We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manhattan, New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 15, 2013

GOODS
good location if wanting to be in the heart of Times Square
service was great
rooms were clean


BADS
rooms and Lobby can do with a makeover
chairs at the lobby were always occupied and suggest more lounges/chairs be placed

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,143 - 5,149 of 7,949 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent value for money, superb location, ok the rooms are a bit old hat but would have no issue staying there again or recommending it to anyone looking for affordable accommodation. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
3  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was a real surprise. The service was second to no other, the value was amazing, and the location was unbeatable. From Check-in to check out the experience was wonderful. My only regret was that I do not remember the names of all the individuals who delivered such first-rate service. At check-out, I made sure to get Guillermo Chavez's name. When I told him how great my stay was, he was so thankful and full of pride for his hotel, I felt I had to share my thoughts in a review.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew55406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Okay, NYC is expensive but if this is a mid-range hotel I'll save a little longer for a better place! From the moment you enter you see countless people lounging around the lobby on the floor! as there are few seats available. All these displaced persons are taking advantage of the free Wi-Fi otherwise costing $15 pd in your room. Good luck finding an outlet!
The ridiculously slow elevators take you through a myriad of banging doors and noise from rooms (the walls seem paper thin). While the beds are comfortable be prepared to wake throughout the night whenever anyone walks by, uses the elevator or opens/closes a door!
The location is spot on so maybe these people think they can skimp on service and quality as recompense?
I would never stay here again and would never reccommend it!

Room Tip: I have no idea if there are quiter rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear MarinaC47,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay because of your inability to use the complimentary wireless internet access in the lobby and for the noise disturbances you experienced in your room. We value you as a customer and would like to know if there is anything we can do to make up for this unfavorable experience.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good location. The lobby looked good, but after you entered the elevator, walked on the hallway to your room. Everything changed. Our first room had candy wrap on the floor. The water did not drain in the tub. I found out there was hair and dirt in the drainage. I tried to pull them out, but there is just awful and too many in there. I complaint to the front desk, the lady name Maxine was very nice. She was very patience with a warm smily face and kept apology for any inconvenience. We changed to a different room. But that room also has price tag and plastic line on the floor, and there is no toiletry in the washroom at all. Also I want to point out that later on the night another lady worked at the reception area was not nice, no smile at all.

We got complimentary breakfast from Maxine. The restaurant and service were good.

I will not recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was a very disappointing hotel experience. The receptionist when we arrived was really unhelpful, we had booked two twin rooms and had asked our travel agent to check that that was what we would get however when we checked in we had been given two king rooms. When we told the receptionist that an email confirming twin rooms had been sent he told us "that means nothing". We were eventually given twin rooms which were really shabby and old looking. My room had a hole in the wall and the toilet didn't flush properly. We reported the problem four times but it wasn't fixed. There was no free Internet in the rooms which is rubbish in this day and age. We had been told that the rooms had been refurbished but that was a lie. The only positive thing about this hotel was that the beds were very comfortable. I would never use it again, neither will the travel agent we booked through.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings your comments are instrumental in our endeavor of achieving total guest satisfaction as it gives us an opportunity to improve our services. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during the check in process and the lack of attention to detail in your room being serviced appropriately. While we do not offer free internet in our guest rooms we do offer complimentary High Speed Internet Access in our lobby for our guest use. We would like to know if there is anything we can do to make up for your unfavorable experience as we want to be the Hotel of your choice when you revisit New York City,.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Perfect location, near very important metro stations, serving all lines. Broadway is on the corner, with all the shows and also good restaurants and clubs. From the hotel you can walk up to the Central park or down all the way to the Empire state building- long but enjoyable strides. There is no breakfast but there is an incredible deli one block down from the hotel, with a wide range of food and drinks. Rooms are spacious and very clean. I enjoyed preparing coffee every morning in a simple and easy machine in the room. Wi-fi is paid in the room but you can use it for free at the lounge with your own device or use one of their 4 PCs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,749 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,866 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 470 in New York City
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 470 in New York City
9,966 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#376 of 470 in New York City
1,464 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing