We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Comfortable, reasonably priced, within walking distance of Times Square and the Theater District, Empire State Building, and the United Nations. Rooms were clean and in great condition with decent amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for your kind review! I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms. As you indicated, our hotel’s location allows for quick and easy access to some of NYC’s most amazing and known attractions including traditionally decorated 5th avenue windows, Rockefeller Center and Grand Central Station. If you would like to relax in a peaceful environment, however, Affinia Shelburne is beautifully situated in the residential area of Murray Hill.

I hope to see you upon your next visit to NYC.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,382
    1,651
    355
    132
    85
See reviews for
1,430
1,435
207
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Two bedroom is great for a family of three or more. Home away from home with kitchen, microwave, coffee maker, wine glasses, cork screw. Larger suites than most NYC hotels. Great restaurant, Rare bar with delicious burgers. Great views from top floor (seasonal bar).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MomGHamptonBays_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MomGHamptonBays_NY,

Thank you for your kind review. We love being a home away from home! I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and large, comfortable beds. Our hotel is known for comparatively larger NYC suites and customized customer service. Our rooftop provides amazing skyline views all year long. During the warmer summer months, our restaurant provides a roof top bar in the evenings for guests to enjoy.

We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne and hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to NYC!

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just returned from a weekend trip to NYC and this hotel was a great choice. Stayed in a large double with a kitchenette - granite countertops, a professional Viking convection microwave over, and a stainless GE mini fridge, very nice! Room was quite spacious - daughter enjoyed the full mirror make-up light in the bathroom. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Short walk to either Grand Central Station or a subway stop on Park Ave and 33rd St. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby, but a charge in the room. A decent value given the location and quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are on an extended stay the rooms with the kitchenettes are nice to have for storing snacks a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel uses refillable shower products, which saves on container waste.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zakis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear zakis62,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and large, comfortable beds. Our hotel is known for comparatively larger NYC suites and customized customer service. As you indicated, our hotel’s location allows for quick and easy access to some of NYC’s most amazing and known attractions including traditionally decorated 5th avenue windows, Rockefeller Center and Grand Central Station. If you would like to relax in a peaceful environment, however, Affinia Shelburne is beautifully situated in the residential area of Murray Hill.

We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was a pleasant surprise staying here. The one bedroom suite was the size of at least three "normal" rooms in a NYC hotel and less expensive than any other room I have booked in the past 5-6 years. The space was very impressive. I will definitely stay there again for this price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and large, comfortable beds. As you indicated, our hotel is known for its comparatively larger NYC suites and customized customer service. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

if you want to sleep well, never book this hotel....if you want to sleep well, never book this hotel....if you want to sleep well, never book this hotel....if you want to sleep well, never book this hotel....if you want to sleep well, never book this hotel....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank theroger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear theroger69,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your most recent stay at Affinia Shelburne. Please accept my apologies for any and all inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I may have the opportunity to personally discuss the details of your trip. Your comfort is very important to us and, therefore, I apologize again that your experience was not everything that we hope and strive for.

Thank you, again, for your candid feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location and friendly service. Great lounge and bar which are popular with the locals and not just guests. Able to walk easily to main attractions like Grand Central etc. Room was clean and recently renovated. Very comfortable bed and all facilities worked excellently. Very prompt and helpful guest services. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Brent V,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and large, comfortable beds. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great hotel, big rooms for new york, excellent quality and comfort with friendly helpful staff. I booked last minute through the website so may have got a good rate but was very reasonable. Would stay here every time I am New York if the rates continued to be reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Mr S,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and large, comfortable beds. Additionally, we pride ourselves on customized customer service at the Affinia Shelburne. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with our staff.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing