We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel right in the middle of all the action. Rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels. All staff are very helpful nothing is to much. Stocked up with coffee , shampoo and creams everyday. Don't listen to all the bad reviews you get what you pay for and this is great value.

Room Tip: I will be revisiting this hotel again with out a doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firework1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    2,057
    1,444
    634
    532
See reviews for
2,376
2,114
291
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a quick trip to NYC. I just wanted a hotel, centrally located, near a rail stop. The rail stop is only 2 blocks west of the hotel. Fortunately for me, it was NYC's first snowfall of the season, less than 0.5 inches, so the convenience to the rail was a great plus.

The lobby itself was crowded both nights I was there. I'm guessing guests were probably using the Wifi in the lobby. The Front Desk staff were wonderful. Greeting each guest as they checked in or checked out. The answered each persons question as best they can and I didn't detect any negativity from the Front Desk staff.

The lobby and elevators do look a bit aged but the room I had was quite nice. I had a room on the 22nd floor (top floor) of the hotel overlooking 7th Ave. GREAT VIEW looking down on the AXA building and the "new" hotel is just across the street at a slight angle.

The room was big, for a single Queen bed, by New York standards but I'm not complaining. The bathroom was a bit small but workable. The bathroom amenities were adequate too. Water pressure was no problem and hot water was available in a few seconds.

There was a large lcd tv (I'm guessing 40") in the room but I hardly watched tv. Unfortunately there's no refrigerator provided. The ice machine is just down the hall.
I could hear conversations through the door but it didn't bother me.

I didn't even bother to turn on the heater since the room temperature was adequate for me. The bed was really comfortable. The work area was more than adequate for a laptop and some open folders.

If I need to stay in/around Times Square, I'd consider staying here again. Times Square is only a few short blocks down 7th Ave. Gershwin Theater is one block away. Multitude of eateries and bars can be found in this area. There's even a 24 hour walk-in McDonalds just 3 short blocks down on 7th Ave if you have an early morning case of the munchies.

Room Tip: Ask for a really high floor facing 7th Ave if you want to see what's happening below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiian-kine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited NYC during Thanks giving week Nov 2012. The room was clean and so was the washroom. We ate out most of the time at gluten free restaurants. Upon arrival, we were really tired and hungry and the restaurant next to the main lobby were so accommodating, they cooked me something gluten free off the menu. The bar in the lobby was nice too, however the cost of hot and cold beverages was high and very crowded, never find seat as often you would find general public not staying at hotel sitting there, so there was no official seated area for guests at hotel. This hotel is ideal if you intend to spend most of your time out touring as this hotel is far to busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After reading a few negative reviews we were a little worried, but did not need to be. The staff were amazing, making such a fuss of our five year old twins. Check in was a doddle and the reception and luggage staff polite and helpful. The room was clean and spacious for a family of four, the beds comfy, the black out blinds worked a treat and there was plenty of hot water. The location is teh best, five minute to Times Square and five minutes to Central Park. What more could you want for a city break? Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: We were room 1236. High up and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineDack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place used to be the Sheraton Manhattan. It is no longer a Sheraton property, and ever since Sheraton let it go, the property has not been maintained. I used to stay here frequently on my visits to NYC simply due to the great location. The hallways are dirty and in disrepair. Rooms show signs of age and wear. If you get a great rate, this place is okay to stay simply due to the fantastic location, but if there are other places in the area that have a brand name attached, choose one of those. This place has seen much better days. ....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autiger3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On returning from The Manhattan in New York after a short break we were very disappointed in the hotel. The website advised a restaurant and swimming pool. On arrival we could not find any of these.After speaking to a manager he advised he would refund an amount to compensate this. On returning home to the UK we have now noticed that instead of being refunded we have been debted the refund amount.I have e-mailed the manager and await his reply by return.
The rooms were ok not the best cleaned rooms we have stayed in but were fine for a couple of days.The hotel is in a great location to see all of New York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocdgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ocdgill,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you faced due to the closure of the swimming pool and the restaurant. We are currently in the process of making some changes at the Hotel to enhance our guest experience and regret that this has tainted your experience at the Hotel. I understand a refund was made to in some way compensate for the lack of these services for which we intend to honor that commitment and you should receive confirmation of the same as promised. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make up for this unfavorable experience at the Hotel.

Yours In Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival of our 16 night stay whilst we worked at New York Fashion Week, the staff were warm and welcoming and we were shown to our suite by a manager, Keith, who had kindly upgraded us to a suite for our long stay. During our time at The Manhattan the staff were welcoming and almost instantly we were on a first name basis. The chamber maids were EXCELLENT! They came in every day without fail and helped us keep our busy time in New York organised which we are really grateful for. Jacques and Gene, the doormen, were spectacular, even in the snow storms! This hotel and the staff are a credit to Manhattan Island!

-The London Girls

Room Tip: We were in room 1731 on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliPally186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,543 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing