We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,324)
Filter reviews
5,324 results
Traveler rating
2,664
1,926
440
176
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,664
1,926
440
176
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray hill rooftop bar grand central station rare restaurant the empire state building scotty's diner pillow menu new york wine hour one bedroom suite lexington avenue few blocks small kitchen times square two queen beds housekeeping staff coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 5,324 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

We booked in for 10 nights with our little boy. Checked in late afternoon into room 611. We were sent an email offering an upgraded room but these had gone, front desk assured me we would be moved the next day.

Next morning we pack up and get moved to 1209. Wow what a massive difference in size. It’s a one bedroom suite but the living area was bigger as was the bathroom! The kitchenette was the same with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our room has a view of the ESB from both windows and was really nicely furnished. Everything was clean and there was loads of storage including a closet.

Staff are really nice, especially Dennis the doorman who genuinely couldn’t do enough to help us. He’s also super knowledgeable about the area and how to get everywhere tourist wise. There are loads of delis/supermarkets etc nearby for anything you may need. Grand central is also only a few blocks as is shake shack!

Housekeeping were a little hit and miss but for the most part, everything was very clean. We had a lot of children’s stuff lying around so that’s not helpful! But things like cups weren’t taken away or cleaned unless we did it. Luckily they provide the dish soap etc.

Resort fee. We had ours included in the price via booking.com but we definitely used the free wine hour and our $10 credit for milk, water etc every single day. $10 in groceries isn’t that much anyway in nyc so it’s useful to have!

WiFi worked fine even on 12th floor. I think some rooms have routers/boosters in because we had no problem at all with signal.

All in all I would most definitely stay there again. The space alone was worth it!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank chinkyspice007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
affiniaduny, General Manager at Shelburne Hotel & Suites by Affinia, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear chinkyspice007,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Had the opportunity to visit the Shelburne for an overnight stay. Hotel is in a non-descript building with a tired external facade. Upon arrival at the hotel, front door staff were attentive and helpful; check-in was prompt but was assigned a room on the second floor (noisy from road traffic) as I had arrived at 11:00 am and was informed that other rooms may not be available till 3:00 pm. Assigned room was minimally and arguably not well decorated (at least from my perspective). The room feels cold, tired and is rather bland. Climate control was poor; the air conditioner struggled to maintain a room temperature below 74 C (not acceptable). Asked for help to address - solution offered by technician was to turn down the lights - hmmmm. Request for extra pillows was not honored - gave up waiting after 2 calls and 2 hours later. Wifi was free but was not available on my visit till past 4:00 pm (not acceptable, as this is supposedly a business-friendly hotel). For the rate charge, this is not good value.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Please beware of the $38 facility fee, which includes internet and a workout room for 2 children. Room was clean but needs some updating. Internet was super slow- could not download my emails. Nothing special- there are better hotels in NYC to stay at.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
affiniaduny, General Manager at Shelburne Hotel & Suites by Affinia, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Doug,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

The staff was nice enough. We were even given an early check in at no cost - which was nice since were were traveling with children.

The mattresses were comfortable. The bathroom was clean (which is a big thing for me.)

However, the room was small, worn, and old. Also, the carpets in the room and the hall looked as if they needed to be cleaned, replaced, or at the very least vacuumed more.

Instead of small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and soap - there were containers attached to the wall. This, would have been fine, had they all been filled. I'd like to think that the staff would have filled them, had I requested it. However, I didn't realize this, until I was in the shower (and we were only staying for that night.)

There were two small elevators that always seemed to be packed by the time they got to our floor. Once, we had to wait for 4-5 elevators to go by before we could fit.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmom518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
affiniaduny, General Manager at Shelburne Hotel & Suites by Affinia, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018
Google Translation

Dear Travelmom,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

We took a walk back up to Affinia and dropped in for a drink. Just to get a feel for the place again. Still ooses quality. Really nice roof bar/ terrace to sit on a warm summer evening with the instantly recognisable Empire State Building as a backdrop.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lambretta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews