We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good practical choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good practical choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very close to Grand Central Station. Rooms quite large, often suite price is close to standard room. Despite renovations, place is old, low floors are in earshot of street noise. Higher floors are much better. Rooftop bar is nice with good views. Service can be spotty but For practical, well located accommodations, good choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ed R,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. The Affinia Shelburne is located in the quiet neighborhood of Murray Hill, which is minutes away from Grand Central station, The Empire State Building and Times Square. We are glad to read that you were able to enjoy our great views from the rooftop bar but we do apologize that we didn't provide you the excellent service you are to expect. The next time you visit New York City, please join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    1,673
    359
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,456
1,447
212
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shelburne - room was nothing special - 2nd floor so no view - but bed was comfy and it was clean. The location is amazing and the rooftop bar is the best I have been to in NYC. Not too expensive and views of the Empire State at every turn. Went in daylight before our show (Les Miserables - brilliant) and at night after the show. Will be going back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Bullies65,

Thank you for your candid review. We are glad that you were able to join us at the rooftop bar. It does have amazing views of the skyline. During your next visit to the Affinia Shelburne, please join us for our complimentary wine hour from 5pm - 6pm everyday.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. We enjoyed the extra space this gave us. We especially enjoyed the very comfortable bed. The view from our 9th floor room and from the rooftop bar gave us a view of the Empire State Building. We left a jacket behind at the hotel and the staff went way out of their way in getting the jacket delivered to us at a location forty minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear GloraTraveler,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that our team was able to assist you with getting your property delivered to you promptly. Our roof top bar does offer some magnificent views of the city skyline and we are happy you were able to enjoy it. Please join us during your next visit to New York for our complimentary wine hour from 5pm to 6pm daily.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Awesome Stay everything was wonderful. Room was bigger than expected and clean. Service was great. The view sucked and I tipped the guy at the front desk $20. Will never do that again, there.Seemed a little aloof as well. No big deal.

Had an issue with the safe, they came right up and fixed it.

For the price, I thought it was a great deal for the quality.

Room Tip: I don't know. But dont tip the front deak, it gets you no where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Stan H,

Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. The Affinia Shelburne does have very spacious rooms and I would like to apologize we were not able to provide the view you requested. I hope during your next visit to New York you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We travel frequently to NYC and have stayed at the Affinia Shelburne a number of times. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful, The rooms are large by NYC standards, clean ,quiet and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are plenty of local eateries to grab an egg on a roll breakfast and soak up some local flavor, Grand Central is a 5 minute walk. There is plenty of value for your money at the Affinia Shelburne, we'll be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Dibrad,

Thank you for you candid review. Here at the Affinia Shelburne we appreciate new and loyal guests. We do offer very spacious rooms and have a great location, minutes away from all subway lines and main attractions . During your next visit please come join us for our complimentary wine hour from 5pm to 6pm everyday.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Room was nice clean, and the bed was comfortable. The Studio Deluxe suite had room for a crib (free upon request) and kitchenette had a fridge, microwave (didn't use), sink, dishes (free upon request), and dishwashing supplies needed for a nursing baby and eating delivery. Within a few blocks' walking distance of Grand Central, Empire State building, and within delivery range of plenty of restaurants. Room was pretty quiet but earplugs were supplied in the room but we didn't need them. My wife really liked that they had a complimentary wine hour, but we were only table to take advantage of it once.

Different web sites offer deals with different freebies (lower rates, free wifi, or free drinks) so shop around.

Only real complaint was lack of a dining table. We made due using the window sill and the small over-chair table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear L P,

Thank you for taking the time in submitting a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Affinia Shelburne. You are correct that we are very centralized in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan and minutes away from many attractions of New York City. Please stay with us again during your next visit to the Big Apple and it would be our pleasure to ensure you receive the comfort and hospitality you received during this stay.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Absolutely stunning hotel, it was my first time in New York and my trip was made better by the helpful, happy staff at reception and on the door. Friendly smiles and hellos made the stay a lot more comfortable. the staff were excellent for every area. Our room was perfect, the bed made everyday, with comfortable pillows and mattresses. Noise from the street could not be heard from the room, making it very easy to sleep in. The food in the restaurant hotel was divine!
To anyone wishing to stay in New York, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have less noise from the busy streets.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good, was impressed, all areas considered perfect for people concerned with nature.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Princessjazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Princessjazzi,

Thank you for taking your time to post an amazing review on TripAdvisor. Our goal at the Affinia Shelburne is to provide all of our guests' exceptional service. According to your post, we did just that. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,768 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing