We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deflated Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Hampton, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Deflated Expectation”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We gave Affinia Shelburne rave reviews last time we stayed which is why of all the hotels in NYC we chose to stay again. Unfortunately we were glamoured by our previous experience and are underwhelmed this time around. The room is sufficient, we're on the second floor overlooking the building mechanicals. The hallway wreaks if dirty gym socks bc we are on the gym floor. We've stayed in smaller rooms in NYC, room size is average. Queen bed and chaise lounge, flat screen tv, decent size bathroom with tub-no water pressure, complementary coffee maker and coffee. It's not a bad room but, nothing compared to my last visit. This time around our room was a hot box and when we asked if anything could be done, the front desk gave us no help. The thermostat only provides heat and goes no lower than 66 degrees. The room was incredibly stuffy and much warmer than 66. I barely slept and woke with a dry nose. The window could be opened but there is no screen so any rodent living outside could come in (mechanical level, so walking out the window or entering the room was possible). The last time we were here our room was amazing! They gave us a room with a bedroom, livingroom, bathroom with huge shower, and a wetbar and fridge. Everything was super comfortable so you can imagine our disappointment this time around. We booked everything as we did previously but, we're a little disappointed not to get a similar room. I would not stay here again, only because there are so many other options that offer better rooms and amenities. Our friend booked the Hyatt, just a couple blocks over, on Priceline for $120 and their room was 20x better than our room at The Affinia. Next time I stay in midtown, I'll stay at The Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2eat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    1,736
    373
    134
    88
See reviews for
1,512
1,477
217
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I live in NYC but had an overnight business meeting at this hotel (over the course of a day and a half), and the service seemed very good. The food we had throughout the meeting was overall pretty good. I got a free upgrade to a one-bedroom "mini suite" which was very nice: good work desk area, separate kitchenette (!), nice living room, 2 flatscreens. Of course, being a renovated NYC midtown east hotel, the bathroom was tiny and the windows' insulation left a little to be desired. It was very cold those days and a draft came in both windows. The heating system was a bit "old" and struggled to keep up but overall, a good night's sleep. I wouldnt call the room ultra luxurious but it was modern/chic and certainly had a good NYC vibe to it. The kitchenette was truly well-equipped (even a dishwasher!) .Sorry cant judge the "regular" rooms but a colleague liked his. I rarely know what to recommend when friends come to NYC to visit (hotel-wise) but I would have no trouble doing so for this E37th and Lexington Ave hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade; i got one and didnt even ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPNYCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear MPNYCtraveler,

Thank you so much for taking time out from your day to share a review with the Tripadvisor community about your stay. I am thrilled that we earned your recommendation after you experienced the Tender Loving Comfort (TLC) that Affinia branded hotels have to offer. With five Affinia hotels currently in NYC and one more on the way in 2013, our TLC movement is thriving thanks to feedback and support like yours! I am delighted to have hosted your company’s business and to know that you enjoyed the catered food provided by Rare Bar & Grill. Please contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to ensure we have the opportunity to extend a dedicated Sales & Catering associate to help you plan your next business meeting at Affinia Shelburne.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We picked this hotel because of proximity to Grand Central Terminal and our meeting location. We booked a standard room but agreed to take an upgrade at check in. The standard room was nice and large for New York City. The upgrade was the best room I have ever had in NYC. It was a one bedroom suite complete with sofa and dining table. The bed was great and the room was quiet. The staff was great and did everything to make our stay special.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade if offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKC_Thunder_Fan_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice stay for 2 night. Corner of 37th and lexington. We had a 2bedroom king suite at a good price! It was a corner room with nice views. Bedding was great quality in blankets/pillows/sheets. The two room suite was very spacious and would recommend considering (vs the base room). Hotel is in Murray Hill area just south of Grand Central (4 blocks). We were there during the coldest week in 17years - and the hotel is about 4 blocks from a subway station. If it wasn't so cold, we probably wouldn't have minded, but it wore on us a bit this trip. The rooftop has nice views, and I believe they have drinks up there in the spring/summer/fall. The one negative was that Wi-fi, while available, isn't free. (Lack of free wi-fi is typically a deal breaker for us... too many hotels offer it free...just doesn't make sense to stay where it isn't - hopefully mgmnt will step forward and resolve before our next trip!)

Room Tip: Consider the 2 room king suite if it fits in your budget. Nice views and spacious - nice to relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a very fine hotel. Quite large rooms with a big bathroom and very good beds. Fridge and coffee maker in the room is also a big plus.
The staff was very nice and helpful. A concierge is available to assist with bookings, tickets, etc.
You have to pay for WiFi in the room, but it's free in the lobby and there is plenty of space to sit down and surf, mail or whatever you want to do.
The rooftop bar is great. You can see both Empire State Building and Chrysler Building while you are sipping your mojito.
The location could hardly be better. Walking distance to almost everything.
Across the the street, about 200 meters uptown is Bloom Deli, perfect for breakfast.

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Amityville, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a pleasant weekend stay at the Affinia this weekend. Hotel staff was extremely friendly from checkin to door man hailing cab. Bed was not the most comfortable but room was extremely clean. Couldn't figure out how they wouldn't have a bottle opener but have beer and wine in the mini fridge. Not a big issues as I had a bottle opener but maybe it was just my room. I would absolutely recommend hotel to friends and family and hopefully have the pleasure of staying again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear James S,

I am delighted that you took the time to post about your weekend stay. The entire Shelburne team thanks you for sharing your remarks and enthusiasm about our friendly staff and clean rooms! I apologize your room did not have a bottle opener. I will look into this, as it is a standard for all guestrooms to have a combination corkscrew and bottle opener.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your family, your friends and the Tripadvisor community. We certainly hope that you will soon stay with us once more, so we may have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was our first time to New York and wanted everything to contribute to a memorable experience, so did a bit of research and The Affinia was the winner so we booked it because it looked like a great deal for a modern four star hotel in one of the better areas of Manhattan.
We were quite tired and after a long journey, eager to get to the hotel, and when we got there... pleasantly surprised.
Modern and smart appearance, cool decor in the lobby, and a nice restaurant/ bar adjacent to the hotel, in fact they share a common main door.
Our room was on th 9th floor, it was clean, quiet, big, modern and had everything you need to make ones stay a good one.
The hotel also has a roof terrace where you can get up early and get some great camera shots of sunrise amongst the amazing skyscrapers. There is also a good view of the empire state building.
The hotel is just 20 mins walk away from Times Square and i would say a great location for people who like to walk as in my opinion not too far from anywhere.
All in all a good experience and will definitely stay here again. We recommend it to everyone we meet now.

Room Tip: 9th floor, on the right hand side when you come out of the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blake82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear blake82,

Thank you so much for sharing such a phenomenal account of your stay on Tripadvisor! I will be sure to share your review with our associates because they love to see when they've created lasting connections with our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all of the amazing amenities that our hotel has to offer; from our clean and spacious accommodations, to our roof top views and central location. We'd love to see one of your pictures of the sunrise on the rooftop. Thank you for your recommendations, they mean the world to us!

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
1,312 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 467 in New York City
2,657 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
5,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,101 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing