We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but has an excelent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #299 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel, good service, good crew. I will complain about free internet, you are allowed to use up to 45min straight, but they have only 3 computers and lots of customers. The time should be reduced so more people could use it.
When you make your reservation remember that you will pay daily extra tax: $2 + $1,5 + 5,8% + 8,8%. If you will use a travel agency make sure tax are included (you will pay those taxes at all hotel in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GustavoBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,975 - 4,981 of 7,617 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is quite tired and gloomy. Reception always crammed and noisy Room basically fine. I had the misfortune to be right by the lifts which you could hear all night through the walls so had to sleep with earplugs in. Avoid room 18 on any floor if you can. Free wifi in the lobby worked if not too many people about. Staff a little curt. Good location though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am in my room at the Manhattan at 11pm, and my room is very warm. my room was very warm so I turned the air conditioning on a couple hours ago and it appeared to be broken. I called the front desk and they told the that the air conditioning system has been turned off for the winter, but they would be glad to send someone to my room to open my windows - which over look 7th Ave! This is ridiculous - either sleep in a hot room or listen to cars and horns all night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Waitte,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the unfavorable experience you had at the Hotel because of the temperature in the room being too hot and for the manner in which your request was handled. Please know that corrective action has been taken based on your comments. Please contact us if there is anything else we can do for you.

Yours In Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on the reviews I read I was anxious that I had made a bad choice, but the Manhatten hotel -Times Square was a great choice. The location can not be eat. We were able to walk to Rockefeller Plaza, Radio City Music Hall, Times Square and Central park. It is one block away from a subway station. There is no in room wi-fi. but we did not find it to be a problem. The computers in the lobby were available at various times during the day. Staff was helpful Two week after Sandy we had alot of questions about what was or wasnt happening and staff was great. . We got a double bed room. It was clean and in good shape. If you want a quiet room , no outside or hall noise ask for 2129, it was a great room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

After reading reviews, I had low expectations for this hotel - it far exceeded those expectations. Tired, yes. In need of maintenance, yes. But immaculately clean, a modern and open lobby, pleasant service and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarknighttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The excellent location and helpful friendly staff at the ManhattanTimes Square make staying at this hotel a great way to spend your time in the city that never sleeps. Walk to all the great shows, shop 5th Ave, walk to central park, and Radio City is only 2 blocks away! Didn't eat at the restaurant and the property was a bit dated, but the rooms were OK, simple & fairly clean. The staff did everything they could to accommodate us and all our requests and the Theater Concierge (Rachael) got us some great last minute fabulous seats to Mary Poppins!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

location excellent,room poor,old ,not good,staff was ok internet wifi free only in looby,the breakfast expensive and not good.all hotels in times square are very expensive,.but this hotel could be a little more cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#395 of 469 in New York City
4,572 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,240 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#275 of 469 in New York City
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 469 in New York City
9,762 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,748 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#365 of 469 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $146 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing