We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Silver Creek, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So Convenient!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My daughter and I went to NYC for a few days recently. We stayed at the Hotel. We were very pleased. It was so convenient to the "action"! Within walking distance to great shopping, shows, theater and food. The only thing I didn't understand was why they didn't have a complimentary breakfast...had to pay for everything...even internet in our room...although you could go to the lobby and use it free. Overall it is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We went on the 11th floor....was afraid it would be noisy at night being on Times Square but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear JoAnn W,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to learn that the location of the Hotel was convenient and that you were pleased with your stay experience. We look forward to hosting you again should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    2,057
    1,443
    631
    531
See reviews for
2,375
2,112
291
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Manhattan at Times Square is in a great location - just up from the hub of all the action. Plenty of Deli's and shopping all around. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is a bit run down now and could do with an upgrade, elevator system old and slow. However the rooms were clean. We shared a room with our teenage boys which we found cramped for four of us, however when travelling on a budget this met the criteria. Wifi expensive so used free wifi in other places. Breakfast very expensive so we used local deli's. Really enjoyed having the coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Dustygirl44,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and want you to know that we are making some enhancements at the Hotel and are currently in the process of modernizing our elevators. We appreciate your understanding while we go through this process and look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

In 2013, we stayed at the Manhattan Hotel on times square in New York. They were undergoing renovations, but we figured they would still have a sense for customer service. There was a lot of noise, the bell men were rude, the wait time to get our bags once we checked out and prior to departing for the airport was really bad, since they housed these bags in some guest rooms on upper floors. They finally had to ask us to go to those rooms to find our bags. As is the norm, when a hotel is undergoing renovations, there will be some inconveniences, so that is not the real issue. The issue I have is what they do after they know of shortcomings. Well I simply wrote about my experience, seeing that it was a special personal occassion I was in New York for. Shortly after, I got an email from the Guest Experiences manager there, apologizing and appearing genuine in her quest to secure my loyalty, by offering a discounted rate (30% off the lowest rate) the next time I was there. I took that at face value and was prepared to give her the benefit of at least following up on my experience. When I decided to to go back to New York, I decided I would email her to see if she was true to her word...To my surprise, I didnt get a response to my two emails. At the end of July 2014 I plan to go to New York again and again, wrote to her to see if maybe last time, she might have been away. Again, no response at all. I feel that if she wasn't prepared to make amends, then no empty promises should have been made. This makes me feel that she had to respond to the original note so she can let her boss know that all is okay, but not have to follow through on the commitments or hope I never show up there again. Well, the non response clearly tells me that The Manhattan hotel does not take Customer retention seriously. Frankly for the price, I was and continue to be much more satisfied with the Sheraton at Times Square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Al n n,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. While it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, your comments are instrumental in helping us in our endeavor of achieving total guest satisfaction. We apologize for not being responsive to your e-mails and ask you to please contact me or any of our Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com so that we have the opportunity to communicate with you directly.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just want to thank Ron at the concierge desk for all his help in getting my Mom a wheelchair so that we could get her around the city and enjoy the sites. The staff at this hotel are great! It was our second time staying here with many more to come. Thanks again Ron...we miss you and hope you enjoyed the ice cream bar! Joanne Vargas and Phyllis Welsh

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Joanne V,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review. We are delighted to know you had a pleasant experience at the Hotel. I will share your appreciation with Ron and the team as we anxiously look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Outstanding location in the heart of midtown. Walking distance to everything worth seeing in Midtown. No restaurant (breakfast bar available in lobby), but that is just fine with us. Why eat in hotel restaurants when you have the whole city to work with? Staff was very cordial and helpful.
Also, this is a great value for NYC. Spend your money on food, drink, and theater - not on the hotel.
Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Did the whole reservation on line. They follow up with email specials and reminders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Dough L,

Thank you for posting 5 star review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and appreciate your feedback to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Air in the room didn't work. Door was heavy and hard to open. Only stayed for two days so didn't bring it up to the front desk. Their website said they offered rides to the airport, but when I asked they told me they couldn't get a shuttle in time for my flight. Would have been nice to know I needed to let them know early. They also didn't bring up any of the hotels services.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank eaterooeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Eaterooeo,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our services for future travelers. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you on your return to the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Location was great if you're looking to be close to everything, staff was great, only one complaint- wifi shouldn't be that costly and if you're paying for it you should be able to use more than two devices on it at the same time- otherwise definitely recommend!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hanz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hanz95,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review about your recent stay. We appreciate your wonderful comments and your recommendation of our Hotel to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,522 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,016 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,969 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing