We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-night policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2-night policy”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, but you must pay for two nights even if you only want one! They upgraded our room (overbooked?) but we needed two beds and the room only had one - they provided a cot at no charge which came with a complimentary cockroach. However, the front desk lowered the charge for the room to compensate for the unexpected guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Stephanie L,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while staying with us. I am deeply sorry that your visit was not all that we hope for and expect. I would really like to speak with you. Please feel free to contact me directly with details of your stay so that I may personally ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you, again, for your candid feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    1,718
    367
    134
    85
See reviews for
1,493
1,468
216
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Really nice hotel. Lovely room with 2 double beds and kitchen area and nice bathroom. On 7th floor and lifts were fast and no delays. Very clean with great housekeeping staff who were very helpful. Check in fast and efficient and we were offered maps and list of local restaurants. Concierge was excellent and booked some attractions for us. Wine hour a nice touch too. Good restaurant Rare in the hotel where we had a couple of meals. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Mayo55,

Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly and your accommodations to be both clean and spacious. Customized customer service is extremely important to us. I am thrilled that you found our concierge to be kind and efficient in booking attractions in and around the New York City area. Lastly, I am glad that you had an opportunity to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We enjoyed the spacious one bedroom suite in a very good location but it's not a great hotel. Corridors are somewhat gloomy, facilities a bit old, kitchen very basic, stuff indifferent. We felt that the price tag was too high. Recommended, not highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yoellll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear yoellll,

Thank you for your candid review. I apologize for any and all inconveniences that you may have experienced. Please feel free to connect with me directly with details of your stay so that I may personally ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Location perfect. Hotel staff excellent. Nice lobby. Comfortable room. Fantastic roof top bar but could be better furnished. Thoughtful and recurring design on walls, pillows, et cetera, but too dark colour in elevators and walls. The Rare bar very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mats B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Brostroms,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly and your accommodations to be both clean and spacious. I am thrilled that you had an opportunity to enjoy the delicious food at Rare Bar & Grill and enjoyed the amazing views from our rooftop.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay and we're really impressed with the burgers in Rare. Rare View was also a great place to hang out although the rain spoiled our evening a bit! Everything met our expectations and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable and the location is ideal for access to the places in New York I wanted to visit. One of the main reasons I choose Affinia is the provision of a kitchen (being from UK, I tend to wake up very early with a pressing need for food and a cup of tea). Here, I can stock up at the local grocery and have everything to stave off the hunger pangs at my convenience. It is a place to rest in the hullabaloo of a manic city. Expensive in-room Internet although free access in the Lobby

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear OliveCornwall,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including, Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly and your accommodations to be both clean and spacious. I am glad that you found the kitchenette in your room to be helpful for those early morning breakfast cravings and am thrilled that you had an opportunity to enjoy the delicious food at Rare Bar & Grill.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'm usually go to affinia hotel and shelburne in particular.
Till this time I was happy and satisfied, but they need to refresh or renew ( at least my room 510)
Anyway, the place is a good one in NY , I'm a bit despite in regard of what i was use to find

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OFISH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear OFISH92,

Thank you for your candid review. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne. I am sorry that your most recent visit was not all that we expect and hope for our guests. I will definitely look into your stated concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly with details of your stay so that I may personally ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel's virtues are its spacious and clean rooms and bathrooms, pre-war thick walls to dampen noise, comfortable beds, mini-fridges, and a reasonable lobby seating area with free wifi and local newspapers.
There also is a rooftop bar open in the warmer months with a stunning view, an organic hamburger place with all-day room service meals, and professional front desk staff.
However, given what one now pays per night for a hotel in Manhattan during much of the year, I have to mention what is missing: drinkable in-room coffee, higher-end bathroom amenities, (and along with every other similar Manhattan hotel) free wifi in the room and a reliable spectrum of free television channels.
Also, be warned that the lobby and hamburger place can fill up with screaming young partygoers in the evening, and the lobby can get crowded with vacationing young families during the day. Perhaps not the best choice for business or older travelers.

Room Tip: The lower floors have relatively little street noise, though they do face Lexington Avenue and you m...
See more room tips
Green Features: There is the usual signage about not changing linens every day, and dispensers of shampoo etc. in the shower rather than small plastic bottles. No paper or plastic bottle recycling.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear deekaye,

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be noise-resistant, clean and spacious. I am thrilled that you had a good night’s sleep and found our beds to be comfortable. Please be sure to try our extensive pillow menu upon your next visit!

I apologize for any and all inconveniences that you may have experienced with some of the offered amenities. Please be sure to reach out to me directly with details of your stay so that I may personally ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#108 of 468 in New York City
4,828 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,020 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelPower, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing