We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affinia Shelburne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #130 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great Hotel. Would definitely stay again. Cannot believe how large the rooms were, especially for NYC. Stayed with family of 4 on vacation over Christmas. Had a great time. I look for hotels based on location and value - it definitely fit the bill. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Easy to get anywhere in NY - $10-15 cab fare anywhere we went. Would definitely stay again. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ET1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear ET1970,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, Affinia Shelburne’s rooms are comparatively larger than most NYC hotel suites. I am so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the comforts of our spacious room with your family over the holidays. Our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne! When you return, please be sure to visit our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm-6pm, 7 days per week. Please feel free to reach out before return arrival!

Thank you, again, for your review. I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,867)
There are newer reviews for Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 4,867 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

a few blocks from GC (uphill if you dragging a suitcase) many nearby restaurants and cafes (one is inside a dry cleaners that i totally should have checked out) front desk is always busy but the lobby have vine-hour daily 5-6 and free wifi which makes it to a nice finish for your workday a bit loud. the suite is roomy with kitchenette and everything. I had a great view from 1504

Room Tip: 1504 had the below view... facing East???
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Alexandra K,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the comforts of our spacious room, 1504, amazing skyline views and wonderful amenities. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential are of Murray Hill yet is a close distance to many restaurants, cafes, boutique clothing stores and major NYC attractions. I am thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm-6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your review. I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is a very cozy petite place that has good amenities. Its in a location where people can do a lot of things, since its near the subway, and near restaurants and offices where business is closeby. The staff are warm and patient and very accomodating, Ms. Anna Trojanowski was very helpful and hospitable that she helped me book those dates,

I would definitely recommend Affinia Shelburne to anybody who will stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Heater was very good , and shower was elegant. Middle rooms are spacious and elegant.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setroc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear setroc99,

Thank you for your kind response. I am so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the comforts of our spacious rooms and wonderful amenities. Affinia Shelburne is known for our attention to customized customer service. I am thrilled to hear that Anna T. was helpful and hospitable throughout your stay with us. I will be sure to convey your positive experience and thank her for her continued service. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping!

I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Affinia Shelburne in Murray Hill is a little gem. The hotel rooms are a nice size and have all the amenities. The location is perfect for visits to the UN, the Empire State building and other New York highlights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LFM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear LFM82,

Thank you for your kind response! I am so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the comforts of our spacious rooms and abundant amenities. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping!

I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

When checking in- a very frosty and unpleasant female clerk-we were told to store our luggage and come back at 3 PM, as our " special" room had not been cleaned yet. We came back at 3:15 PM- room still not ready. Again... we don't want to change your room, as it's such a special one. 3:30 PM, we went to 1314, a one bedroom suite we had booked. A dark depressing room, with a view in other bedrooms. Bedroom had a tiny window and felt claustrophobic. Heat was a nightmare- way to warm and no option to control heat but to open windows and hear the street sounds all night long. We checked with another clerk during our check out, and it appears that much brighter one bedroom suites are available.
Even 2-bedroom suites had been available, but apparently an upgrade to such a brighter suite was not meant for very loyal customers to this hotel chain!Our "special" room was probably the one they needed to get rid off!

No stove, no table and seats, just a small microwave and tiny fridge.
The only way to make a cup of tea was by using the coffeemaker, and of course the tea tasted of coffee.
The pillow menu that we pre-booked was not brought to the room until I phoned housekeeping the next day,and the street view request obviously was totally dismissed. This hotel obviously does not look at the client's profile on file with Affinia when assigning the rooms.

We could go on and on. For the last 20+ years we have stayed in most of the Manhattan east/Affinia group hotels, but never experienced to be put in a dark room paying full price!

Do yourself a favor and book Affinia gardens or similar, you get you value for money in this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60745Worldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear 60745Worldtravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your most recent stay at Affinia Shelburne. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay and thank you for providing me the opportunity to personally discuss the details of your trip on Wednesday, December 25th.

As explained, your comfort is very important to us. I would love to host you upon your next visit to New York so as to provide you with a stay that speaks to the service normally acquainted with our hotel.


Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel in great location on Lexington Avenue. Happy hour between 5pm and 6pm with good wines of the world. Had a great upgrade to a suite, and the staff very obliging. Would recommend to anyone. Local deli's will provide all kinds of salads and fruit. Restaurants on Lexington are many and varied. The Capital Grill is superb but expensive

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade. Our room had full kitchen and staff provided crockery and utensils on request. Woul...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Christine L,

Thank you for your feedback! Affinia Shelburne is known for our attention to customized customer service. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of our staff’s accommodating nature. Our hotel is located in the residential area of Murray Hill on Lexington Avenue. As you explained, our hotel’s location allows for peace away from the hustle and bustle of New York life but it very close to attractions such as Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping. Complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week, is a guest highlight. I am happy that you had a chance to enjoy all that our hotel, and New York at large, has to offer.

I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to New York!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel is nice, but they do have issues with making guests comfortable in their rooms. Apparently they turn off the a/c in winter, which is unfortunate since our room was very warm and averaged 75 degrees, and even made it up to 77 degrees one day, making it very uncomfortable. Apparently there was nothing the staff could do about it, but still it made staying in the room an unpleasant experience. Yes we opened windows but traffic horns were quite loud and just made the room more humid.

Other than that the hotel would have been quite satisfactory.

Room Tip: Find a room where they let you control the thermostat!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear OKGreg,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Affinia Shelburne.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of the uncomfortable temperature in your suite. I completely understand how frustrating it must have been to feel hot throughout your stay with us. With the uncommon fluctuation of weather within the winter season, our rooms may have felt a little warmer than usual. I apologize for any and all inconvenience. Please know that this is not typical of the level of accommodations offered at Affinia Shelburne.

Your comfort is very important to us. As a result of your stated concerns the Director of Engineering is looking into your experience and will follow up with further training of our engineering staff to ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. We would love to host you upon your next visit to New York so as to provide you with a visit that speaks to the service normally acquainted with Affinia Shelburne.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#138 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $215 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing