We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #309 of 479 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here 2 days after hurricane Sandy - great location, staff friendly and very helpful, rooms clean, beds comfortable. My only concern is I am claustrophobic and can't use the elevators - I thought the stairs would be right next to the elevators - but they were not!! Each time I wanted to go up at night or come down in the morning I had to contact the friendly security people who would let me in and out of the building (next street) and I would have to walk round to the front of the building to meet the rest of my family. I guess you could say thats the price I have to pay for having a phobia!! But as I've said it was a great location.

Room Tip: Request a low floor if you can't stand elevators!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Frances22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    1,693
    1,114
    469
    391
See reviews for
1,602
1,582
219
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed there with one other couple for 6 days. Prompt check in with no troubles. Rooms clean and adequately sized. Only a couple of blocks from Times Square. Surrounded by great night life and restaurants. Would stay here again my next time in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsitter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, can walk to nearly everything.Time square,Central park,buses,trains, bars restaurants.
No free internet in the room but you can get it in the lobby.
Some great diners around for breakfast etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffyojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Eastern Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Manhattan Times Square Hotel was an average hotel for the price. The view of downtown was amazing at the 20th floor, if one should choose to stay at this location ask for a corner room it is a great view. The price of the hotel is very inexpensive compared to other hotels in the area and their are a lot of places to eat near by. Our room was clean with a nice bed, the hotel services I can't complain very helpful. My only concern was we stayed in a room above a smoking room and the smell was strong in the bathroom. But otherwise I would recommend this hotel to outta towners. Gladly.

Room Tip: There are plenty of places to eat nearby and the location is excellent for sights. Besure to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COYOTECALLER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

In a city with hundreds of hotel choices avoid this one at any cost. Dirty, overpriced and old. This hotel is a dog. Yes it's close to Times Square but that is only reason to stay here. Cost is ridiculous at 500.00 a night!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RobKNewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Hotel. I sincerely apologize that your experience was unfavorable and we were unable to meet your expectations. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do for you on your next visit to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September, 2012, and I have to say don't believe all the negative reviews. You can not get any better a location, times square is pretty much right outside your door. It was in walking distance to central park and broadway shows. The rooms are huge, but they are a standard size hotel room and was fine for us as we didnt spend much time in there. We arrived a few hours early and had no issues checking in. All the staff we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. I would definitley recommend this hotel for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennRF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location....a few steps from Times Square, Central Park and 5th avenue. The staff is ok. The room is good and the hotel has a restaurant on the lobby. Its an old building, but it doesnt matter at all...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#315 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,989 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#364 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,938 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#291 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#298 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,855 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#326 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 689
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing