We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service goes a long way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #298 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Customer Service goes a long way!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I LOVED my stay at this hotel. Even though there were minor things that got in the way (safe not working, hot water running out, thin walls) the customer service definitely made up for it!!! The people working there always had a smile on their faces and went out of their ways to help us immediately with any questions and/or concerns. The room/bathroom was also very clean and staff was very accommodating. The hotel is located at a prime location and extremely affordable! Special shout out to Mohammad (@ the reception desk) who went above and beyond for us and made our stay at the hotel even more comfortable and convenient. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and anyone else visiting NYC.

Room Tip: the 5th floor is all renovated!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Fmn123,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know that the service you received during your stay was a positive experience. We look forward to providing the same kind of service to your family and friends should their travels bring them to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    2,066
    1,461
    643
    551
See reviews for
2,409
2,133
293
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Having booked this hotel before i looked at TripAdviser I became concerned about the negative comments i had seen. To put my own mind at ease I contacted the hotel directly via email, and I'm glad i did!! Checked in by the ever so helpful Alison and the concerns i had vanished.

We were put in a renovated room on the 21st floor (2132) which i believe was a free upgrade to a deluxe room. The room was extremely spacious, clean and the beds were to die for!! Enisa the housekeeper was great, replenishing the stock of coffee and towels, etc, every day and was very friendly. The free wifi is only in the lobby and as i was in a new room the log-in didn't recognise the room number but the reception staff sorted this by putting in their password into my device so that it worked. Saying that, the lobby can get a bit busy but there's a Starbucks around the corner so I would just go to that if i couldn't get a seat.

The elevators did tend to take their time but i guess this is understandable due to the hotel being quite popular.

The location of this hotel is great. You've got a choice of subway lines within a few blocks so getting around is absolutely no problem.

As we had a night flight we were able to check in our bags so that we could have a last jaunt through the city. Mohammed dealt with us on check-out so that it was as smooth a process as possible.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first trip to NYC, especially at this hotel, and have in fact recommended it to a friend who is staying here in December.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Pollyscott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your positive experience at the Hotel. We are delighted that we were able to meet your needs with both location and the service you received from the team at the Hotel. We eagerly look forward to welcoming your friend to our Hotel when he visits New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a trip. New York really is a great and must have experience. The hotel was perfect. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The location was amazing. Ten minute walk to the left in central park/national history museum. 5 min straight on at Rockerfella centre, And then within 10 min to your right you have times square, empire state building, Madison square garden. Would def go back and recommend. So much to do. Woodbury shopping centre is a must. I was picking up Ralph Lauren shirts usually £125 here for $69 so £40. I noticed some negative reviews but if your going to New York I have to question the people that want to spend so much time in the hotel. There is so much to do.

Room Tip: Originally we was put on the 11th floor and the rooms was not great and not the rooms advertised on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review about your hotel stay. We are happy to know that the Hotel was perfect and you enjoyed our location as well as our service during your stay in New York. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit the city next.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights over the christmas holiday with my boyfriend, and we both found the hotel to be very enjoyable. We had mixed expectations when we booked our stay, based on the various reviews we had read, but overall we were pleasantly surprised! The room was a comfortable size compared to a many hotels in New York, and the location was great! All in all we wold definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jessica J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay at the Hotel. We are extremely happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and you would choose our Hotel for a return stay. We look forward to being of service when you are back in New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had week end stop over on the way to florida. Location on 7 avenue is perfect for all the sites in New York and there are plenty. Nearby restaurants and Irish bars. We drank and eat at the Playwright Irish bar very good value and great food and Guinness.rooms have everything but perhaps could do with a refurb. However staff are really nice and did not charge us for internet. Will return on our next New Yorker.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm-Sparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Malcolm-Sparkes,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you had a great stay experience at the Hotel. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

You know what they say, location location location. This place has it walking distance to Central Park, theatres just around the corner, Times Square three blocks down Broadway, NBC just two blocks east, it feels like the centre of the world.
Used to be a Sheraton but no longer has that character, service is okay, New York friendly, elevators often have line ups a bit of a problem. Not a high end romantic location, great for students and budget travellers. The rooms need some sprucing up but the prices are great. A seemingly safe location in a great location.

Room Tip: Lower floors have less waiting time for the elevator. Higher floors have less street noise, pick yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_uhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Ottawa_uhl,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My daughter and I were there for the week between Christmas and New Year's 2014. The check in was very easy. The Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and larger than we expected for a NY Hotel. Would have liked to have a restaurant in the hotel especially on New Year's Eve. Walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels left. Overall it was a great hotel and the price even during the holiday stay was not extremely expensive. Really like the taxi stand outside the hotel, really made things convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor, could see part of 7th avenue from our room. The room was kind of warm so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Gwyn M,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience during your stay and would choose to return when in New York. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#385 of 467 in New York City
4,175 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,437 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#271 of 467 in New York City
4,011 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing