We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #288 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice and good location”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed four nights. Easy ten minute walk to Times Square or opposite direction to Central Park. MOMA and MAD are 10 minute walks as well. Metro stop is a couple blocks away. Walk a block in any direction and plenty of places to grab a bite to eat, including a 24 hour deli/store with great selection and reasonable prices. Room was nice, clean, comfortable. On 35th floor 3/4 of view was wall of windows into offices (pull the shades to change your clothes during the workday!) and 1/4 was view towards Times Sqare. Linens smelled fine and bed very comfortable. Have to rate sleep quality "4" only because husband had to wear earplugs for street noise/elevator whooshing up and down. I slept fine without plugs. Starbucks coffee pods and tea in room to help get the day going. Wish there was wifi free in room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pam D,

Thank you for reviewing our property. Our location is ideal for a site seeing trip to NYC, just a few blocks from Times Square and Central Park and as you pointed out, very close to several transit routes. We are glad you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,566
    2,952
    1,481
    520
    356
See reviews for
2,490
1,980
287
1,654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good room – spacious, clean. Good view from 50th floor.

Healthy breakfast in club lounge – limited but healthy choice - they have eggs, juices, porridge, some fruits (banana, apples), cereal, tea and coffee

Service - suffers... I left an item for overnight laundry, and at 7am it was not in my room as promised the night before. At 7.10, I just wanted to find out what’s happening, and during the next 20 minutes I tried to speak to reception, concierge, operator, laundry...everyone was happy to transfer me to someone else. No one knew where the shirt was, and no one wanted to deal with this ‘search’. It exposed a total chaos in this hotel.

When I told the next day not to charge $18 for this service, the receptionist deleted it at once even without understanding what happened... such things probably occur there on a daily basis.

Overall feel in this hotel is that it’s so large that it’s difficult to provide a truly good service. One certainly does not feel any luxury here.

Room Tip: Ask for 50th floor. View may vary so ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Valux01,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive words on our newly renovated rooms, our new design was developed with our guests in mind to maximize comfort and space. It is great to know that you enjoyed our Club Lounge breakfast and the great views from the 50th floor! We sincerely apologize for the timely issue with your shirt and we hope this does not change your feelings about our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel was super nice, BUT SOOOOOOOO BUSY!
Hotel is right in times square, perfect for tourist and those who want to sight see!!!!
Rooms were small, but very nice, neat, clean and organized.
Rooms gave amazing views of time square!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunkissedslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
sunkissedslu,

Thank you for the great feedback. Our location truly says it all, we are right in the middle of everything midtown has to offer. We have a great location for travelers wanting to experience the best of NYC, close to sites, attractions and major transit. We appreciate the feedback on our newly renovated rooms, we love our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, IL
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

2nd time in NYC. We wanted to stay close to Time Square. We are not disappointed in the location. Within a few blocks of Times Square and Central Park. Close to all the attractions. Now for the hotel. Lobby very nice, staff very accomodating. Check in took less than 5 minutes. Room is small, but heck it is NYC. Clean, modern looking. I booked thru Priceline, for 269 at night plus tax. Great deal I thought since we stayed just down the street last year at the "W" for almost 500 a night. Very nice and comfy bed. We almost booked the Wellington, walked into the lobby last night, glad we didn't. :) We are happy, you will be too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton_ILCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Clinton_ILCruiser,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were not disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Having a great check-in experience is the best way to start a trip! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for five nights. We had a room on the 44th floor (4432). We had a club level room because my husband is a SPG platinum member. There was a lounge on the 44th floor where they offered breakfast and happy hour available every day. This was nice so when we were tired after sightseeing and just wanted a snack. The location was very good because it was close to major attractions or close by by taxi or subway.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level room so you can escape the hum of traffic and urban noise. From the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doglover2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Doglover2011_11,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As an SPG member we truly appreciate your loyalty and are happy you enjoyed our club experience. Our club lounge is a great place to take in great views, have a snack or a drink and just relax. We are lucky to have such a wonderful location as you said, it is right in the middle of everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Sheraton New York hotel September 14 - 17th. The lobby is very spacious, the room was very clean and well appointed. We had a fantastic view which included Central Park. I did not have much interaction with the staff at the hotel other than checkin/out. However, those interactions were very friendly and the overall comraderie I observed between the staff was good. I would particularly like to mention Ms. Brittany Markwis who went above and beyond to make me feel welcome and valued as a Starwood Preferred Guest. The location of this hotel is wonderful! You are close enough to Times Square to walk but far enough away so as not to hear the noise from your room. Shops and restaurants are all close by. I can't say enough good things about our weekend which was enhanced by the location and great weather and was taken over the top by the wonderful accommodations! You can't go wrong staying at this renovated Sheraton property!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riajohn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Riajohn02,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your time here. We are so proud of our newly renovated rooms and we love to hear positive things from our guests! There is nothing better than knowing that we added to your great NYC experience! Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is perfect: close to Central park, next to times square, next to fifth avenue and madisson.
Rooms are OK (tipical Sheraton rooms).
Incredible view from room: parkview, chryslerbuilding and empírea state building.
The concierge desktop really makes the difference: they are very friendly and know all the best tours, clubs, restaurants, etc... They even obtained discounts for helicopter tours.
Negative point: you have to cross the street for the swimming pool.

For me this is the best value when staying in NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, with park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
tomBCN,

Thank you for giving us your feedback. Our location really is an ideal place to stay for anyone who wants to see the best of NYC! It is great that you were able to stay in one of our rooms with a view, being in a central midtown location allows us to see so much of the city. We appreciate your positive words on our concierge desk - they are a wonderful asset to us and our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
5,283 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,333 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#321 of 467 in New York City
8,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing