We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having decided to bring our 4 kids to New York we were looking for a family hotel in New York close to everything. Location was great (literally 5 minutes walk from Grand Central), service was very friendly (concierge very helpful for our Broadway tickets :)), rooms were very large for New York and in perfect conditions with a beautiful view on the Chrysler Building. Kids just love it and the Rare restaurant was a plus for a late diner upon our arrival !

I would definitely recommend that hotel and would stay there again without a doubt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duffy0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Duffy0112,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review of your stay with us. I am thrilled that we earned your recommendation and to be your choice destination for New York City. Our staff love to recognize children staying in the hotel, so I am very happy that your children had a blast! Whenever you next trip to New York City will be, we will be anticipating your return and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gdrepaul@affinia.com.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    1,672
    359
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,456
1,446
211
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved our stay at the Shelburne. I always look for rooms with two queen beds, which are hard to find, especially in the city. The room was a nice size, and the beds were comfy. (We all found the pillows to be uncomfortable, though). The bathroom was very small, but looked new and clean, so that was a plus. Also, there is a little "kitchen" area near the bathroom with a sink and refrigerator and countertops, so we used that space for our bathroom storage. I found the lobby to be a bit dull and dreary, but that didn't really matter to me at all. The staff was friendly enough, nothing notable in either direction. The best part was how quiet our room was. I asked for a room away from the elevator, and got one far away, plus it was on the inside area of the hotel (i.e. not near the street), so it was very quiet. You don't get a view this way, but that was fine with me. We found the central location of the hotel to be very nice - it's an easy walk to Grand Central, and the 33rd street station (6 train). We also walked back from the Winter Garden theater (50th and Broadway) and took our time hanging out in Times Square. We would start our day taking the subways, but the central location of the hotel also made it pretty easy and relatively cheap to take a cab back late at night, I don't think we spent more that $12. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: rooms on the inside and away from the elevator were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear tmc3,

I am so glad that you were able to share your experience about our hotel upon returning home. Your closing remarks of, “would definitely stay again” are tremendously meaningful to all of our staff who work passionately to create a connection with every guest. We are in the business of delivering guest requests, and I am so pleased that you requested a quiet room and we delivered. We have many sleep tight rooms, so be sure to include that request in your pre-arrival communication with our online concierge. We think our central location is fantastic too and so we couldn’t agree more with you about its convenience to any Midtown attraction and transportation. I look forward to welcoming your family back again soon.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe suite for three nights and I was pleasantly surprised at how big the living and bedroom areas were. Bed was super comfy. Bar area with sink and mini fridge was also a plus. Breakfast at Rare, the restaurant downstairs, was good and probably average price for NYC. Rooftop deck was not open because it was off season, but we did peek out on the deck and you have a great view of the Empire State Building and the Chrysler building. There are tons of garages for parking in the area that are cheaper than the cost to valet (check out the 'best parking' app for locations and coupons). My only complaint is you couldn't plug in the hair drier in the bathroom because the bathroom mirror impeded on the space needed to plug something into the electrical outlet. This meant you had to dry your hair in the bedroom area in front of the bedroom mirror. Major faulty design.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganWoodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MichiganWoodster,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent family visit to our hotel, we love hosting family getaways! Our “deluxe” room types, available with one bed or two beds, all provide tremendous value. As you mentioned in your review, the spaciousness, added comforts and the kitchenette amenities deliver on that value promise. We look forward to your next visit, and when that time comes, you will always be able to see a list of our available “deluxe” accommodations and be sure that you are getting an unbeatable value.

Our design team is constantly reviewing our room offerings and functionality with the goal of exceeding customer expectations in mind. I will most certainly review your comments with our design team, thank you for your detailed feedback. I look forward to your return.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Affinia Shelburne was close to everything we wanted to do. We were in town for an AAG conference, and the conference hotel was absurdly priced. After looking around, we found this gem for about 1/4 of the price of the conference hotel. Subway station isn't too far, maybe about 5 minute walk. The bed was soft, clean, and warm. We were on the 7th floor on the corner. Great view. Nice soft armchair with a cozy throw was wonderful when coming back after a long day of conference or sightseeing. The bathroom was roomy, and I love the brand of shampoo/conditioners they give. Such a bonus. Overall, great value. Large room, in room safe is large enough for a 17 inch laptop (probably could get a 19 in there too, but mine is 17), 2 ipads, and a whole bunch of other junk. Would absolutely stay here again.

The only negative thing of the entire trip was not so much the fault of the hotel, but rather a noisy guest. About 2 AM in the morning, our neighbor was smoking pot and blaring foreign music. We called the front desk, and a moment later we heard a huge booming knock on the neighboring door. Everything was quickly resoled. The hotel handled this fantastically.

Parking is a bit much, but it is New York. No in and out privileges, which I hate, but with cabs and the subway, you don't really need it.

Some great late night food around here too. Black shack was great. The Morgan Library and Museum is a minute walk from the hotel too. Amazing place. In a city known for it's museums, the Morgan is a somewhat hidden and often missed place. Well worth the visit. Some weekend evenings there is live jazz too, which only adds to it.

Room Tip: 7th floor corner worked great for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackknive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear jackknive,

I am very appreciative of the time that you took to post a detailed experience of your visit on tripadvisor. You’ve given us a great gift with your perfect review and the staff will definitely appreciate reading that you, “would absolutely stay here again.” The safety and security of our guests is our paramount concern, so I am glad that you felt reassured by our response to your call to the Front Desk. Our neighborhood does have so many hidden gems, you’re right. It really helps to have our knowledgeable concierge available in the lobby to help our guests find just what they’re looking for!

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the Affinia Shelburne and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a nice size in comparison to most hotel rooms in the city and very comfortable beds. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The restaurant inside the hotel was lively and served great hamburgers. We found it centrally located and walked most places. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bean0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Bean0129,

I am delighted that our hotel was able to host you for the first time. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay and mentioning so many of the factors that contribute to our winning formula. When you combine our friendly staff, spacious rooms, and great location we know we’ve got great value to offer and with Rare Bar & Grill, available in the lobby and through in-room dining, I am happy to say that our value also tastes fantastic! Thank you for recommending our hotel and making us your choice destination in New York City.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Affinia Shelburne several times for business and have had consistently positive experiences. The rooms are clean, spacious and well kept (including the bathrooms), and have a small kitchen/wet bar area. It's also great to have a fitness center and restaurant on premise. The staff is extremely pleasant and courteous. Location is key for this hotel, for both business and leisure travelers. The neighborhood feels safe, even at night, and it's about a 5 minute walk to Grand Central Station and several Subway stops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jinfantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear jinfantino,

Thank you so much for your repeat visits to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences on tripadvisor. You’ve written an amazing review and the “consistently positive experiences,” that you refer to are the results of a highly engaged team of hotel associates, whom I have the privilege to watch deliver our brand’s Tender Loving Comfort promise each day. I couldn’t agree more about what makes our hotel stand out above the competition in Midtown. If I may be of service prior to your next booking, please reach out to me at, gdrepaul@affinia.com , we have some fantastic value-added special offers designed specifically for business travelers.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my first stay in NY. It was close to the UN, as I was attending a summit. Also, 5 min walk to Central Stn and close to many other activities. Rooms comfortable and staff are very attentive and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms without kitchen are better value as has a small fridge and tea and coffee machine. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear traveller1431,

I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. I am delighted that you chose our hotel for your first visit to New York City. Thank you for recognizing our great rooms and friendly staff. We certainly appreciate having the United Nations so close to our hotel. I am so glad that your business trip went well and I hope that you and your colleagues will join us again soon.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,835 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing