We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shelburne NYC-an Affinia hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pod 39 Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seton Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kitano New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dylan Hotel NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,051)
Filter reviews
5,051 results
Traveler rating
2,561
1,836
408
149
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,561
1,836
408
149
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray hillrooftop barthe empire state buildinggrand central stationrare bar and grillpillow menuscotty's dinernew yorkwine hourone bedroom suitelexington avenuefew blockssmall kitchentimes squaretwo queen bedscoffee makerhousekeeping staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,435 - 3,440 of 5,051 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I was in town for work and had a difficult time finding a hotel room that wasn't too small or too expensive or too out of the way. Affinia Shelburne amazingly fit all my criteria.

We got a reasonable rate directly through the hotel's Business Perks program, which included complimentary wi-fi use. Our bedroom and bath were spacious, well-designed and clean. The hotel's style is modern with enough boutique touches that it's suitable for both low-key business travelers as well as discerning tourists who don't want to be in a Best Western environment.

The hotel's location is really convenient - not too far up- or downtown, close to a lot of tourist attractions, and the neighborhood is more pleasantly relaxed than other parts of NYC. It is about 5 minutes walk to either 33 St subway or to Grand Central station.

Some highlights: A room with two double beds (a rare option in NYC hotels), and toiletries by Philosophy. Lucid Cafe at the corner of the block serves great coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Spent one night at this hotel, it was a nice and pleasant stay. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the service was outstanding. In my opinion, the concierge went above and beyond the call of duty. He attended to all of our needs from the time we walked into the hotel until the time he brought in an extra blanket and pillow to our room. The hotel is located close to the Empire State Building and other points of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the Affinia Shelburne Hotel on Lexington between 37-38 in late November 2011 on a business trip. Hotel is a boutique and a welcome change from the chains. Personal attention from the staff is strong, look and feel is clean and comfortable. Room large for NYC and I got a quiet inward facing room that had no street noise, strange for Manhattan. Had a minor problem with plumbing that was addressed by hotel to my satisfaction. Location is great, walking distance and near midtown but not right in so you don’t feel like it’s a zoo around the hotel. Good choice of restaurants. Rates reasonable for NYC. Would definitely stay there again and already reserved to stay over weekend night with my wife.

Room Tip: ask for inward facing if you want quiet and outward if you want view
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 5 days in New York the week before Thanksgivining as a 60th Birthday treat for my wife. We booked the Affinia Shelburne after good Trip Advisor reviews and because of it's location. We were not disappointed.
The room was a very good size, this is the first time we have visited New York but hotel rooms have a reputation for being small here. The bed was large, King?, flat screen TV, plenty storage space, big bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Although our room was directly opposite the lift (elevator) there was no undue noise or disturbance. NYC is probably noisy 24/7 but we did find it too bad.
The hotel is very well located, just 5 minutes walk to the Chrysler Building and Grand Central Station, 15 minutes to the Empire State Building and 20 minutes to Times Square. We found all attractions and shopping to be within walking distance so walked everywhere.
We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly at all times. There are a couple of PC's in the lounge in the lobby for guest use, nothing new there I expect. However if you just wanted to print an Airline Boarding Pass then this service was free, a very nice touch and one I have not come across before.
The hotel has a restaurant on-site, the Rare Bar & Grill. We breakfasted there once and found it to be very good, we also spent an evening there which we enjoyed. New York has so many diners and restaurants that we tried to sample as many as possible in our 5 day stay.
The only problem we had was that the tea/coffe was not replenished on 3 of our 5 days and once the cups were not cleaned either. Staff were helpful when advised in providing these amenities but it still happened. I fed this back when we got back to UK and had a very nice e-mail reply from the Front Office Manager saying that staff training would be improved. However this did not impact too much on our stay and I woulddefinately recommend this Hotel in New York.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geomac1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed two nights in this Murray Hill hotel. The location is not bad but too far from subway stops for me. It is only a few blocks from the greenline stop at 33rd but I generally use the red and blue lines. The hotel was clean and staff were friendly. We requested an extra blanket and it was delivered as promised. The concierge seemed aloof but the bellman was very helpful as were the front desk staff. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was average as was the service. Concerns were that the room temperature could not be adjusted unless the outside temperature reacted below 55 or above 65. You also could not choose to turn on the fan to circulate air or dull exterior noises which I often do in the city. We had an end room that should have been very quiet but we heard all the hall noise clearly. I think this was due to the jam which had so many gaps it let light stream in around the entire door at night. This also let in all the noise. We were also woken in the night by loud rumbling and shaking. Not sure what from. The room itself looked great and was well decorated and the TV worked as did all lights, etc...but the sheets were so scratchy and of such poor quality that they actually made noise, like cellophane, when we move in them. The last concern occurred on our date of check out which was supposed to be by noon. We received a note that advised we would have no water after 10 am so please plan your bathrooming accordingly. They were cleaning their system and it would not be back in service until 4 pm. As a result, the restaurant was also closed. We had been out late and planned on a late breakfast down stairs as well as hanging out until checkout time. This was very inconvenient and I believe the hotel should have advised us that this would occur upon booking as well as offered a discount. New York is not known for it's many public restrooms and I really felt sorry for those who were staying over that day. Although there were many positives, we would not choose to stay here again. There are many great alternatives!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slstretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC-an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear sistretch,
Thank you for your recent stay and positive comments on our clean rooms and friendly staff. I regret the inconveniences you experienced with controlling the temperature and the temporary loss of water. We are experiencing great fall weather in NYC that changed often requiring us to provide air conditioning into December with a few days of colder temperature that requires heat. We had our annual domestic water tank cleaning with bottled water for our guests and hospitality suites at two of our neighborhood hotels . While there is no best time for this project, we appreciate and value our guests understanding during the temporary shutdown.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will continue to stay with us. Please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your experience and book a future stay.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews