We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security deposits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #298 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here with my two daughters over the new year. When we checked in we were asked for credit card to pay a security deposit which would be returned to card at end of stay. I have sent several emails to the hotel and today (4months later) I still did not get back my security deposit. When we were checking in I asked if they wanted it in cash and they said no. 180dollars we paid deposit. Be careful if you are asked for deposit because you won't get it back.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony overlooking time square
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Kathryn O,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Hotel. We are concerned about your comments and ask that you contact us directly on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com so that we can resolve your billings concerns immediately.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,488)
There are newer reviews for The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,191 - 4,197 of 7,490 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The best cost - benefit relation in a hotel at new york city. Dont expect breakfast included or free wi-fi (not even in the lobby). close to all the attractions (broadway, times square, MoMa, central park)

Room Tip: ask for king size bed
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmarTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Andrea R,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that the location of the Hotel was to your liking and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hi
The hotel hash a great location. The suite was very well could tell she was newly renovated.
Very polite staff.
Value for money is very good.
These close to everything,theaters ,restaurants,shops.
A few blocks from Madison Square .
Repeat when I return .
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Alicia L,

Thank you for posting a review. Your positive comments are appreciated and we are delighted to know that you will come back for a return stay when in New York. We look forward to hosting you on your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Manhattan at Times Square. This hotel was chosen for us via Hotwire and ended up with a great price for a Times Square hotel. The location is excellent if you want to be right in the middle of Times Square hustle and bustle. The service we received from the staff was excellent. Although very busy the front desk agent at check in was very helpful and took a few minutes to explain all the hotel amenities. Conveniently, there is a parking garage located behind the hotel so parking is not a problem.
The room we stayed in on the 14th floor was acceptable, considering the price we payed. The air conditioning system was marginal at best. I thought the TV had a rabbit ear antenna because the signal was so weak.
As another reviewer stated, this is not a resort. It's a fine hotel if you just need a place to crash while exploring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Gary C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very Happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 as part of a long weekend package deal. After initially being put into a room next to the lifts we asked for a change of room. 10 mins later we were in a much better room.
All in all the experience was very pleasant and if you're looking to stay in a centrally based hotel offering easy access to the major attractions in New York then you can't go wrong. Situated on 7th Avenue and 51st, Central Park, Times Square, the major museums, Rockafeller Centre, Carnegie Hall, Grand Central, Empire State all within easy walking distance.
If it's grandeur you're looking for then look elsewhere, but if you're after a convenient, value for money hotel then this would be a good choice. For our 4 night stay, considering we spent a lot of our time seeing the sights, this hotel was ideal.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not next to a lift
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianE556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear AdrianE556,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are happy to learn from your comments that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at the Hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that I stayed here. Yes, this property is aging and there is some construction going on. However you can't beat price and location.
This is not a resort where you will spend your time. You are in NYC so chances are this just a place to sleep for 6-8 hours and get out again. For that this hotel is just fine.
We were there is spring and fall and heat/ AC was not an issue for us.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Rossar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Rossar,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that you chose our Hotel for a return stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Driving into a city like New York always gives me quite a bit of anxiety, but the Manhattan in Times Square was thankfully very easy to access and park near. The location is extremely convenient to everything the area has to offer and their rates are very affordable, but that's unfortunately all the positive things I really have to say about it. The halls and rooms are rather dingy, air conditioning is borderline ineffectual, and the television signal is weak and scrambled. The door to our room was loose so it would rattle every time another door near us was closed. Housekeeping was still working around our room even though we arrived past check-in, and rudely tried to remove our fridge before realizing we could keep it at no extra cost. My overall impression of the hotel is that it's very disorganized and not well-kept.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank acutler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Acutler6,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to learn from your feedback that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and sincerely apologize for your unfavorable experience. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#390 of 468 in New York City
4,453 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 468 in New York City
9,671 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#271 of 468 in New York City
4,063 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#286 of 468 in New York City
8,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing