We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a great find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #124 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We traveled to NYC for Easter Week 2010 with two teenagers. We wanted a suite at a reasonable price. The Affinia Shelburne is an amazing find! Our 15th floor room had a balcony with views of the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building. The room itself had a kitchenette, dining area, large living room with sofa bed, large bath and large bedroom with king sized bed. Beautiful at any price and unbelievable for NYC! The hotel staff could not have been nicer and more accomodating. The hotel is located in Murray Hill .... a five minute walk to Grand Central Station or United Nations, a five minute taxi ride to Times Square, Gramercy Park, Central Park or Union Square, 10 minute ride to Battery Park and Ground Zero, and a great residential neighborhood with lots of terrific restaurants. We found the location perfect ... we were very close to all of the sights and places you would want to visit in NYC, but were able to sleep in quiet bliss without the blare of car horns, crowds or flashing lights that are part of Times Square. The only disappointment was that we had heard the hotel restaurant was awesome ... it's called Rare ... but it was jam packed all day and night and we never got the opportunity to have a drink or meal there. It's obviously very popular with locals!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alannancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,183
    1,528
    321
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,289
1,312
200
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed several days in room 1413 and without question, best kids hotel ever in New York. We had Check In Cupcakes delivered and we rented a guitar for my daughter. The room was HUGE with two separate rooms, a kitchen and dinning area. The staff was also exceptional. It's location made walking to Times Square, American Girl and dinning options perfect. We're all new fans of this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We booked this hotel through travelocity and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms we were allocated. They were as requested and more. As a family of five, we wanted two rooms so booked a twin and a suite. The rooms were spacious and elegant, and the suite had the bonus of a small balcony with views of both the Empire State Building and Chrysler Building. the hotel rooftop garden, although undergoing renovation, was a joy and offered panoramic views. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The location was quiet but still central - only 5 minutes walk from Grand Central terminal, about 10 minutes from Times Square. Also, lots of places to eat locally - we particularly liked Bloom's Deli a couple of blocks away for breakfast. The hotel bar/restaurant "Rare" was very good and had an interesting menu.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashelburneny, Assistant General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Dear SimonJC,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager at the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read that you connected with our staff and accommodations. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.


Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was our 4th trip to NYC and we've stayed at different hotels every time. We always look for bargains and this is our best find to date. We got the room for a steal at $139.00/night with Travelzoo. While the photos on the Web site were very nice, I was worried that it was too good to be true. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby is very chic, check-in was a breeze and our room was big, beautiful, very modern-looking with a flatscreen TV and marble bathroom. I particularly liked the location, very close to Grand Central Station, many restaurants around (including Scotty's a block away which serves a great breakfast) and near a residential area which allows you to be around New Yorkers rather than just tourists.

Our only drawback was that our room wasn't cleaned one day. I called the front desk and clean towels and glasses were promptly delivered to our room. There is no ice machine on the floors but if you call the front desk, they will deliver it very promptly to your room.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I got a good deal and that's why I rated it high on Value. As any other hotel in NY it's all about the dates. Very nice rooms, amazing beds and the service is good.
You walk 4 min to subway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We were super pleased with the Affinia Shelburne. The location is convenient, the rooms were roomy and groovy, and the staff were amazingly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALiceJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My daughter & I recently spent a long weekend in NYC. We decided to stay at the Affinia Shelburne based on other reviews posted to this site. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w/ 2 double sized beds. The bedroom was roomy and the beds were comfortable. The living room area was nice and bigger than expected and having the kitchenette was useful. Both the living area and the bedroom have flat screen TV's. The bathroom was a tad small, but everything else more than made up for it. The restaurant, Rare, is good too. The hotel's close proximity to Grand Central Station made traveling the subway easy. Great location to get uptown or downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsfanstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#100 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,422 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#120 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Chelsea
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
#256 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#70 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#118 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing