We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$162
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$128
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$437
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$369
$316
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$137
$110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$225
$123
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,876)
Filter reviews
8,876 results
Traveler rating
2,901
3,262
1,666
606
441
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,901
3,262
1,666
606
441
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecentral parktimes squaregreat locationnew yorkbusy hotelstarbucks coffeelarge hotelfew blocksrockefeller centersubway stationhigher floorbig applestreet noiseelevatorlobbynyc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,105 - 7,110 of 8,876 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a hotel I would highly recommend. On my first visit I was advised 'get a cheap hotel, you will be out and about so much it wont matter', this is true, to a degree, but after a long day out a comfy bed is a must and the Sheeraton does not dissapoint. To be fair, I had a high room with goood views, the decor was recenty refurbished and the hotel looked spotless. The King size beds are magnificent and don't listen to people who say just get a cheap hotel, just get a comfy bed! As other reviews will testiffy, the location of this hotel is second to none, 53rd and 7th offers everything on your doorstep.

One of my favourite aspects of the hotel is the busy bustling lobby. This is what New York hotels should be like, a haven of life. New York hotels are generally functional and you will always pay for location, the Sheraton offers more than location and dismisssive reviews leave me wondering what they were not getting here!

If I had one complaint it is in the length of time it takes to get checked in. It seems there are queues every day to get to reception and I dont know why this is seemingly always so slow.

Once passed this obstacle New York is waiting for you at the front door.

I've stayed here twice and will do so again, I'm not super picky but I like clean and smart and comfy in a good location and this delivers in spades. Like I was told, you wont see too much of your hotel room if your doing New York right but what I did see of it was great.

I will stay here again and I can't offer a better review than that.

Room Tip: If you're on honeymoon tell them in advance, you never know. Higher floors seem to be refurbished more recently.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

diggers76,

Thank you for your review and the recommendation! It is great to hear that our guest rooms and amenities exceeded your expectations. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are very popular for how comfortable they are. We couldn't have said it better ourselves, our lobby can be busy at times and its a true vision of NYC. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The NYC Sheraton is a well-located , large, business class hotel north of Times Square in the Theater District. There is a very large tourist component from all over the world "
residents, but this does enhance the experience. Rooms are smallish, but well-appointed. But beware add-on charges. Overnight parking is $50, Internent access is $15 per day, and baggage checking is $3.25 per item per day before tips.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djsilversmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

djsilversmith,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our location is definitely one of our greatest assets allowing our guests to be right in the heart of NYC. Our hotel houses all types of travelers ranging from tourists to business guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay in this hotel as it is so handy for Times Square, Theater district, Central Park etc.
We were fortunate to get 3 nights for the price of 2 using lastminute.com
We also asked for a room as high up as possible and as quiet as possible.
We were offered a free upgrade at reception.
Only negative was the understaffed reception area. Had to wait 20 minutes to check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 29th floor. Seemed to us that the tourists were staying in lower floors. Separate elevators for these floors.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

tony s,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are glad to hear that you got a great deal on your room - an affordable stay is always a great thing. We hope you enjoyed your upgrade and our newly renovated guest rooms. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My newly married husband and myself travelled from western Australia to New York and Hawaii for our honeymoon. This is our first time staying with a Sheraton hotel, and we were expecting a quality above as per the name and price tag to accompany it. We arrived after 30 hours of flights and were unable to check in early as we were guaranteed when booking. The reception staff were not very welcoming, and we were not upgraded for being a honeymoon couple, also a condition made when booking, and a deciding point when choosing between this hotel and another. After waiting another 6hrs before being able to check in, red eyed and barely awake we couldn't be bothered talking to the staff regarding our disappointment with their services so far.

The room itself was extremely small and cramped. A petite woman, I could not even stand between teen the toilet and bath tub.

The room has Internet access for free which would require a cable plug in to make use of. If you wanted wifi, you would have to pay $15 per 24hrs! Not very accommodating to modern travelers who would use a tablet device such as an iPad! Get with the times please!

Our only savior to this hotel was its location! It has perfect location. Central to everything, Times Square, Central Park, there is a subway station on the side of the hotel making transport easy and accessible. However, perhaps look into the 3-4 other large branded and recognizable hotel chains next to an around the Sheraton for better facilities and service!

We are now headed to Sheraton Waikiki where the general reviews are much better and hope to find our selves experiencing greater service and a more enjoyable stay. Mahalo

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onefortheroad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Onefortheroad88,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for the lack of friendly service you experienced during your honeymoon celebration. Our check-in time is 3pm and we apologize sincerely if we were unable to get you into a clean room by that time. We would like to make this up to you and your husband. If you chose to return, please reach out to our VIP services hotline directly at 212-841-6512, so that we can ensure you have a great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My expectations were low for this mega-hotel during Midtown's busiest week of the year, with Clinton Global and UN General Assembly bringing thousands of VIPs -- and hundreds of VVIPs needing motorcades and security -- to Manhattan. However, check-in and check-out were smooth, with minimal waits.

The room was good -- not huge, but newly decorated, large closet, functional bathroom, comfortable bed. I gritted my teeth over the $15 daily internet charge, which is a rip-off in 2012, when we know the service doesn't cost the hotel even a fraction of that amount, and internet is a necessity for business travellers.

Having come by train, the lobby reminded me of nothing so much as Penn Station's abominable waiting area. Great for watching the human comedy of clueless tourists, large delegations of Asian men, multi-bag-lugging shoppers, bargain-hunting students and self-important captains of industry. But utter chaos, as every chair and horizontal sitting space is taken, suitcases and nalgene water bottles everywhere, unpleasant noise levels, and busload-sized human convoys on the move in a lobby space totally unsuited for the purpose it is now serving. With all the remodeling this place has gone through, how did the lobby become so dysfunctional?

One other thing I don't like is that the management of the hotel seems to comment breathlessly on every TridAdvisor contribution. This is a site for travelers to share reviews and impressions with each other. It's great that the management reads the reviews, but contributors do not want or need meaningless pats on the back and marketing cliches from the hotel. If we wanted to communicate with the management, we would use a different forum.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews