We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Tullibody
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal central location”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Rooms are in need of a make over but comfortable ,maid service daily changed bed linen and towels . The bathroom has no extractor fan so bathrooms do become very steamy . Front desk staff and all other staff very helpful . This hotel is in a great location great price for the room ideal for what we needed a place to sleep we would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Esther R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel and the service you received met your needs. We look forward to serving you again should you travel back to New York City.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    2,073
    1,464
    645
    554
See reviews for
2,421
2,139
294
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Got in at 7:00 am was very greatful they gave us an early check in time. I however, was not that happy that there were still people in the room the assigned to us. They did quickly change our room moving us to the tenth floor. The room was very small and dirty carpets were exceptionally dirty. The shower head tilted to the right and would not move so you had to crane your neck over to wash your hair. The heat in the room was unbearable at times, we called down the front desk asking how to turn the air conditioning on they told us it is permanently shut off in April and to open our window. The traffic in times square is very loud but the cool air was still better than over heating all night. Our lights were almost all broken or did not work and the TV was hit and miss. Front desk and hotel staff were excellent very friendly and helpful. Excellent location could not ask for better. I guess for our needs it was ok just a place to rest our heads and get some rest to see New York. Not sure if I would stay in the hotel again jury is out on that one. Oh coffee bar in lobby is very nice Starbucks coffee and teas along with fruit and pastries again staff very very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is clean and that all amenities in the room are working properly ie lights and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Colleen A,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to learn that your stay experience was not a memorable one. Your comments were shared with the team in an effort to correct and improve upon our service delivery for all future guest stays. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you should your travels bring you back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Manhattan on the 17th March 14 for a week long holiday. Initial impression was that the hotel was in a good location and it's didn't look too bad from the outside. The foyer and reception had clearly recently been renovated but was always more like a train station than a hotel reception. People sleeping on the limited amount of seating with luggage strewn around in what I assume was in effort to bridge the gap between check out and flights. Fair enough but this is the first thing you see as you enter. The reception failed to even acknowledge the fact it was in fact our honeymoon despite being clear on our tickets. (Virgin were amazing and gave us a free upgrade on the flights) The hotel has a number of lifts to the rooms and the wait for them can vary dependant on the time of day but this was not an issue overall. We were on the 9th floor. I learnt throughout the week that the higher you got the worse the rooms and decor got. If you wish to stay here the lower floors have been painted at least. The first thing we noticed upon exiting the lift to our room was the overwhelmingly strong smell of cannabis. This continued for the whole week. Our room was dated but relatively clean. The heating didn't work and blew out cold air in the already -1 temperatures. The carpets didn't fit correctly and the coffee machine was broken. There was also a dangerous socket in the bathroom which was cracked exposing electrical connections. We used this once and the plug got red hot. The hotel foyer has a ticket stand for broadway and sporting events etc and we found that they offered us tickets for $100 more than the ticket office on times sq so shop around. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Its not 5 star we were expecting. But we did pay for 3 star and didn't get that either. We are not well travelled and I'm not one to write reviews in fact this is my first but I'd visit this hotel with caution. Having looked since there are far better places to stay for similar money. Very very disappointing

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Chris D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that the service you received during your stay is not the type of experience we want our guest to receive at the Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short on delivering you a favorable stay experience. We hope you give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Clark, Pampanga, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rooms are a bit outdated (no exhaust fan in the bathroom), but price and location were excellent so we gave it a try. A cab from the airport (LGA) was $44, w/o tip, and approximately 30 mins. Or you can take the subway/bus (stops at all airport gates) for $5. If you plan on spending your time enjoying the city and aren't looking for a fancy room, this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Loni L,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your comments and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again should your travels being you to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed this past weekend, April 11th-13th. We arrived and Rose Jean checked us in. She was very polite but formal. Warm/happy...not so much. We went to our room. Room temp 79. I lowered the thermostat, went out,came back two hours later the temp was 78. Next day, down to the front desk. Met Iriana the Manager on Duty. Told her of the air issue and the bathroom was dirty and tub enclosure was ripped. She was very warm and apologetic and switched our room. She told us that we could move then but that we could change when we returned at 2pm since she blocked out the room.
We returned at 2:20pm and found out from Rose Jean that the room "was not ready". Placed us in another open room. That room was just as bad. The windows opened up 2". No air movement. Also the air vent in the bathroom, which circulates the air, was covered over with thick dust. There was mold in the shower and also on the ceiling, which was painted over.
The hotel had a great location, the people were polite but the hotel is horrible. Remember,if you do not sleep well the night before you probably won't enjoy the next day the way you should.
We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms may be nicer. The elevator area had tile, the upper floors had old worn carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Raymond16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear 1Raymond16,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed that your stay at the Hotel was not favorable and apologize for any inconvenience you were put through at the Hotel. Please know that we take all our guest comments seriously in an effort to correct and improve our services for all future guest stays. We hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Myself and a few pals recently stayed at "The Manhattan" as part of a recent trip to New York. We found the hotel to be the most ideal location for the places we wanted to visit (Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue). Check-in was very easy and well catered for by the staff who were very friendly and helpful. We were led to our room by another staff member who was also very pleasant. Our room overlooked the front (784th) which was impressive to loo out over and allowed you to watch traffic down to Times Square.

The room itself was fine if a little dated but the beds were very comfy. We were also able to use free wi-fi in the room which was handy for sharing our pictures to those back home.

I don't know if there was a restaurant or pool as we were barely in the room and spent most of our time out exploring but if I were to come back I would consider the Manhattan in the first instance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Simon D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to know that your first trip to New York was an enjoyable experience and the location of the Hotel suited your needs. We are also pleased to know that you would return to the Hotel should you visit New York again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here Thurs April 10-12th in room 2045. Check in was smooth, warm and welcoming thanks to Senka! A big thank you goes to the hskp ladies who cleaned my room! I couldn't see a speck of dust anywhere! Nice and clean!! Thank you to the nice lady at the coffee lounge and thank you to the theatre desk lady who helped us with directions to Century 21 store and and as well to the bellmen!
Pros: friendly staff who enjoy going above and beyond, clean room, location, and perfect room view I thought.
Cons: The hotel interior and room interior is old looking. Instead of wood in the elevators making it look dark, it would be nice to see mirrors in there to at least brighten it up. The room itself is basic. A good renovation would brighten up the room, having new wallpaper, new carpeting, different color of bathroom tiling, some minor paint touch ups. The towels were super thin. I would of liked them to be more fluffy. And it would be nice to have a service directory in the room.
I understand it is challenging to do renovations in the busiest part of the city. Even if they started little by little per floor, it would make a huge difference!!
I would stay here again because of the friendly hard working staff especially the room attendants. And of course the location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for posting a positive review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#385 of 467 in New York City
4,194 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 467 in New York City
9,455 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
18,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,011 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,494 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing