We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed March 4, 2008

For the past 5 years I have been staying at the Shelburne for business travel at least 4 times per year and have seen it go from "okay" to "intolerable". I have seen the housekeeping go from "so so" to really bad. Mold on the walls, soiled furniture and carpeting, lack of attention to the most basic cleaning chores. Even the most rigorous renovation (which is being promised by the hotel manager) will not make staff competent .

As for the Front Desk staff, after staying there more than 20 times in the past few years, I NEVER had anyone acknowledge that I was a regular guest at the hotel. As a matter of fact, one time I had food poisoning on my checkout day, really deadly sick and asked for a late check out by ONE HOUR. They told me that it was impossible! That was my last time there.

My normal stay at the hotel was about a week each time so I got to see how the hotel functioned over a period of days. I can honestly say that Saturday nights was usually a "zoo" with alot of college age kids bringing in pizza and beers to party in the rooms. The noise, if you were unlucky, could be unbearable until the early morning hours. And if you were really unlucky, you might be on a high floor with the "Roof Garden" bar and music in full swing. To avoid the "zoo" I would try to arrive on Sunday to miss "Saturday Night Fever" .

I am writing this review so many months after my last stay to report that despite that the hotel was convenient for my business, close to family and friends in New York, I have been staying at another hotel this year and am really pleased with the service, cleanliness and accomodations in general. Dont settle for the Shelburne, it is NOT worth the money and an unpleasant experience in all. If you notice, most of the "rave reviews" come from foreign tourists. I dont know what they expect at home, but the Shelburne Hotel at the moment is unacceptable at any price.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvinLopez, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2008
Dear “Little Ricky",

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Shelburne, especially after your long and loyal patronage over the years. Regarding your feedback of our product, we are addressing this with a renovation that has already started. During this renovation, we hope to install a new wall thermostat that would allow for better control of the room temperature as well as new carpets, furniture, bathrooms, windows, and kitchens. We are expected to bring back a superior product in the first few floors in just a few weeks.

In regards to your statement about an incompetent staff, you only mention one situation where you could not get a late check-out.
We are sorry that on that day we were not able to extend that courtesy to you. Although we try to extend late check-outs whenever possible, there are some days that the hotel is very busy and we are unable to grant such requests.

The "zoo" you are referring to are our weekend families that choose to stay with us to enjoy the city and a suite, with their children and loved ones.
I'm sorry if any noise affected your stay, as we would of been very happy to accomodate you in another suite. As far as any parties being held on the premises, we do have security officers at the property level who ensure noises are kept to an acceptable level and that parties and disruptive guests are addressed immediately.

Our reviews on Trip Advisor come from foreign and local tourists, from all over the world. We trust that good service and product are held to the same expectation for all guests, at any price.

We hope that you can try the Shelburne again, once our renovated rooms start coming back in late April.

We'd love to re-connect with you as you've given us your business for a long time, and we'd love to have you back with us.

Sincerely,

Alvin Lopez
General Manager
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    1,735
    371
    134
    87
See reviews for
1,510
1,477
216
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Fantastic location, nice rooms, handy to have kitchenette. Doorman Denis mind of information. Pleasant staffs, easy check in. Most things in walking distance. Will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Burger Restaurant overpriced
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eibhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights recently at the Shelburne Murray Hill. It's located in not the most exciting neighborhood but it's safe and convenient; centrally located, and is just a few blocks from Grand Central so it's a quick subway ride to anywhere in the city. As far as the actual room, it is much larger than many NYC hotel rooms, a big window, high ceilings and not at all cramped; decent updated furnishings; a nice big comfy bed; free wifi in-room; everything was perfectly clean. Since we were there for more than a couple nights it was really nice to have the kitchenette in the room, also, while there was no view to speak of, we really didn't care because that meant we were off the street, and it was SO quiet!! The staff was outstanding; friendly and helpful. We stayed there with our dog and he was more than welcome in the hotel, with no extra charge or cleaning fee at all. I would certainly stay there or at any of the Affinia properties again; very highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keltyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Never having been to NY before and travelling with 4.5yr old twin boys we spent 4 nights in NY and chose the Shelbourne Murray Hill after reading other trip advisor reviews and much research of location - we were not disappointed! The suite was a fantastic size and looking out onto the Empire State Building too - large lounge with dining table and chairs was just so convenient with kids. The location on Lexington avenue is great - handy for central station (10 minutes) where all underground trains run through; possible to walk to 5th avenue, madison etc and Macys for shopping!

Highly recommend the food from the Hotel Restaurant - we were going to eat in but it has a 'bar' feel with lots of people standing around drinking so the manager organised for our food to be taken to the room - they have a lovely lounge area near reception and this was great for a break too. Room service was convenient at night.

Bedroom huge, very comfortable beds and kitchen / bathroom OK - they could do with renovation for sure but adequate. We enjoyed putting our children to bed and then relaxing in our 'lounge' with a glass of wine over dinner. Other plus is there are laundry facilities in the basement so again, ideal if you have children with you.

Empire State is 10 minutes walk and at night there are no queues and fab views - the boys loved it. There are some great places to eat nearby and we enjoyed the Cuban cafe for a brilliant soup and sandwich - excellent with kids too.

Our overall impression is of a very well run hotel, friendly reception staff and excellent doorman - he was cool with our boys; for the price that we paid it was great value - we used the book in advance, pay in advance, no cancellation offer - half the price so well worth it.

We would definately recommend this hotel to anybody for location, service and value and ideal if taking children on a city break.

  • Liked — Room and friendlieness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maisymops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We loved it so much we didn't want to leave.

The bed was very comfortable.
I was a little worried about the hot water because the bathroom and kitchen sink were running warm at best, but the shower did have plenty of hot water.
The room was full of mirrors and lamps.
Our room must have been double sound-proofed because we never heard a thing from the street or other guest!
Having a full kitchen in our room was wonderful. There were plenty of dishes but no pots or pans. We weren't planning to cook anyway so that didn't matter. We only needed the coffee maker and the fridge. There are little stores all around the area where you can pick up beer, pop, milk and food. The room even had a toaster and microwave. Most hotels in the city don't even have a coffee maker!
The decor was dated, the carpet need to be cleaned, there was a lot of dust on the curtains, but the rest of the room was very clean.
We are smokers and it's getting harder and harder to find a hotel in NY where you can smoke in your room. The Shelburne Murray Hill had one whole floor (8th) that is all smoking rooms. I thank them for this. If all hotels go smoke'free', I will stop traveling!
We were on a strict budget and would have faired much better had we not decided to go to the hotel bar/grill for late night burgers. Two burgers and two soft drinks set us back $37.50. We made up for it by buying food at the deli down the street for the rest of our trip.
This hotel will always be my first choice when visiting NYC.

Helpful?
2 Thank rawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed at the Shelburne for 4 nights at the end of November. My partner had booked this trip as a surprise for my 40th birthday and had contacted the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a room with views etc..although this was promised it never materialised, quite disapointing but nevertheless we were not going ot let it spoil our trip. The suite we had was very nice, large and comfortable (the beds are wonderful!) and very clean. The kitchen is a great asset, ideal for making late night snacks and tea/coffee in the mornings. The only members of staff we really spoke to were the doormen we found them polite and friendly also they are great for information and arranging taxi's etc. The location is great just a 10min stroll to Grand Central Station. We're returning to New York this year and will probably stay at the Shelburne again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank zagbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

I stayed at Shelburne Murray Hill for a week, and rented a single bedroom suite with a pentry and bathroom. It is an excellent hotel, with service minded staff and great rooms.

I stayed alone in the one bedroom suite, but it's definitely suitable for two - the bedroom is small but very cozy (and the bed is really comfortable!) and the livingroom is roomy and comfortable. The pentry has everything you need if you don't feel like eating out - including a microwave oven and a coffee pot. There is also an iron board and reasonable internet access, and the view was quite OK, since I stayed on a higher floor. Cleaning and all other services were excellent too!

The staff was very nice, and even allowed me to keep my room for two hours past check out time on the day of my leave - I had a late plane, so that was very welcome! It's not a low budget hotel, but it's definitely worth the price!

  • Liked — The suite - it was so comfortable it was almost luxurious!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything! I just loved it!
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing