow, my company conducted a one day event at this hotel. Cost me $6 a coke for about 800 cokes. Plus lunch, A/V and all, came to over $50k. To the hotel. So, it seemed like a good time to bring the family up to NYC for the weekend. Yes? nice hotel room paid for already. The only real reason to run a small business. But WOW! I have to come back to the room after the kids (and yes, my wife) are asleep. The screech of the doors (must have automatic spring closures?) and the request to fix it unanswered after 4 days (at over $500 a night!!) left me more than disappointed.

Really ticked me off: arrive with three business associates; seated, and they told us about the buffet. We decided to "do it", but were all disappointed with what we saw. Each had an egg or two, but never discussed what turned out to be the $30+ price tag. Unbelievable. $140 for breakfast for four. And two did not really eat.

Only better "play" was when I asked, at the bar (yes, later that night) for a sam adams (US beer for anyone outside the US) and four "waters" was four bottled waters and a beer, for almost $35.

No free WiFi, and a surly staff puts this place pretty low on my list. However, it appears popular with tourists, so I assume they are giving some pretty good rates to folks. Just not to me. "Never again!"

Oh, and they don't "do" roll aways for you family folks out there.

Room Tip: A tip to find a good room? Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichFromVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

RichFromVirginia,

On behalf of our team we apologize for your unpleasant experience with us. We take all guest feedback into consideration and we appreciate you writing us a review. The level of service you experienced is not the norm for us and for that we apologized. We would love a chance to make things right with you, if you chose to return we would love to give you the experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had stayed in a small boutique hotel just before the Sheraton, so there was a bit of space shock as we entered the Sheraton lobby. As one reviewer put it, it is much like checking into a Las Vegas hotel with constant congested people flow and long check in lines. Not a quiet respite in the least, but brimming with hustle and bustle. tips: This hotel is one of the more reasonably priced ( if you can even say that in NYC) but with that price comes the price of mega bookings and people, including full airline crews. And with so many people coming in on red eyes-- and check in being a late 3 pm-- everyone wants an early check-in, which the desk staff is first to tell you. They do try their best to get you a room ASAP ( us by 1 pm). although one of the desk clerks said that the 12 pm check ut slows things down, as well as having to check in many VIPs that day. Well, this Very Unimportant Person tried another desk clerk and was met with more success and a check in. The room was cery comfortable, a good size, and the bed and A/c were perfect. higher floor afforded us some quiet, but it is amazing how much actual street noise can reach the 17th floor. Walls are relatively thin, and hall illumination through the gaps in the room door provided a glowing rectangular night light. There are always running water sounds from other floors/rooms in the bathroom, and the showerhead was definitely a water saving one, as output was small ( no relief for an aching back at all). skipped the way overpriced breakfast offering for good old Starbucks in the lobby ( comfy chairs and sofas, the usual great assortment of coffees and foodstuffs). could people watch in the lobby or look out onto 7th Ave. The doormen were very helpful/ cab service a breeze. Overall, due to the location and close proximity to the subway and attractions, a good place to stay, as we were up early and on the go.

Room Tip: Upper floors should be quieter, but no guarantee of absence of noise from this non-sleeping city. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

dwebbSimiValleyCa,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our front desk agents were able to get you into your room early! Our team is happy that our location added enjoyment and convenience to your stay and that you found our doormen friendly and helpful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a one-night/one day visit to NYC. We chose the area as we wanted to be close to both Central Park and Times Square. This property was within walking distance of both locations. As I paid for the room through a bidding website, I was very pleased with the price I paid for the room/location. Well under posted rates.

The property is older and the room size was what I would have expected in NYC...quite small but well appointed. Bed was very comfortable. We did not use any of the facilites or dining rooms at the hotel.

Not much else to say...nothing fantastic and nothing terrible to say about this Sheraton...

If you found this review helpful, please let me know below! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

VACanuck,

Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. We are glad that our central location added convenience and enjoyment to your stay. Our location is truly one of our best assets, right in the heard of midtown. We hope you chose to stay with us on your next trip to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

No problems with this hotel. Close to everything in Central NYC location. Not sure if the price is justified, but lodging in this city is expensive. Hotel staff was pleasant and professional. I'd will stay here in the future, if possible.

Room Tip: Higher rooms seem better. Some street noise from construction, but probably unavoidable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiShiJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

ShiShiJoJo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear that you will return in the future and we look forward to having you. It is always a great thing to hear that cleanliness was top notch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#185 of 473 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 473 in New York City
5,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#171 of 473 in New York City
5,637 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $187 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. Located just steps from the Theater District, our hotel in NYC sits between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing