We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #280 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Manhattan is located a few blocks from Times Square. It was clean, quiet, had a very helpful staff, decent exercise facilities. Very comparable to other standard midtown hotels we have stayed in over the years (this was previously a Sheraton property, I believe). We had a very good price, so the value was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanrr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,356 - 5,362 of 8,245 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

The place is a good option with great location (couple of blocks to Times Square and Broadway theaters). The upkeep could have been a bit better though both the times I have stayed there, it has been just for a night and that too to crash, so no complains. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family ( we had 3 rooms) stayed at this Hotel December 2012-January 2013.
We had a problem when we checked in but this was sorted with the Manager very quickly.
The rooms are clean and value for money. The location of the hotel is excellent within walking distance to most attractions and shopping areas. My daughter and her husband had a problem with the noise of the heater in their room they were relocated to another room straight away. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel but there are plenty of resturants, street food vendors, cafes near the hotel. The staff were helpful , especially Paula in the lobby. We would stay here again.
The only problem I had was with other people staying in the hotel slamming doors and having conversations in the hallway early mornings or late at night.( not hotels fault - some people have no manners)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoegirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was fine to stay in. No real ameneties, but in a great location. Front desk and concierge were very helpful. Room was very plain. In this world of granite and flat screen tvs, don't expect it here.

Room Tip: Pick one higher up. We were on a low floor and could hear people talking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdavid1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We decided to celebrate the Xmas and NY 2012 with our friends. So we went to US as a group of 10 people- 3 families. The main focus was on Miami and Orlando as the 4 boys wanted an activity holiday and we decided to cap off the holiday by spending the last 3 days in New York.
As it was a relatively large group, we made all flight and hotel bookings via a hugely reputed travel service in UK [Southall Travels]. The stay in Miami [Fontainebleau Miami Beach] and Orlando [Holiday Inn Universal] were top class and after 2 hectic weeks of driving and rides, we arrived at the reception of this hotel at 7pm on the 2nd of January 2013, ready to hit the bed after a light dinner and shower.
Imagine our shock, when the receptionist [Allison Hill] informed us brusquely that we do not have a booking there and that we need to go to another hotel, Milford Plaza, a few minutes away. Not much of an apology or explanation was forthcoming-we bit our lips and asked for an explanation. She then said that 'it was cancelled'. When asked by whom, she replied '' from both ends- and we had informed your travel agent''. When we told her that neither we nor our travel agent would have requested for a cancellation, she then admitted that the Manhattan Hotel had cancelled our bookings-made in September 2012!- as they were overbooked. Our travel agent later confirmed that they were not informed. We were naturally quite upset and demanded to discuss this with their manager. We spoke with one Aramis [one can understand his English, if given time] who apologised for their mistake but was unwilling to comment any further on why a booking made 3 months earlier was cancelled without informing the travel agent or the clients. Sensing our anger and displeasure, he then agreed that his manager [Raluca Huang] will contact us the next day at Milford Plaza. When we checked at Milford Plaza, there were further issues as it was clearly a poor handover to them and their manager, a young helpful gentleman [Kunal] rang Manhattan to clear some of them. Kunal was also told that 'Luca' will be calling us the next day to give us an explanation. We checked everyday with the reception and so far neither our travel agent nor us have heard anything from Manhattan or their manager.
Interestingly, when we were in the queue to check in Milford Plaza, there were 2 other irate families-one from UK and the other from a Eastern European country-who too had bookings at Manhattan cancelled and shoved on to Milford Plaza.
My advice to those of you who wish to stay here-if you have no other place in Times Square or NY to stay,get a written [letter/email] undertaking from these guys, that your booking will not be cancelled for no reason!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank AlexWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear AlexWolves,

Thank you for detailing your experience during your visit to New York. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced on arrival and for the change in Hotels not being communicated in a timely manner. I want to assure you that this is an isolated incident and not the standard of service we pride on delivering to our guests. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for this unfortunate experience as we would like to be the Hotel of choice should your travels bring you back to New York City.

Yours In Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Well the location of The Manhattan is great. You get a clean room with clean crisp sheets. That's about it! I wasn't expecting too much considering the price for the location. My expectations were not very high. But the room was very clean except for a rust stain in the bathroom and a stain on a lamp. The towels were hard and worn.

The deal breaker for me was the internet charge. I need my computer for work and school. If I add the cost of wifi to what I paid for the room I could have gotten a nicer room at a nicer hotel. I would probably go back if wifi was free. Since its not, I won't.

I would recommend this hotel to people who want to take a weekend trip to see a few shows on Broadway. That is if you are on a tight budget. If you can afford a nicer place, get one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvNegril2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you want a central location, stay here. Great hotel, walking distance to many of the top attractions, comfortable rooms and good value for money for a weekend trip to NYC. I've been to NYC three times now and this was by far the best area I've stayed in.

Location was key for us, we didn't eat or drink in the hotel used it only as base for the weekend to rest our weary heads and tired feet!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 471 in New York City
20,199 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#401 of 471 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#265 of 471 in New York City
4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#375 of 471 in New York City
1,511 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 471 in New York City
10,078 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $118 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing