We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights and got the 50% off rate through travelzoo. It was a great deal and included free wi-fi. Our room was very clean and not too tiny for us and our 2 kids (3 and 1.5). The requested crib was already set up in our room when we arrived around 5:30 pm. Check-in and check-out were very quick.

The location was great! Perfect for traveling with 2 little ones. Walking distance from Rockefeller Center and all the kids' shops in Times Square (such as M and M world, Disney Store), and about 10 minutes walk to Central Park, FAO Schwarz, etc. Our friends were at the Sheraton across the street which worked out perfectly.

The valet service for parking was actually a little cheaper than self parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiaowangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,106 - 5,112 of 7,949 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the much nicer, updated and cleaner Sheraton across the street. The room I was given first looked as if it had not been updated since the mid 1990's. The room was filthy; dust in the baseboards, hairs in the shower, dented and scuffed walls, dirt soaked bed skirts, stained carpet, disgusting windows and the list goes on and on. After waiting an hour to be changed into a cleaner room my only compensation was a choice of free $14 WiFi or a whopping $50 off my bill. My new room was only slightly cleaner, but I did not have anymore time to argue. For the next three days, my room key would randomly stop working. I had to go down to the front desk and have a new key activated SEVEN times within a four day stay. They kept telling me that my cellphone was messing with it, despite the fact I would have the card in my hand while walking to my room and it would still not work.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Your room will be filthy and the management will attempt to smooth talk you into not being upset about pubic hairs being all over the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Jamie P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. It is disheartening to learn from your comments that we were unable to meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of attention to detail with regards your room cleanliness and for the malfunctioning of your room key. I want you to know that we take our guest comments very seriously and use them to better all our services offered at the Hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you to make up for this unfavorable experience as winning back your loyalty and trust is important to us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay, and again we weren't disappointed. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Location can't be beat. For the best price we called and got a good deal. It is an old hotel, but it was clean, and although some of the furnishings are older and not up to some people's standards, I think overall a good value.

Room Tip: The higher floors will be quieter, and the further you can be from the elevators the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The first thing you notice about this hotel is the location, literally on the doorstep of Times Square! Very friendly welcome from reception staff and also the concierge guys who took our luggage to the room and told us the basics about the hotel. The room itself was very clean, looked after and comfortable. The only drawback to our room was that it was close to the lifts and they were quite noisy. This didn't really cause a problem as we were up and out early and not getting back until late. Housekeeping was very regular and very good. I honestly could not fault the hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a clean, comfortable friendly place to stay with EVERYTHING on the doorstep. Writing this makes me wish I was still there!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Location is great for sure! However, the bath and carpet were old and dirty. I could see some rest of food (I guess) behind the nightstand. Other than that, sheets were clean white and the desk was also clean and OK. Front desk manager was kind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If it is your first time in NYC (as it was mine), this hotel is situated in a very good location. A few steps from the famous Times Square and surrounded by different subway lines - a good basis to explore Manhattan. It is a very touristic area though, and of course you will find tourist traps around the hotel if you are not carefull. The hotel was actually good for me because, as I said, it was my first in the city and I do recommend it if you are in te same situation. I probably won't stay there in a future visit to the city - I will choose a place that has more identity with the locals. The rooms: After a trip to Europe and staying in the small hotel rooms in the old continent, I was happy I got a big corner room in The Manhattan. Big and confortable bed, comfortable linen. Bathroom was big too. Everything was very clean and organized, but hotel was quite old inside. People at the front desk and all other employees were very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAmaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took wife to NYC for big birthday and found a good savings deal at The Manhattan. Great location for what we wanted to do, room was nice size, good condition of the room & property, but snowed for 2 of the days and had to go out for food or drinks, nothing offered at Hotel other than a drink machine. When I got back home and checked the charges on my credit card on-line, found there was a $50 additional charge for what I don't know from the Hotel. Had to call 5 times before I could get anyone to answer.... Hung up on 3 times.... 1 time couldn't hear me from a land line phone call. Told me on 5th try it was for misc. charges to our room. Told me we didn't have any and it would be credited off.... Still on my account..... Checkout receipt showed a credit for the $50... What is the deal.... Next time tell your guest of the charge on check-in......... How about getting it off........
Great Location....

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed room and for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_To_Travel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,748 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,863 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 470 in New York City
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 470 in New York City
9,965 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#376 of 470 in New York City
1,464 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing