We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #287 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you want a good night's sleep and some space, this is the hotel for you. Location is amazing...walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, and several trains. Wouldn't mind staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coconino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

coconino1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities met your needs and expectations. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are very popular with our guests! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,793 - 6,799 of 8,468 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

So I have already reviewed this hotel and found it lacking several months ago. But we were recently given the opportunity to return and were pleasantly surprised by the experience. We stayed this past weekend for 2 nights in a club level suite. Brand new updated room with plenty of room for my husband and 2 year old. The check in process was very smooth and much quicker than before. Special kudos to Damien- our bellman- who was so excited to give our daughter crayons and a coloring book on check in. (She used that book all weekend:-)
If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend this club level 1 bedroom suite. (we were in room 4531). There was a small living room with comfortable updated furnishings and a large (for NYC) bedroom with very comfortable King sized bed. You could close pocket doors to the living room which allowed us to relax and watch TV after we put our daughter to bed. The bathroom was nicely updated and large with a huge shower (for NYC) and separate tub area.
It was really easy to get up in the am and go 1 club level down and grab a continental breakfast and there were plenty of toddler friendly selections. Housekeeping was great and made up our room by 9am both days. All in all, it was a fantastic weekend and I very much enjoyed our stay. So glad we gave this hotel another chance.

Cons: This is a busy hotel in a touristy location. If you are looking for a boutique hotel experience, this is not it. Lots of NYC tourists. Its also tricky to get a cab from this location in the early evening heading uptown.

Room Tip: Club level suite is the way to go and you might even get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jktravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

jktravelbug,

Thank you for the review. It is great to hear that you returned to our hotel and had a good experience. Our club level rooms offer a unique and more luxurious experience and we are glad you enjoyed it. We appreciate your kind words regarding our bellman and we look forward to passing on the word to them. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here in August for a convention being held a the Hilton down the street. My friend and I shared a double bed room on the 16th floor. We initially checked and went to our room to discover that someone else was already checked into that room! A reminder to everyone as to why you shouldn't leave valuables in your room. Another thought on their security ... I was able to walk into the checked luggage area and put things in and out of my bags that were left in an overflow area to the side several times without anyone noticing me. Didn't make me feel real comfortable leaving electronics in it so I took them out. No one questioned me at all.

On our second room a dirty washcloth was left behind by housekeeping but everything else was in order.

The beds were comfortable, as always, for a Sheraton and everything else was OK. This is a hotel in the middle of NYC and as long as you go in knowing that most NYC rooms are small, on the expensive side, and you need to be careful with your things, you will enjoy your trip.

This hotel is in a good location for easy walking to Times Square.

We paid $230 a night on a conference rate. I marked 'average' on pool and spa because that should be n/a for me....in fact, not sure they even have them?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Barb L,

Thank you for the review. On behalf of our team we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our property. Our front desk team should have paid more attention before checking you into a room and we are addressing this issue with them. The level of attention and service you received is not the norm for us and we hope you will return for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I wrote a less than stellar review on this property last year due to service, but came back as we got a good deal online.

Service was wonderful, check in was super easy and couldn't be friendlier. The entire check in process was much improved and very efficient. There were a ton of people working which made the wait less than a minute.

The room was very nice and a nice size for NYC, great city views!

We had a great time at this hotel, would certainly recommend it to others. In a great location, close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Elisabeth24,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There is nothing better than hearing that your experience was a positive one from the start. We are glad to see that you gave us another chance and we met your needs and expectations. Our number one goal is guest satisfaction and it looks like we have succeeded! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed for 1 night this past weekend and while the hotel itself was overall clean and most of the staff was good to encounter, I had 1 incident that takes the cake.

After returning to my room from dinner and drinks around 1230am I found my sheets to not be clean. I phoned the front desk as it was late and I wanted to go to sleep. They said someone would be right up and they would give me 2500 starwood points for the inconvenience. 20 minutes later I had to call again because no one had arrived and at that late hour I just wanted to be comfortable. When someone did come up, they were going to have my change the sheets instead of taking care of it for me. The gentleman did change the sheets but he stunk of cigarette smoke like he was just coming off of the break and was definitely not happy that he had to actually do something other than give me the sheets.

Otherwise my trip was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

tamf2010,

Thank you for sharing your experience. On behalf of our team we apologize for the negative experience you had with us. We can assure you that the level of service you experienced is not the norm for us and we would like to make things right. We hope you will return so that we can give you the experience and service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After getting over seeing a cockroach walking across the bathroom floor as we stepped into our room, this hotel is your average big chain hotel in a big city. Great location just north of Times Squate and just a few blocks south of Central Park. If you are a runner do not miss the opportunity to take a morning jog through Central Park,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

This review was addressed offline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tourist location, so a bit busy but central to lots of sights, restaurants, gray line bus tour stop and taxi rank. We stayed in a standard room, which was nicely decorated, 2 x very comfy double beds, tea/coffee maker, hair drier, iron, so more than adequate. Ice machine on every floor. We didn't find the bar very welcoming, rather dark, but apart from that, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

MacD4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is one of the best, right in the middle of all the major NYC attractions. We are so proud of our newly renovated guest rooms, we like to hear that our guests enjoy them too. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#177 of 470 in New York City
5,478 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 470 in New York City
2,767 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#131 of 470 in New York City
5,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 470 in New York City
9,892 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing