We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel w/excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Tower Hotel
Ranked #387 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here two nights last week. The location is excellent as noted by other reviewers here. The staff was helpful and courteous. And the rate was wonderful for NYC.

The rooms are incredibly small. I was amazed at how they were able to shoe-horn so much into so tiny a footprint. The bathroom was kinda cool with nice tile but the shower was so small it was really tight to just lift my arms up to wash my hair. Closing the bathroom door was just about impossible if I was in the bathroom even just standing at the sink. And the sink was so small that the faucet covered much of the basin.

The TV was very small and had only a few channels. No big deal unless you love to kick back in your room for long periods of time. If that's you then don't stay here...

The only concern I think you'd really want to be aware of is that the door has only a single locking knob. No deadbolt and no chain. Was no worry for me but a woman traveling alone might rightly be concerned about security because of this.

It was all serviceable and just fine for this stay but you should know what you're in for if you plan to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LPR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 660 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The good: Hotel is a five minute walk from #1 subway and Zabars; some rooms on upper floors (9 and above) have views of Riverside Park and New Jersey; front desk staff were welcoming; room rates are low by NYC standards. The bad: no lobby; no in-room wifi; housekeeping okay but not great. The ugly: an old, down-at-the-heels facility; small rooms with strange layouts; furniture falling apart; tiny elevators and corridors. It was reminiscent of the SROs that used to be all over the West Side but which by now have pretty much disappeared. We had a two bedroom 'suite', which consisted of two very small rooms not much bigger than the twin or double bed they contained, connected by a narrow bathroom containing tiny shower and toilet. Each room had a sink that was so small that it bordered on the unusable. One room had a tv on a dresser which was *behind* the head of the bed (i.e. so it was unwatchable), and the dresser was so close to the bed that the drawers couldn't be opened. And then in the middle of the night the tv started turning on by itself - after being awakened about a half dozen times, I finally located the plug and unplugged it from the wall socket. Quirky with a Capital Q! But if price is paramount and it is only for a few nights, then given the location it may be worth a try. Just remember that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

What you see is what you get. Rooms are tiny but clean. Staff is kind. Location is excellent: residential neighbourhood, 2 blocks from subway, nice restaurants nearby. If you believe all you want from a hotel in the big apple is a good shower and a nice bed make this an option. Make sure to ask for a remodelled room. And get a double room even if you are travelling by yourself, they are a but more spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tschauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Close to city center, nice safe residential area and wonderful views from the room of the Hudson river and Riverside park. Close by there is cafe called Zabar's. One of the best gourmet deli's I have ever been to!
Building was very old, but I suppose the location made all the difference. Fair value for the money paid.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank DianaL_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Three of us stayed in a suite which is two small rooms connected by a toilet and shower. Each room has a sink and closet. One room has a double bed and one room has a table & chairs, trundle bed, microwave and refrigerator. The rooms are small but clean. We heard no noise from others on our floor. We had a great view over the River and New Jersey.
Museums within easy walking distance. I walked to Times Square in 35 minutes. Very good price for three adults. Hotel in NJ about the same price but we were in Manhattan!. Parking on the street is almost impossible. There is a parking lot very close for extra money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed in the Riverside Tower on eight different occasions with my wife and we love it. The rooms are small but clean and warm in winter. The shower is always warm and powerful, the staff are friendly and helpful. With your own bathroom, fridge, microwave and TV where else in New York would you get such value in a quite but perfect location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and keep coming back. Love the neighborhood love the staff and keep returning. I want a place to sleep and be comfortable when I come to NYC. I am out and about in the city. If I wanted "luxury " I would stay home. THe price is right - convenient and kindness is the best part. Will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnadenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#382 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
847 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 468 in New York City
1,973 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 468 in New York City
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower Hotel

Address: 80 Riverside Dr, New York City, NY 10024-5725
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $94 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Riverside Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing