We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, nice rooms, but not so cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ILKLEY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well located, nice rooms, but not so cheap!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a 5 night stay in October 2012 & just left before the hurricane arrived.
The hotel has nice rooms & friendly staff, & the bed&breakfast 'deal' worked well until we were leaving early to find breakfast was not available till after 8.00am!
The location is very central in a good area & the only concern about a revisit would be the cost!

Room Tip: high rooms may get a good view & are closer to the roof 'garden' with wonderful NYC view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    1,736
    373
    134
    88
See reviews for
1,512
1,477
217
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of hotel was amazing. You could walk nearly everwhere from this hoel on foot with no problem. He front desk team and concierge are extremely helpful, as soon as you approach them, you become overwhelmed with hospitality of people. My complaints are shower & Rare restaurant.
I think shower system should be upgraded and this restaurant on entrance called Rare got lots of food quality & pricing issues. People who want to go to rare especially for breakfast BE CAREFUL. U dont pay what it is listed in menu and food quality is extremely bad. It is good place for drinking after 9pm

Room Tip: Rooms looking Lextington are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guidemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Affinia Shelburne was a great hotel with exceptional staff & service. I arrived in NY at approximately 8am after a very long overnight flight. Despite arriving well before check-in, the front desk staff were wonderful in arranging early check-in following an email I had sent in advance. The rooms were generally quite clean and well serviced daily, aside from our first day when the room still had hairs/old soap present from the previous guest. I put this down to checking in so early, and had no other issues during my week long stay. The hotel is well situated, with restaurants nearby & major attractions within walking distance. A cab uptown, or downtown, will cost you approx $10-20 and when it is freezing outside, well worth the money! The bar and lounge area downstairs complete with concierge and WiFi was also a wonderful addition in helping plan an amazing trip. Make sure you request the view you want, I would recommend asking for a higher floor as the sunrise & sunsets are gorgeous, and might help to reduce street noise. I had a kitchenette in my room, however did not use at all due to all of the amazing restaurants nearby!! It included a fridge, little freezer/ice box, microwave and sink, which I'm sure would be helpful for families or those wanting to eat in. I probably wouldn't bother with this next time and save the money to put towards enjoying the amazing NYC restaurants nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want- high room, early check in etc. We asked for a room with a view of the empire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked this based on good Trip Advisor reviews and they were an excellent reflection of a very good hotel. Located in a quieter spot but close to everything. Room was great and staff very friendly. Can imagine the roof is lovely in warmer weather. Definately enjoyed my stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Tview,

I am grateful that you took the time to post a review of your stay on tripadvisor. Everyone’s primary goal at Affinia Shelburne is to earn a recommendation from our guests. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us based on recommendations you found on tripadvisor. We consistently deliver value added amenities to our guests such as a convenient location, spacious and clean rooms, attentive service, and you’re right, having amazing rooftop views of famous sights like the Empire State, Chrysler, Freedom Tower and more really help create lasting memories (and great pictures!) Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a wonderful surprise, from the very friendly staff, lovely foyer and amenities. Overall the most pleasant experience to be there. Very close to shops, pubs and restaurants and my personal favourite really good spas for nails and beauty.

Room Tip: I had a wonderful view of the Empire State Building from my room so very NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Domenique F,

Thank you for sharing a post about your stay. What a fantastic review, we appreciate your perfect rating! I am so pleased we were able to help you make the most of your trip to New York City. We are very fortunate to be in a great area of Midtown with great shopping, dining, spas, salons and more. Our concierge located in the Lobby can arrange just about any unforgettable experience for our guests. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 8 nights at the Affinia Shelburne. This was our 2nd stay and we'd definitely highly recommend it! The reception staff, doormen, restaurant staff and the cleaning ladies, everyone was very friendly yet totally professional. We had a choice of room, we wanted a view of the East River and they let us see a few rooms before we decided which we liked best. We ate in the restaurant RARE several times, it has a great food and a lively atmosphere. The only little complaint we'd have was with the concierge, which is apparently is run by an outside agency. We wanted tickets to see the Philharmonic but as they insist on going through a ticket agent the prices were ridiculous, we eventually booked them online ourselves for half the price! We told the concierge but he wasn't interested. Having all that said, this was only a minor problem, we have no complaints whatsoever about the hotel or the staff. The Affinia Shelburne is in a great location and we found it great value for a 4 star hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olive13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Due to Hurricane Sandy, my trip to New York had to be cancelled as the Affinia Shelbourne was affected by the power shut. Although I didn't stayed here @ all, my experience with the hotel staff has been excellent. Staff from the Affinia Shelbourne has been really helpful in tracking my parcels (from online shopping) and ensuring that they get delivered to me. I'm very impressed, particularly, by the excellent attitude of the Director of rooms, Mr Jeffery Egol. Thank you for cordinating the shipping of my items. You're most certainly a gem to your hotel!

I'll DEFINITELY stay @ the Affinia Shelbourne if I ever go New York!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
1,312 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 467 in New York City
2,657 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
5,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,101 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing