We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy hotel near Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Busy hotel near Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After getting over seeing a cockroach walking across the bathroom floor as we stepped into our room, this hotel is your average big chain hotel in a big city. Great location just north of Times Squate and just a few blocks south of Central Park. If you are a runner do not miss the opportunity to take a morning jog through Central Park,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
This review was addressed offline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    2,683
    1,364
    474
    314
See reviews for
2,207
1,826
247
1,464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CHANNEL ISLANDS JERSEY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tourist location, so a bit busy but central to lots of sights, restaurants, gray line bus tour stop and taxi rank. We stayed in a standard room, which was nicely decorated, 2 x very comfy double beds, tea/coffee maker, hair drier, iron, so more than adequate. Ice machine on every floor. We didn't find the bar very welcoming, rather dark, but apart from that, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
MacD4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is one of the best, right in the middle of all the major NYC attractions. We are so proud of our newly renovated guest rooms, we like to hear that our guests enjoy them too. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the very beginning at the reception desk to the staff who did the rooms to the LINK cafe and bar the stay was outstanding. We had a problem with our in room safe, they sent a polite and knowledgeable maintenance man in 15 minutes. We needed decaf coffee and we got it. The room was immaculate every day and done in a timely manner. The only problem was the in hotel dining which was more of a buffet - can't rate the food because we never ate there- we prefer to be served..

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAH6145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
CAH6145,

Thank you for the feedback. It is great to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to make each guest experience a great one and it appears they have succeeded. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to passing them on. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel has undergone a refurb programme over the last couple of years. The rooms are not so tired now, but the work was clearly done to a budget and not to a standard.

For SPG platinum members there is a club lounge. Not as generous as others in the group, and crowded at happy hour times. The bar has been reduced in size and Marta (legendary barmaid from the 80s through 2010) has now retired... so it's just not the same.

Breakfast in the Hudson's restaurant is copious.. definitely quantity and quality.

Outside, the American tipping culture really gets on your nerves, as a team of Sheraton flunkeys fight to hail you a taxi and then demand payment for it. I had the nerve to move up the street a little and hail my own, and got a stream of abuse for it. For that reason only, one star for service.

Room Tip: [Temporary advice] try to get a refurbished room. And keep your hands on your valuables at all time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Frank C,

Thank you for your review. Our renovation has given us a whole new look and was designed with our guests in mind. Feedback from our guests is always appreciated as the new rooms are designed to maximize space and comfort. We do apologize for the experience you had outside of our hotel, that is not the type of service we strive for. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great location. Good rooms. Good amenities. Spent the week here with the family and it work just fine. Lots of tours coming and going but we enjoyed it for what it was. Walked to Central Park, theater district, and the shopping on madison ave. All in all it was a good place to be and I have no complaints. I would stay here again and recommend it for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-S1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Michael-S1234,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love getting positive feedback from our guests and knowing that our hotel was a great place for you and your family. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of all midtown has to offer! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location in the heart of all the buzz.
Comfortable clean bedding. 
Clean towels and bathroom.
Very Small room. 
A lobby as crowded as grand central station.
What else do you expect from a hotel room in New York city?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backtowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Backtowork,

Thank you for the review. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of all that midtown has to offer. It is good to know that our guest rooms and facilities met your expectations during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our stay at this hotel started out very poorly. The woman at the front desk who assisted me was very surly. At no time did she smile, thank me, or even acknowledge my presence beyond what was absolutely necessary. It was downhill from there.

Our room was a single queen bedroom that was very small by even New York standards. The space between the foot of the bed and the dresser/TV was barely wide enough to roll my suitcase through. The space between the bed and window was equally tight, as was the entryway into the room. If being in close quarters bothers you at all, stay away from this hotel.The only redeeming feature of the room was that it was clean.

Besides being extremely cramped, the room is noisy. If you are one who wants to sleep in in the morning, as the New Yorkers would say, "Forgetaboutit". You will be awakened by the sound of doors slamming closed. The hallway is very narrow, so whatever is going on in the hallway can be heard in the room.The doors are very heavy and the automatic door closure mechanism causes them to slam shut, creating a very loud noise that resonates throughout the hallway. When housekeeping and occupants open and shut their doors, it sounds like you are in a jail and cell doors are slamming shut.

Because I was only there for two nights, I did not ask to be moved to another room. Perhaps other rooms in the hotel are larger and more quiet. Regardless, the behavior of the front desk clerk was enough to keep me from considering this hotel for a future stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slchhonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
slchhonor,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. First and foremost, we would like to apologize for the lack of service you experienced beginning at check-in. The level of service and friendliness you experienced is not what we strive for and for that we are sorry. We would like a chance to make things right and sincerely hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing