We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
liverpool
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I had spent a few months reading up on quite a few other New York hotels before settling on this one. We stayed in this hotel last August, and had requested a room with a view of the Empire State Building and we were not disappointed. The rooms are quite big, with large and very comfortable beds, a large TV, fridge tea/coffee making facilities and large bathroom. The room was cleaned every day. We had aircom.
One little complaint we had was that the lift was very slow and when it eventually came many times it was full and we had to wait for it to return.
The hotel is very central to most of the tourist sites that we wanted to visit.
They have a roof bar terrace that you can visit, have a drink and admire the ESB. and other sights.
The reception give you maps of the city. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: request a view of the ESB before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbsliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear debbsliverpool,

Thank you for your kind review. Our hotel suites are, indeed, larger than many NYC hotel rooms. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your service and accommodations at Affinia Shelburne. Customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us and therefore I am thrilled to hear that you felt our staff was pleasant and accommodating. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including the Empire State building. I am happy that you enjoyed the beautiful views from our rooftop. Hopefully, during the next time that you visit, you will be able to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you and your grandson soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    1,718
    367
    134
    85
See reviews for
1,493
1,468
216
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Apparently this hotel used to be a residential apartment building. So many of the rooms have a apartment style layout. We have stayed at this hotel 4 times and always have stayed in the deluxe rooms. Most rooms in NYC are smaller then your average Holiday Inn in the Midwest. However we were pleasantly surprised by the roominess of the rooms. The hotel is in Murray Hill which is a residential area so noise was not a issue like at other hotels. The service is first rate and the location is excellent. You are about a 10 min walk to Times Square, The UN, and basically any Midtown location/sight is walkable from this hotel. Parking is not free and is actually rather expensive. We recommend settling in to hotel and parkinh your car in one of the garages nearby. Its a bit cheaper than using the one the hotel puts your car in. We have stayed here before and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Christian D,

Thank you for your kind review. Our suites are, indeed, comparatively larger than many NYC hotel rooms. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your service and accommodations at Affinia Shelburne. Customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us and therefore I am thrilled to hear that you felt our staff was pleasant and accommodating. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne! Please feel free to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location. The staff was very pleasant and accommodated us upon an early arrival. The afternoon wine hour is a nice break in the action. The hotel is clean, quiet and low key. I would return without hesitation and highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay near Grand Central. We walked everywhere except to Battery Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank D4est2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear D4est2,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your service and accommodations at Affinia Shelburne. Customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us and therefore I am thrilled to hear that you felt our staff was pleasant and accommodating. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions. Lastly, I am happy that you had the opportunity to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed with our 4 year-old grandson for a 2 day holiday. The Murray Hill neighborhood is the perfect neighborhood in New York with many restaurants and shops nearby. It is only a few blocks from Grand Central Station, which is great for us since we come in by train.
The staff were especially friendly. Nobody passed us without smiling and wishing us a great day. The top floor "Great View" is very nice and has views of the East River, the Empire State Building, One World Trade Center and the Chrysler Building.
Our room was very clean and had a king bed, a couch and desk. It was all we needed for two nights. We did not try the restaurant but there is a wine party every night at 5. Sadly, we were never around for that either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmount2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear dmount2001,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your service and accommodations at Affinia Shelburne. Customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us and therefore I am thrilled to hear that you felt our staff was attentive and friendly. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attraction, including the Empire State building, Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue shopping. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy restaurants and shops in and around the area. Hopefully, during the next time that you visit, you will be able to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you and your grandson soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent for visiting Manhattan. Perfect location to set out from and return to! Large rooms accessible to all corners of Manhattan, Williamsburg and BKN. We had a brilliant 4 night stop in NYC, did all the standard sight seeing / wandering and absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Edward J,

Thank you for your kind review. Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions and, as you indicated, is close to hot spots within both NYC and beautiful Brooklyn. I am happy that you had the opportunity to ‘wander’ and sightsee. We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next arrival.

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. It exceeded our expectations. Upon check in (after a very long flight) we were upgraded. Room was huge and bed comfy. Staff great. Happy hour was excellent and much appreciated

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank MegGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear MegGibbo,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, accommodations and upgrade! Customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us and therefore I am thrilled to hear that you felt comfortable and taken care of by our staff. Lastly, I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week, upon your next stay.

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel was very nice and helpful. Close to grand central and easy walking distance to a lot of restaurants. But the room was very hot and was told the air would come on but it never did.
If it's gonna be a warm time it will be hot

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Sera C,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including the Empire State building, Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue shopping. I apologize that the temperature in your room felt uncomfortable. The weather in New York City has been abnormally inconsistent however, with temperatures leveling out and maintaining ‘spring-like’ degrees, our state-of-the art air conditioning system is up and running!

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#109 of 468 in New York City
4,829 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#191 of 468 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 468 in New York City
5,025 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing