We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location funky feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #134 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights transiting through from Australia to Toronto. Loved everything about it. Rooms with two queen beds were spacious enough to share with a big bathroom and plenty of bench space for two girls. Excellent restaurant recommendations from desk staff. Free wifi in the lobby. Wonderful rooftop to give you a real new York view. Close to grand central so asy to catch subways. Walking distance to empire state building, Macy's, united nations and times square. loved the bar in the restaurant. Faultless.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timjanelongmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,956 - 2,962 of 4,920 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

we escaped the nor'easter that came after hurricane sandy - we were in our house with no power, heat or hot water during the hurricane (for 15 days total!!!) - and when the forecast called for snow - we hightailed it to the city - someone suggested the shelburne and i'm glad they did! it was easy to get to since we took the long island RR in because of the gas shortages - it's an easy walk from penn station...it is also close to our daughter's apt in murray hill...the room was updated and mod with a nice bathroom and it was also very clean. good location too...the restaurant attached to the lobby 'rare' was beyond delicious. i definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Third stay, wonderful location .This time got room 906, both the bedroom and the living room are nicely sized but the bathroom was not. The toilet is behind the door and placed so you have to sit on it SIDEWAYS which is really not right in a hotel of this caliber. Moreover, there only a shower with a wall mount. You have to move the waste basket around to fit in the bathroom and it does not even fit under the small sink!
Also the maid came and asked me twice before 9am if she could make the room on the first day and another maid came at 10 and 11 on our last day. That is too much, the room should be serviced at OUR convenience. Plus there was a really dirty hand imprint ( five black fingers)on the door from the bedroom to the living room and the shower tiles have some mold.
Our son"s room 1506 was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed there last weekend and it was very impressed with this hotel. The beds were huge, comfortable and each room had a tv, radio and private bathroom. There was a kitchen/eating area as well as a lounge for relaxing. There were glasses & snacks but no plates or cutlery. We had breakfast downstairs in the cafe and it was good. One of the few places that would be suitable for families or groups travelling together.

Room Tip: We had toom 1508 and could see the Chrysler building from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna121299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here on business for a few nights. Room was clean, spacious and modern.
Unfortunately I didnt' even have the time to look out my window or spend enough time at the hotel to appreciate it fully.
Staff was friendly and helpful, and service was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stugs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed eight nights in the Shelburne right through hurricane Sandy. The hotel has generators powering the elevators and the comon areas but obviously not the rooms. No one thought the power outage would last four nights (from 9:00 PM Mon 29 Odt until 1 AM on Sat 3 Nov) but it did. The hotel is very convenient to get to yet is in a cozy residential neighborhood (Murray Hill, although I looked real hard and couldn´t see a hill). Front desk professional but distant in a New York sort of way. And this deteriorated further through the hurricane which is understandable as long as it doesn´t affect service level (it didn´t, considering). Preparation for the hurricane absolutely flawless: we noticed that some key staff spent the night in rooms at the hotel. Having been there for eight nights, and through the ordeal, we expected some front-desk flexibility on check-out time Sun 4 Nov (1 pm, we wanted 3 pm, we got 1:30 pm) but one of the (non-desk) staff noticing our disappointment immediately offered to stow our luggage while suggesting we have lunch at the Rare. Oh yes, the Shelburne has a restaurant called Rare which serves good hamburgers and good wine by the glass. In the aftermath of the hurricane taxis (and fuel) were very scarce so we took to the rickshaws and rode them well beyond their usual coverage area, including to the opera at Lincoln Center.

Room Tip: Sound insulation between rooms is excellent, but between a room and the corridor is very poor. So pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

5 nights , Arrived a little early to check in so we had a wee wait but it was with it, we got a balcony with direct views of the Empire State and Chrysler , and the east river ! really made our visit. Had the sounds of NYC just stepping outside our room. We booked a deluxe one bedroom suite , think it was room 1513 , huge space , in all rooms . Very clean, great service in all areas of the hotel.
We had rom service on our last night , fab food from Rare restaurant .

Great location , loads of places around to eat, great breakfasts in the deli across the road.
Our second visit to this hotel and it didn't disappoint , we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 470 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#290 of 470 in New York City
468 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 470 in New York City
546 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $168 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing