We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #134 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a fabulous 4 week break at this hotel the service was excellent we ate a couple of times n the restaurant there and the food was great. Had a breakfast and evening meal their the steak was the best I've ever tasted. I would highly recommend it as its very cental o get to most f the interesting places to see. Lots of restaurants and bistros in the area too. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leitchy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear leitchy38

I am so grateful that you found time to share such a wonderful review about your extended stay with us. Rare Bar & Grill offers delicious fare with a fun atmosphere and the convenience of being connected to the hotel.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,566 - 2,572 of 4,927 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dated and old furniture. Old-style lamps. For the price paid, I really expected something significantly more modern. Beds were super-comfortable. Great location. EXPENSIVE internet. Weak wireless signal in room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Andrew W,

I am so glad that you found our hotel's location convenient and slept so well in our Affinia Signature Bedding, which is supremely comfortable. I will review your comments with our teams to ensure these furniture pieces are located and remedied to meet our high standards for quality.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would highly recommend the Affina Shelburne to anyone. Great location on Lexington ave. The staff there was wonderful. Especially the bell hop Raymond, he went above and beyond the call of duty. I have stayed at the Plaza hotel and the Ritz Carlton and this hotel rivaled them both. And don't forget about the great roof top bar with the beautiful veiw of the Midtown skyline.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delmas71613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear delmas71613,

I want to thank you for recognizing Raymond so thoughtfully in your glowing review. I am so glad that you enjoyed all the wonderful features of our hotel especially the Roof Top.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location, staff was friendly and the concierge was very professional. The room was nice and clean. The roof top was a fun area to relax and enjoy the view. Overall very pleasantly surprised and would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Maria A,

Your review is delightful! Our team works relentlessly each day to connect with our guests in a genuine and helpful way. We want to be your destination of choice in NYC. Your recommendation is the best gift we could ask for. See on the roof top again soon!

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location, clean property, decent pub. Staff at the desk were good, but the consierge gave us a couple of bum steers - directing us to a restaurant that had not been open for weeks, not knowing the immediate neighborhood very wee. The furniture in the room reminded me of a retirement residence, but it was easy to overlook with the other perks.

Room Tip: our room was on a corner, high up with great views. Don't expect a big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STTHistoricalTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear STTHistoricalTrust,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am pleased that you found our location so convenient. Our hotel upholds very high standards of service and our rooms are spacious and clean. Rare Bar & Grill is delightful and has a great menu. I will certainly look into your feedback about our concierge and the furniture from you room because we want to uphold our high standards. I would like to be of personal assistance when you plan to return to NYC. Please contact me directly at gdrepaul@affinia.com.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. A standard room was not as small as I expected and room service did a great job keeping it clean and tidy for our two week stay. The concierge were courteous and very professional but the location is amazing. Great restaurants and deli's nearby. Great coffee at Perk and breakfast at Cafe Delectica. Avoid Scottie's diner. Their version of pancakes resembles road kill. Thanks to Affinia for making NYC so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Matt D,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your extended 2 week stay with us and found the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor. Our rooms are larger than most NYC apartments and our Housekeeping Team excels at providing spotless and friendly service on a daily basis. I am so glad you found our location convenient and the staff helpful.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Quality hotel in a good location,great burgers at the 'rare' restaurant downstairs and particularly pleased with the free wine hour everyday.would stop again if coming back to New York great views from the roof top bar also,very helpful and pleasant staff in particular Raymond on the front door he catered for all our needs as a first time visitor to New York

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear John C,

Your review has left us all feeling great and I can’t thank you enough for joining us this month. Thank you for highlighting the service you received from Raymond. He is one of our best Door persons and he will be so happy. I am so delighted that you enjoyed Wine Hour and our Roof Top. Rare Bar & Grill is delicious and their burgers are well known throughout NYC.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
436 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#295 of 470 in New York City
471 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
548 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $167 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing