We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service in a Complicated City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #286 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

New York is complicated but during Fashion Week its times 2. Despite high occupancy, from the front desk at check in, thanks Lin, to the room, the upgrade, thanks Chelsea, to the club lounge, thanks Tommy, the stay could not have been better. Maria kept our room spotless even with all our time and work product this stay. The staff at this hotel wants to deliver great service, just ask them if something isn't right, they go above and beyond to deliver!

Room Tip: THE ONE THING EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THIS HOTEL: The staff at this hotel wants to deliver great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitalWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

CapitalWarrior,

Thank you for the great review. Our team works hard to make each stay a unique and pleasant experience for our guests. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, we have shining stars on our team and positive feedback like yours motivates us to be even better! Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,570 - 6,576 of 8,240 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights last week, and it was a 5 star experience, including a terrific deal on a room from Starwood. Our room was on the 28th floor looking south toward Times Square, but unfortunately had a better view of the office building across 52nd from the Sheraton than of 7th Ave. We had a clear view of the Winter Garden Theater and Manhattan Hotel across 7th as well as a partial view west toward the Hudson.

The recently renovated room was a standard king --- small, but well-appointed, with a recessed wall-mounted flat screen TV, an in-room safe, and iron & ironing board. We were able to rent a mini-fridge for a one-time $25 fee for our entire stay. We rented the fridge because the pressure sensors in the in-room refrigerator trigger a room charge even if you want to just store something. Despite the small room, it was able to accommodate 2 large suitcases, a small suitcase, a computer bag, and two carry-ons. The bed was extremely comfortable, and our room was very quiet for our whole stay. Air conditioning worked well at all times. Bathroom was small, too, but had a full tub with excellent shower, water pressure, and water drainage, as well as a good toilet (minor things like these have become major irritants for us at other hotels in the past). Another plus is that floors 21-28 have a separate bank of 4 elevators, and we never waited more than 10 seconds for an elevator during our stay.

In-room internet was $14.95 per 24 hour connection per computer. So, if you have two computers and want to connect both, it’s $14.95 per computer. Internet access in the room was excellent, and it was invaluable for subway trip planning and research on sights, shows, and restaurants. Also, there’re 3 computers (45 min. free for guests) and a laser printer (5 pages free for guests) in the Link center in the lobby lounge where Starbucks is. I used it half a dozen times and never waited for a computer or the printer.

We didn’t use many services, but what we did use was excellent, especially front desk, bell service, doormen, and hotel operator. Check-in took about 5 minutes on Saturday at about 5 pm, and Milly was extremely helpful at checkout. We asked for the mini-fridge at check-in and got it about 5 minutes after arriving at our room. Housekeeping was very good, but we had a minor glitch on our 2nd day with insufficient washcloths, and it took 3 calls to guest services to get them. The location on 7th and 53rd is about as good as it gets for Midtown---5 short blocks to Time Square, 6 short blocks to Central Park, 2 blocks to the Theater District, Carnegie Deli, and Le Bernardin; and 4 blocks to Rockefeller Center & NBC Studios. If you want to see the Late Show, the Ed Sullivan Theater is about 1 1/2 blocks away. Also the 7th and 53rd subway station (B,D,E trains) is 1/2 block from the hotel entrance. If you need these services, there are a Rite Aid Pharmacy and a post office about 2 blocks from each other, both about 2 blocks west of the hotel.

This not a luxury hotel, and if that's what you're looking for, this will probably not meet your needs. However, for us the hotel was an outstanding value, having everything we wanted. The Sheraton will be at the top of the list for our next visit.

Room Tip: On our floor, I think rooms 2801 and 2802 would have had best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bosox2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

bosox2004 ,

Thank you for the great review. We love to hear that you had a 5 star experience, that means we have achieved our goal! We are pleased that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations. Our Link area in the lobby is a great way for guests to access travel and personal info and we are glad you were able to utilize this. Our team appreciates your kind words on our staff and we hope to see you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were a group of 29 ladies staying at the New York Sheraton. This is a really nice and clean hotel. It is close to everything including getting on the subway. Tim Hortons is a 2min walk for us Canadian's. Did not eat at the hotel because there is so many restaraunts close by. Bar staff is very friendly and fast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineKenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

SunshineKenora,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that our facilities and amenities met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our central location is ideal for site seeing and experiencing the true feel of NYC. Being right in the heart of midtown is on of the best New York experiences there is! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed four nights. Easy ten minute walk to Times Square or opposite direction to Central Park. MOMA and MAD are 10 minute walks as well. Metro stop is a couple blocks away. Walk a block in any direction and plenty of places to grab a bite to eat, including a 24 hour deli/store with great selection and reasonable prices. Room was nice, clean, comfortable. On 35th floor 3/4 of view was wall of windows into offices (pull the shades to change your clothes during the workday!) and 1/4 was view towards Times Sqare. Linens smelled fine and bed very comfortable. Have to rate sleep quality "4" only because husband had to wear earplugs for street noise/elevator whooshing up and down. I slept fine without plugs. Starbucks coffee pods and tea in room to help get the day going. Wish there was wifi free in room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Pam D,

Thank you for reviewing our property. Our location is ideal for a site seeing trip to NYC, just a few blocks from Times Square and Central Park and as you pointed out, very close to several transit routes. We are glad you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good room – spacious, clean. Good view from 50th floor.

Healthy breakfast in club lounge – limited but healthy choice - they have eggs, juices, porridge, some fruits (banana, apples), cereal, tea and coffee

Service - suffers... I left an item for overnight laundry, and at 7am it was not in my room as promised the night before. At 7.10, I just wanted to find out what’s happening, and during the next 20 minutes I tried to speak to reception, concierge, operator, laundry...everyone was happy to transfer me to someone else. No one knew where the shirt was, and no one wanted to deal with this ‘search’. It exposed a total chaos in this hotel.

When I told the next day not to charge $18 for this service, the receptionist deleted it at once even without understanding what happened... such things probably occur there on a daily basis.

Overall feel in this hotel is that it’s so large that it’s difficult to provide a truly good service. One certainly does not feel any luxury here.

Room Tip: Ask for 50th floor. View may vary so ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Valux01,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive words on our newly renovated rooms, our new design was developed with our guests in mind to maximize comfort and space. It is great to know that you enjoyed our Club Lounge breakfast and the great views from the 50th floor! We sincerely apologize for the timely issue with your shirt and we hope this does not change your feelings about our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel was super nice, BUT SOOOOOOOO BUSY!
Hotel is right in times square, perfect for tourist and those who want to sight see!!!!
Rooms were small, but very nice, neat, clean and organized.
Rooms gave amazing views of time square!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sunkissedslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

sunkissedslu,

Thank you for the great feedback. Our location truly says it all, we are right in the middle of everything midtown has to offer. We have a great location for travelers wanting to experience the best of NYC, close to sites, attractions and major transit. We appreciate the feedback on our newly renovated rooms, we love our new look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

2nd time in NYC. We wanted to stay close to Time Square. We are not disappointed in the location. Within a few blocks of Times Square and Central Park. Close to all the attractions. Now for the hotel. Lobby very nice, staff very accomodating. Check in took less than 5 minutes. Room is small, but heck it is NYC. Clean, modern looking. I booked thru Priceline, for 269 at night plus tax. Great deal I thought since we stayed just down the street last year at the "W" for almost 500 a night. Very nice and comfy bed. We almost booked the Wellington, walked into the lobby last night, glad we didn't. :) We are happy, you will be too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton_ILCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Clinton_ILCruiser,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were not disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Having a great check-in experience is the best way to start a trip! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
5,505 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,737 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#172 of 469 in New York City
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#179 of 469 in New York City
5,356 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,130 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $213 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing